## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AYUSH

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1360 ANSWERED ON 09/02/2024

#### **Ayurvedic Doctors in Odisha**

#### 1360. SHRI MAHESH SAHOO:

Will the Minister of AYUSH be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of sanctioned post of Ayurvedic doctors in Odisha, district-wise;
- (b) the present strength of Ayurvedic doctors in Odisha;
- (c) whether it is a fact that the demand for ayurvedic treatment has increased in the country;
- (d) if so, the details thereof along with the efforts made by the Government recently in this regard; and
- (e) the steps taken/proposed to be taken by the Government to create awareness about Ayurvedic medicine among people who rely and prefer allopathic treatment?

# ANSWER THE MINISTER OF AYUSH (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

- (a) As reported by the State Government of Odisha, the district-wise details of sanctioned post of Ayurvedic doctors in Odisha is furnished at **Annexure**.
- (b) As reported by the State Government of Odisha, the present strength of Ayurvedic doctors in Odisha is 527.
- (c) Yes.
- (d) & (e) Ministry of Ayush is implementing Centrally Sponsored Scheme of National Ayush Mission (NAM) since 2014-15 through State/UT Governments for development and promotion of Ayush system including Ayurveda to create awareness among people about the strength of Ayush system of medicines for the treatment of common ailments. After implementation of NAM Scheme, the scale of achievement for development of Ayush system of medicine including Ayurveda in the State/UT has increased significantly. Accordingly, budget allocation of NAM enhanced gradually from Rs. 75.28 Crore (in 2014-15) to

Rs.1200.00 Crore (in 2023-24) for different activities of NAM Scheme. The Mission interalia makes provision for the following activities: -

- (i) Ayush Health & Wellness Centres
- (ii) Co-location of Ayush facilities at Primary Health Centres (PHCs), Community Health Centres (CHCs) and District Hospitals (DHs)
- (iii) Upgradation of existing standalone Government Ayush Hospitals
- (iv)Upgradation of existing Government/Panchayat/Government aided Ayush Dispensaries/Construction of building for existing Ayush Dispensary (Rented/ dilapidated accommodation)/Construction of building to establish new Ayush Dispensary in the area where there are no Ayush facilities available
- (v) Setting up of 50/30/10 bedded integrated Ayush Hospitals
- (vi) Supply of essential drugs to Government Ayush Hospitals, Government Dispensaries and Government/Government aided Teaching Institutional Ayush Hospitals
- (vii) Ayush Public Health Programmes
- (viii) Behaviour Change Communication (BCC)
- (ix) Mobility support at State and District level
- (x) Ayush Gram
- (xi) Establishment of new Ayush colleges in the States where availability of Ayush teaching institutions is inadequate in Government Sector
- (xii) Infrastructural development of Ayush Under-Graduate Institutions and Ayush Post-Graduate Institutions/ add on PG/ Pharmacy /Para-Medical Courses.

Further, the Ministry of Ayush also implements a Central Sector Scheme for Promotion of Information, Education and Communication (IEC) in Ayush to create awareness regarding Ayush Systems of Medicine. This scheme aims to reach out to all sections of the population across the country and under this Scheme, Ministry organizes National/State level Arogya Fairs, Yoga Fests/Utsavs, Ayurveda Parvs, Celebrate Important Days of Ayush Systems including Ayurveda day, Participate in Health Fairs/ Melas & Exhibitions, Provide financial assistance for organizing seminars, workshops, conferences and conduct multimedia campaigns etc.

### Annexure

# The district-wise details of sanctioned post of Ayurvedic doctors in Odisha:

Sl. No.	District	Sanctioned post
		of Ayurvedic doctors
1	Angul	16
2	Balasore	28
3	Baragarh	29
4	Bhadrak	21
5	Bolangir	47
6	Boudh	10
7	Cuttack	24
8	Deogarh	8
9	Dhenkanal	24
10	Gajapati	7
11	Ganjam	55
12	Jagatsinghpur	11
13	Jajpur	25
14	Jharsuguda	9
15	Kalahandi	22
16	Kandhamal	17
17	Kendrapada	15
18	Keonjhar	51
19	Khorda	30
20	Koraput	19
21	Malkangiri	7
22	Mayurbhanja	46
23	Nabarangapur	22
24	Nayagarh	15
25	Naupada	10
26	Puri	31
27	Rayagada	23
28	Sambalpur	18
29	Subaranpur	14
30	Sundargarh	36
Total		690