# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Lok Sabha

**STARRED QUESTION NO.: 82** 

(TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 8th February 2024)

#### **FUNCTIONAL AIRPORTS AND AIRSTRIPS**

# 82. SHRI L.S. TEJASVI SURYA SHRI RAVINDRA KUSHWAHA Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION

be pleased to state:-

- (a) the number of airports and airstrips functional in the country at present;
- (b) the number of airports and airstrips out of the above functional airports which have been constructed since 2014;
- (c) whether any of the airstrips or airports has been rendered unfunctional or non-operational since 2014 and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

#### **ANSWER**

Minister of CIVIL AVIATION (Shri Jyotiraditya M. Scindia)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 82 FOR 08.02.2024 REGARDING FUNCTIONAL AIRPORTS AND AIRSTRIPS; ; (a) & (b): At present, there are 149 operational aerodromes in the country. The list of aerodromes constructed/ made operational since 2014 is at Annexure. (c) & (d): Since 2014, Rajkot airport in Gujarat has been closed on

08.09.2023 as the new Greenfield Rajkot International Airport, Hirasar has been operationalized on 10.09.2023.

## **ANNEXURE**

## **List of Airports made operational since 2014**

| SL.<br>NO. | STATE / UT        | NAME OF AIRPORT            | AIRPORT OWNER    |
|------------|-------------------|----------------------------|------------------|
| 1          | ANDHRA PRADESH    | KADAPA                     | AAI              |
| 2          | ANDHRA PRADESH    | KURNOOL                    | STATE            |
| 3          | ARUNACHAL PRADESH | DONYI POLO (ITANAGAR)      | AAI              |
| 4          | ARUNACHAL PRADESH | PASSIGHAT (CE)             | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 5          | ARUNACHAL PRADESH | TEZU                       | AAI              |
| 6          | ARUNACHAL PRADESH | ZIRO                       | STATE            |
| 7          | ASSAM             | LILABARI (NORTH LAKHIMPUR) | AAI              |
| 8          | ASSAM             | RUPSI                      | AAI              |
| 9          | ASSAM             | TEZPUR                     | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 10         | BIHAR             | DARBHANGA                  | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 11         | CHHATTISGARH      | BILASPUR                   | STATE            |
| 12         | CHHATTISGARH      | JAGDALPUR                  | STATE            |
| 13         | DELHI (UT)        | SAFDARJUNG                 | AAI              |
| 14         | GOA               | NEW GOA (MOPA)             | STATE            |
| 15         | GUJARAT           | KANDLA                     | AAI              |
| 16         | GUJARAT           | KESHOD (JUNAGARH)          | AAI              |
| 17         | GUJARAT           | MUNDRA                     | PRIVATE          |
| 18         | GUJARAT           | SABARMATI RIVER FRONT (WA) | STATE            |
| 19         | GUJARAT           | STATUE OF UNITY (WA)       | STATE            |
| 20         | HARYANA           | HISAR                      | STATE            |
| 21         | HIMACHAL PRADESH  | MANDI(H)                   | STATE            |
| 22         | HIMACHAL PRADESH  | RAMPUR(H)                  | STATE            |
| 23         | HIMACHAL PRADESH  | SHIMLA                     | AAI              |
| 24         | JHARKHAND         | DEOGHAR                    | AAI              |
| 25         | JHARKHAND         | JAMSHEDPUR                 | PRIVATE          |
| 26         | KARNATAKA         | BENGALURU (HAL)            | HAL              |

| 27 | KARNATAKA       | BIDAR               | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
|----|-----------------|---------------------|------------------|
| 28 | KARNATAKA       | JINDAL VIJAYANAGAR  | PRIVATE          |
| 29 | KARNATAKA       | KALABURAGI          | AAI              |
| 30 | KARNATAKA       | SHIVAMOGGA          | STATE            |
| 31 | KERALA          | KANNUR (KIAL)       | JV               |
| 32 | MAHARASHTRA     | AKOLA               | AAI              |
| 33 | MAHARASHTRA     | GONDIA              | AAI              |
| 34 | MAHARASHTRA     | JALGAON             | AAI              |
| 35 | MAHARASHTRA     | JUHU                | AAI              |
| 36 | MAHARASHTRA     | KOLHAPUR            | AAI              |
| 37 | MAHARASHTRA     | NANDED              | PRIVATE          |
| 38 | MAHARASHTRA     | NASIK (HAL OZAR)    | HAL              |
| 39 | MAHARASHTRA     | SHIRDI              | STATE            |
| 40 | MAHARASHTRA     | SOLAPUR             | AAI              |
| 41 | MAHARASHTRA     | SINDHUDURG          | PRIVATE          |
| 42 | ODISHA          | JEYPORE             | STATE            |
| 43 | ODISHA          | JHARSUGUDA          | AAI              |
| 44 | ODISHA          | ROURKELA            | SAIL             |
| 45 | ODISHA          | UTKELA              | STATE            |
| 46 | PUDUCHERRY (UT) | PUDUCHERRY          | AAI              |
| 47 | PUNJAB          | ADAMPUR (JALANDHAR) | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 48 | PUNJAB          | BHATINDA            | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 49 | PUNJAB          | PATHANKOT           | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 50 | RAJASTHAN       | BIKANER             | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 51 | RAJASTHAN       | JAISALMER           | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 52 | RAJASTHAN       | KISHANGARH          | AAI              |
| 53 | RAJASTHAN       | КОТА                | AAI              |
| 54 | SIKKIM          | PAKYONG             | AAI              |
| 55 | TAMIL NADU      | SALEM               | AAI              |

| 56 | TELANGANA     | HYDERABAD (BEGUMPET) | AAI              |
|----|---------------|----------------------|------------------|
| 57 | UTTAR PRADESH | AYODHYA (FAIZABAD)   | AAI              |
| 58 | UTTAR PRADESH | BAREILLY             | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 59 | UTTAR PRADESH | HINDON               | INDIAN AIR FORCE |
| 60 | UTTAR PRADESH | KANPUR (CIVIL)       | AAI              |
| 61 | UTTAR PRADESH | KUSHINAGAR           | AAI              |
| 62 | UTTAR PRADESH | MEERUT               | AAI              |
| 63 | UTTAR PRADESH | MORADABAD            | AAI              |
| 64 | UTTARAKHAND   | ALMORAH (H)          | STATE            |
| 65 | UTTARAKHAND   | CHINYALI SAUR (H)    | STATE            |
| 66 | UTTARAKHAND   | GAUCHER (H)          | STATE            |
| 67 | UTTARAKHAND   | HALDWANI(H)          | STATE            |
| 68 | UTTARAKHAND   | NEW TEHRI(H)         | STATE            |
| 69 | UTTARAKHAND   | PANTNAGAR            | AAI              |
| 70 | UTTARAKHAND   | PITHORAGARH          | STATE            |
| 71 | UTTARAKHAND   | SAHASTRADHARA(H)     | STATE            |
| 72 | UTTARAKHAND   | SRINAGAR(H)          | STATE            |
| 73 | WEST BENGAL   | BEHALA               | AAI              |
| 74 | WEST BENGAL   | COOCH BEHAR          | AAI              |
| 75 | WEST BENGAL   | DURGAPUR             | PRIVATE          |

\*(CE) – Civil Enclave (H) – Heliport (WA) – Water Aerodrome