GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION Lok Sabha UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. : 905 (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 7th December 2023)

OPERATIONAL AIRPORTS

905. MS. S. JOTHIMANI

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION

be pleased to state:-

(a) the number of airports operating in the country and the details of new airports that have been built in the country since 2014;

(b) the details of privatization of airports between 2004-2013;

(c) the details of privatization of airports since 2014;

(d) the details of Airports which are fully owned/controlled by Private Groups since 2014;

(e) the details of Public Private Partnership (PPP) airports in the country along with names of such PPP company;

(f) whether it is true that one private company has emerged as the largest private player to own airports in the country and if so, the details thereof;

(g) the details of bids/tenders received for various airports proposed for privatisation since 2014 and time period till which tenders are likely to be issued; and

(h) the details of license fee and royalty collected by AAI from the privately owned airports?

ANSWER

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD))

(a) At present, there are 149 operational airports in the country. Out of these, 12 new airports namely, Manohar International Airport, Mopa in Goa, Shirdi International airport, Shirdi and Sindhudurg airport in Maharashtra, Kalaburagi airport and Shivamogga airport in Karnataka, Kushinagar airport in Uttar Pradesh, Orvakal (Kurnool) Airport in Andhra Pradesh, Kazi Nazrul Islam Airport, Durgapur in West Bengal, Pakyong airport in Sikkim, Kannur International airport in Kerala, Donyi Polo, Itanagar airport in Arunachal Pradesh and Rajkot (Hirasar) airport in Gujarat have been operationalised since 2014.;

(b) AAI has handed over two airports namely Delhi and Mumbai airports in 2006 for operation, management and development under PPP mode on long term lease.;

(c) There are 06 Airports awarded under PPP since 2014 viz. Mangaluru, Lucknow, Ahmedabad, Guwahati, Jaipur and Thiruvananthapuram.;

(d)Out of total 149 operational airports, three airports namely Mundra, Jamshedpur and Vidyanagar are fully owned/controlled by Private Groups.;

(e) & (f) :Details of PPP airports in the country and the PPP partners are at annexure.;

(g)During the tender process of six AAI airports namely Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Mangaluru, Jaipur, Thiruvananthpuram and Guwahati carried out in 2018-19, a total of 32 bids were received. The tender process was completed and these six airports have been awarded to the successful bidder.;

(h) Delhi and Mumbai airports have been awarded on the basis of Revenue Share Model to operate, manage and develop the airports for an initial period of 30 years. For other six airports viz. Lucknow, Ahmedabad, Mangaluru, Jaipur, Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram, the basis is Per Passenger Fee (PPF) payable to AAI, to operate, manage and develop these airports for a period of 50 years. AAI has received Annual Fees of more than Rs.30,000 crore as Revenue Share from the Private Partners of Delhi and Mumbai airports. The Private Partners of Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Lucknow, Guwahati, Thiruvananthapuram and Mangaluru airports have paid approximately Rs. 1475 crore to AAI as Per Passenger Fee (PPF) till November, 2023. AAI has also received an amount of approximately Rs.2767 crore from the Private Partners of these six airports in the form of upfront fee towards the capital expenditure incurred by AAI at these airports.

* * * * * *

Annexure

SL. No.	Name of Airport	Concessionaire
1	Cochin International Airport	M/s. Cochin International Airport Limited
2	Bangalore International Airport	M/s. Bangalore International Airport Limited (BIAL)
3	Rajiv Gandhi International Airport, Hyderabad	M/s. GMR Hyderabad International Airport Limited (GHIAL)
4	Kannur International Airport	M/s. Kannur International Airport Limited (KIAL)
5	Indira Gandhi International Airport, Delhi	M/s. Delhi International Airport Limited
6	Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport, Mumbai	M/s. Mumbai International Airport Limited (MIAL)
7	Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport, Ahmedabad	M/s. Ahmedabad International Airport Limited (AIAL)
8	Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport, Lucknow	M/s. Lucknow International Airport Limited (LIAL)
9	Mangaluru International Airport, Karnataka	M/s. Mangaluru International Airport Limited (MaIAL)
10	Jaipur International Airport, Rajasthan	M/s. Jaipur International Airport Limited (JIAL)
11	Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport, Guwahati	M/s. Guwahati International Airport Limited (GIAL)

Statement referred in reply of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 905 for answer on 07.12.2023

12		M/s. TRV-Kerala International
	Thiruvananthapuram	Airport Limited
	International Airport, Kerala	(TIAL)
13	Kazi Nazrul Islam Airport,	M/s. Bengal Aerotropolis Projects
	Durgapur, West Bengal	Ltd (BAPL)
14	Manohar International Airport,	M/s. GMR Goa International
	Mopa, Goa	Airport Limited (GGIAL)