GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.839 ANSWERED ON 07.12.2023

INSTALLATION OF FLUE GAS DESULFURIZATION (FGD) UNITS

839. SHRI SUSHIL KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of thermal power plants in Bihar, district-wise;
- (b) the number of thermal power plants in which Flue Gas Desulfurization (FGD) units are installed, district-wise;
- (c) whether it is true that the State-owned and private sector thermal power plants in Maharashtra are yet to install the FGD units;
- (d) if so, the details of measures taken by the Government in this regard;
- (e) whether the Government has taken any steps to enforce compliance to install FGD units; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

- (a): There are 6 Thermal Power Plants (total Installed Capacity 9,070 MW) in Bihar. The District wise list is annexed at Annexure-I.
- (b): There are 10 numbers of Thermal Power Plants (total 24 units of 10,600 MW capacity) in which Flue Gas De-sulfurization (FGD) units have been installed. District wise list is annexed as Annexure-II.
- (c): Yes Sir, some of the State-owned and private sector thermal power plants in Maharashtra are in various stages of installation of FGD units.

.....2.

(d) to (f): All Thermal Power Plants are required to comply with the emission norms as notified by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) and directions given by Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) from time to time. For compliance with Sulphur dioxide (SO2) emission norms, Thermal Power Plants are installing Flue Gas Desulphurization (FGD) equipment. MOEF&CC vide notification dated 05.09.2022 has specified following timelines for SO2 compliance for non-retiring Thermal Power Plants for compliance to emission norms:

SI. No.	Category	Location/Area	Timelines for compliance		
1	Category A	Within 10 km radius of National Capital Region (NCR) or cities having million plus population (as per 2011 census of India)	Upto 31st December 2024		
2	Category B	Within 10 km radius of Critically Polluted Areas or Non-attainment cities (as defined by CPCB)	•		
3	Category C	Other than those included in category A and B	Upto 31st December 2026		

For non-compliance beyond the specified timelines, MoEF&CC has prescribed following environment compensation on the non-retiring thermal power plants:

Non-Compliant operation	Environmental Compensation		
beyond the Timeline	(Rs. per unit electricity generated)		
0-180 days	0.20		
181-365 days	0.30		
366 days and beyond	0.40		

ANNEXURE-I

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 839 ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 07.12.2023

List of Thermal Power Plants in Bihar

SI.	Name of	Sector	Organisation	Name of Thermal Power	Total
No	District			Plant (TPP)	Installed
					Capacity
					(MW)
1	Aurangabad	Central	NTPC-JV	BRBCL, Nabinagar Thermal Power Station	1000
2		Central	NTPC	Nabinagar Super Thermal Power Station	1980
3	Begusarai	Central	NTPC	Barauni Thermal Power Station	720
4	Patna	Central	NTPC	Barh Super Thermal Power Plant	2640
5	Bhagalpur	Central	NTPC	Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Station	2340
6	Muzaffarpur	Central	NTPC	Muzaffarpur Thermal Power Station (NTPC Kanti)	390
Total			9070		

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 839 ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 07.12.2023

List of Thermal Power Plants in India where FGD has been installed

SI. No.	Name of Project	State	Sector	Organisa-	District	Unit No.	Total Capacity
							(MW)
1	МАНАТМА	Haryana	Private	Jhajjar	Jhajjar	1	660.00
	GANDHI TPS			Power		2	660.00
2	DADRI	Uttar	Central	NTPC	Gautam	1	210.00
	(NCTPP)	Pradesh			Budh Nagar	2	210.00
						3	210.00
						4	210.00
						5	490.00
3	UNCHAHAR TPS	Uttar Pradesh	Central	NTPC	Raebareli	6	500.00
4	ITPCL TPP	Tamil Nadu	Private	ITPCL	Cuddalore	1	600.00
						2	600.00
5	MUNDRA TPS	Gujarat	Private	APL	Kutch	7	660.00
						8	660.00
						9	660.00
6	KHARGONE	Madhya	Central	NTPC	West Nimar	1	660.00
	STPP	Pradesh				2	660.00
7	VINDHYACHA L STPS	Madhya Pradesh	Central	NTPC	Singrauli	13	500.00
8	JSW	Maharashtra	Private	JSW	Ratnagiri	1	300.00
	RATNAGIRI TPP					2	300.00
						3	300.00
						4	300.00
9	DAHANU TPS	Maharashtra	Private	APL	Palghar	1	250.00
						2	250.00
10	TROMBAY	Maharashtra	Private	TATA	Mumbai	5	500.00
	TPS			PCL		8	250.00
					Total	24	10600
