## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 560 TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.12.2023

### **REDEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATIONS**

## †560. SHRI VINAYAK RAUT : SHRI SANJAY JADHAV:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the railway stations falling under Parbhani and Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Parliamentary Constituencies in Maharashtra;
- (b) the steps taken by the Government for the beautification of these railway stations in the said Parliamentary Constituencies during the last three years;
- (c) the details of the proposed, ongoing and pending rail projects/works in Parbhani and Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Constituencies;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to develop modern infrastructure at these railway stations and if so, the details thereof;
- (e) whether the Government proposes to develop rail network connectivity and rail services in Parbhani and Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Constituencies; and
- (f) if so, the details of the additional steps being taken by the Government in this regard?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (f): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (f) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 560 BY SHRI VINAYAK RAUT AND SHRI SANJAY JADHAV TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 06.12.2023 REGARDING REDEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATIONS.

- (a): The 22 stations of South Central Railway which fall within the Parbhani Parliamentary constituency in Maharashtra are Parbhani, Purna, Gangakher, Manwath Road, Partur, Selu, Chudawa, Dhengli Pimpalgaon, Devalgaon Avchar, Marsul, Mirkhal, Pergaon, Pingli, Pokarni Narsimha, Ranjani, Satuna, Usmanpur, Wadegaonnila, Dhondi Halt, Pardgaon Halt, stations Sangannapur Halt & Ukhali Halt. The 26 falling under Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Parliamentary Constituency in Maharashtra on Konkan Railway route are Anjani, Chiplun, Kamathe, Sawarda, Aravali Road, Kadavai, Sangameshwar Road, Ukshi, Bhoke, Ratnagiri, Nivsar, Adavali, Veravali, Vilavade, Saundal (Halt), Rajapur Road, Kharepatan Road, Vaibhavwadi Road, Achrine, Nandgaon Road, Kankavali, Sindhudurg, Kudal, Zarap, Sawantwadi Road and Madure.
- (b) to (f): Ministry of Railways has launched 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' for development of Stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long term approach. So far, 6 number of stations namely Parbhani, Purna, Selu, Partur, Gangakher and Manwath Road in the constituency of Parbhani have been identified for development under this scheme.

The scheme involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, cleanliness, free WiFi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, executive lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping etc. keeping in view the

necessity at each such station. The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballast less tracks, 'Roof Plazas' as per necessity phasing and feasibility and creation of city centers at the station in the long term.

An MOU has been executed between PWD/Maharashtra and Konkan Railway Corporation Limited (KRCL) on 23.01.2023 for regular maintenance and upkeep of approach roads to the Railway Stations including beautification.

Further, Modernisation/upgradation/development of Railway stations is a continuous & ongoing process and works for development are undertaken as per requirement subject to inter-se priority of works and availability of funds. However, priority for upgradation of station is accorded to higher category of station over lower category of station while sanctioning and executing the work.

projects are sanctioned Zonal Railway wise Parliamentary Constituency wise as Railway projects may span across Parliamentary constituencies. Prabhani and Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Constituency falls in the state of Maharashtra. As on 01.04.2023, 34 Railway infrastructure projects (16 new Line, 02 gauge conversion and 16 doubling), covering total length of 5,872 km at a cost of ₹80,184 crore falling fully/partly in the State of Maharashtra in are planning/approval/construction stage out of which 1,421 km length has been commissioned and an expenditure of ₹23,964 crore incurred upto March 2023. During 2014-23, 1472 km sections (147 km New Line, 136 km Gauge Conversion and 1189 km Doubling), falling fully/partly in the State of Maharashtra, have been commissioned at an average rate of 163.56 km per

year, which is 180% more than average annual commissioning during 2009-14 (58.4km/year).

Presently, Prabhani, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg are being well served by 35 pairs, 42 pairs and 07 pairs of train services respectively. These are providing connectivity inter alia to important cities like Mumbai, Delhi and Ahmedabad. Moreover, introduction of new services, to cater to the needs of passengers, is an on-going process on Indian Railways subject to operational feasibility, traffic justification, etc.

\*\*\*\*