GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI

DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3197

ANSWERED ON 21.12.2023

SAFETY AUDIT OF DAMS

†3197. SHRI RAMDAS C. TADAS

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has any robust mechanism for conducting safety audit of dams constructed for multi purposes like irrigation and hydro electricity in the country;

(b) if so, the details thereof along with the details of the concerned agency which is conducting periodic safety audit;

(c) the details of such dams which have completed 100 years and pose threat to life and property; and

(d) the details of such dams in Maharashtra against alongwith the action taken for their closure?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI

(SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) & (b) Responsibility to ensure the safety of dams, including their operation and maintenance, rests primarily with dam owners, which are mostly the State Governments and Central/State Public Sector Units. Dam owners generally carry out the safety inspection (in terms of periodical pre-monsoon and post-monsoon inspections) of the dams under their jurisdiction. Some States have also constituted the Dam Safety Review Panel for comprehensive audit of their dams.

As per section 31 of the Dam Safety Act 2021, every owner of a specified dam has been mandated to undertake annually, through their dam safety unit, a pre-monsoon and post- monsoon inspection in respect of each specified dam and to forward the inspection report to the concerned State Dam Safety Organization, which shall analyse the report and provide comments on safety, deficiency and remedial measures, if any, to the owner of the specified dam.

Further, pursuant to the provisions of the Dam Safety Act 2021, the Central Government has constituted the National Committee on Dam Safety and established the National Dam Safety Authority for overseeing dam safety activities across the country and to evolve dam safety policies and recommend necessary regulations regarding dam safety standards in the country. Also, 28 States and 3 UTs having specified dams have constituted State Committee on Dam Safety and established State Dam Safety Organizations.

Further, Dam Safety Act also provides for comprehensive dam safety evaluation of each of the specified dam in the country by an independent panel of experts.

(c) As per the National Register of Large (Specified) Dams, 2023 compiled by the National Dam Safety Authority, there are 234 number of large (specified) dams in India, which are more than 100 years old. The State-wise list of these dams is enclosed as **Annexure.** However, here it is important to mention that aging of dams is not detrimental to its overall health, provided it is maintained properly and timely repairs are carried out in the structure ensuring its structural intactness, safety features and operation.

(d) In Maharashtra, there are 44 dams, which are more than 100 years old. As per the recent pre & post monsoon inspection of the dams carried out by the State, no such dam has been reported with serious deficiencies which need to be decommissioned. Further, remedial measures are also being taken in case of any deficiencies noticed during the pre & post-monsoon inspection of the dams on priority.

No proposal has been received from Maharashtra for closure of any such dam.

ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 3197 TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 21.12.2023 REGARDING "SAFETY AUDIT OF DAMS"

Sl. No.	State/UT	No. of Large dams more than
		100 years old (constructed in or before 1922)
1.	Andaman and Nicobar	0
2.	Andhra Pradesh	6
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	0
4.	Assam	0
5.	Bihar	1
6.	Chhattisgarh	7
7.	Goa	0
8.	Gujarat	30
9.	Haryana	0
10.	Himachal Pradesh	0
11.	Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh	0
12.	Jharkhand	0
13.	Karnataka	15
14.	Kerala	1
15.	Madhya Pradesh	63
16.	Maharashtra	44
17.	Manipur	0
18.	Meghalaya	0
19.	Mizoram	0
20.	Nagaland	0
21.	Odisha	3
22.	Punjab	0
23.	Rajasthan	25
24.	Sikkim	0
25.	Tamil Nadu	1
26.	Tripura	0
27.	Telangana	21
28.	Uttar Pradesh	17
29.	Uttarakhand	0
30.	West Bengal	0
Total		234
