GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH & EDUCATION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 242 TO BE ANSWERED ON 05TH DECEMBER, 2023

AGRICULTURE COLLEGES

242. DR. BHARATIBEN DHIRUBHAI SHIYAL:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is contemplating to increase the number of agriculture colleges in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the details of the new agriculture colleges established in the country during the last three years. State-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

- (a): Agriculture including Agricultural education is a state subject. Accordingly, establishment of Agricultural College in states including maintaining records thereof are under the purview of the concerned State Governments.
- **(b)** The Central Government is having 03 Central Agricultural Universities and 04 Deemed Universities as under:

Central Agricultural Universities (CAUs)

- i. Central Agricultural University, Imphal, Manipur
- ii. Dr Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University, Pusa, Bihar
- iii. Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh

Deemed Universities (DUs)

- i. Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai, Maharashtra
- ii. Indian Agricultural Research Institute, Pusa, New Delhi-110012
- iii. Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh
- iv. National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal, Haryana

Details of Colleges under CAUs are given at Annexure-I.

Besides CAUs, there are 65 State Agricultural Universities (SAUs) functioning in different states catering to the needs of the entire country relating to Agriculture Education, Research and Extension activities.

(c): No Agriculture College has been established by the Central Government during the last three years.

List of Universities (CAUs & DUs) and their colleges

Sr. No.	Name of Universities	Constituent Colleges
1.	Central Agricultural University, Imphal, Manipur	 College of Agriculture, Imphal, Manipur. College of Food Technology, Imphal. College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry, Jalukie, Nagaland. College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry, Aizawl, Mizoram. College of Horticulture, Thenzawl, Mizoram. College of Post Graduate Studies in Agricultural Sciences, Umiam, Meghalaya. College of Agriculture, Kyrdemkulai, Meghalaya. College of Community Sciences, Tura, Meghalaya. College of Agricultural Engineering and Post-Harvest Technology, Ranipool, Sikkim. College of Horticulture, Bermiok, Sikkim. College of Fisheries, Lembucherra, Tripura. College of Horticulture and Forestry, Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh. College of Agriculture, Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh.
2.	Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University, Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar	 Tirhut College of Agriculture, Dholi, Muzaffarpur, Bihar. College of Fisheries, Dholi, Muzaffarpur, Bihar. Pandit Dindayal Upadhayay College of Horticulture and Forestry, Piprakothi, Motihari, Bihar. College of Community Science, Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar. College of Agriculture Engineering, Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar. College of Basic Science and Humanities, Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar. Post-Graduate College of Agriculture, Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar. School of Agri-business and Rural Management (SAB&RM), Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar.
3.	Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh	 College of Agriculture, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh College of Horticulture and Forestry, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Datia, Madhya Pradesh College of Fisheries, Datia, Madhya Pradesh