GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION Lok Sabha UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. : 1889 (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 14th December 2023)

OPERATIONAL AIRPORTS UNDER UDAN SCHEME

1889. DR. T.R. PAARIVENDHAR

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION

be pleased to state:-

(a) the total number of airports operational under UDAN scheme across the country as on date,State-wise;

(b) whether the Union Government has any proposal to review UDAN Scheme in near future;

(c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;

(d) whether any new airport is being considered to be made operational in Tamil Nadu under UDAN Scheme; and

(e) if so, the details thereof along with its current status?

ANSWER

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD))

(a): At present, 76 airports are operational under UDAN Scheme. State wise details of these airports are attached as Annexure.;

(b) & (c): Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) - UDAN is an ongoing scheme which has evolved over a period of time keeping in view the inputs received from the stakeholders, needs of the various regions etc. Bidding rounds are conducted from time to time for covering more destinations and routes under the scheme. Routes have been awarded to Selected Airlines Operators (SAOs) for operation under 5 rounds of biddings so far. UDAN 5.1 and 5.2 have been launched to enhance connectivity to remote and regional areas of the country through helicopters and small aircraft respectively. (d) & (e): Five airports ,namely, Salem, Neyveli, Tanjore, Vellore and Ramnad in the State of Tamil Nadu have been identified for upgradation/ revival under the UDAN scheme. The operation of RCS flights from Salem has commenced. Licensing of Neyveli and Vellore airports are in progress. Establishment of Civil Enclave at Tanjore airport is being taken up by the Airports Authority of India. In the case of Ramnad Airport, land is yet to be handed over by the State Government.

* * * * * *

ANNEXURE

List of RCS Airports operationalized as on 28.11.2023 (Total 76 Nos. including 19 Underserved and 57 Unserved airports)

S No.	State	Nos. including 19 Underserved and 57 Airport	Owner	Date of
				Operationalisation
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kadapa (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	27-April-2017
2.			AP Airports Dev.	
		Kurnool (Unserved) (Round-3)	Corp. Ltd	28-march 2021
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	Tezu (Unserved) (Round-2)	AAI	15 August 2021
4.		Passighat (Unserved) (Round-2)	IAF	24-May 2021
5.		Hollongi (Unserved) (Round-4.3)	AAI	15-Jan-2023
6.	Assam	Jorhat (Underserved)(Round-2)	IAF(CE-AAI)	1-Aug-2018
7.		Lilabari (Underserved)(Round-2)	AAI	15-Jan-2019
8.		Tezpur (Underserved)(Round-2)	IAF(CE-AAI)	26-April-2018
9.		Rupsi (Unserved) (Round-2)	AAI	8-May 2021
10.	Bihar	Darbhanga(Unserved) (Round-2)	IAF(CE-AAI)	08-Nov-2020
11.	Chhattisgarh	Jagdalpur(Unserved) (Round-1)	State Govt.	14-June-2018
12.		Bilaspur (Unserved) (Round-1)	State Govt.	1-March-2021
13.	Daman & Diu	Diu (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	24-Feb-2018
14.	Gujarat	Bhavnagar (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	1-May-2018
15.		Jamnagar (Underserved)(Round-1)	IAF (CE-AAI)	17-Feb-2018
16.		Kandla (Unserved) (Round-1)	AAI	1-July-2017
17.		Keshod (Unserved) (Round-2)	AAI	16-Apr-2022
18.		Mundra (Unserved) (Round-1)	Private	17-Feb-2018
19.		Porbandar (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	10-July-2017
20.		Statue of Unity (W) (Unserved)	State Govt.	
		(Round-3)		31-Oct-2020
21.		Sabarmati River Front (W) (Unserved)	State Govt.	
		(Round-3)		31-Oct-2020
22.	Haryana	Hissar(Unserved) (Round-2)	State Govt.	14-Jan-2021
23.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla (Unserved)(Round-1)	AAI	27-April-2017
24.		Kullu (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	13-May-2019
25.		Mandi – Heliport(Unserved) (Round-2)	State Govt.	09-Dec-2021
26.		Rampur – Heliport (Unserved) (Round- 2)	State Govt.	14-Dec-2021
27.	Jharkhand	Deoghar (Unserved) (Round-4.1)	AAI-Jharkhand (JV)	12-July-2022
28.		Jamshedpur (Unserved) (Round-1)	TATA Steel Ltd.	31-Jan-2023
29.	Karnataka	Belgaum (Underserved)(Round-3)	AAI	1-May-2019
30.		Hubli (Underserved)(Round-2)	AAI	14-May-2018
31.		Mysore (Unserved) (Round-1)	AAI	2-Sep-2017
32.		Vidyanagar (Unserved) (Round-1)	Private	21-Sep-2017
33.		Kalaburgi (Gulbarga) (Unserved) (Round-3)	AAI	22-Nov-2019
34.		Bidar (Unserved) (Round-1)	IAF(CE-SG)	07-Feb-2020
35.		Shivamogga (Unserved) (Round-4.1)	SG	21-Nov-2023

S No.	State	Airport	Owner	Date of Operationalisation
36.	Kerala	Kannur (Unserved) (Round-2)	Private (KIAL)	25-Jan-2019
37.	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior (Underserved)(Round-1)	IAF (CE-AAI)	31-May-2017
38.	Maharashtra	Gondia (Unserved) (Round-4)	AAI	13-March-2022
39.		Jalgaon (Unserved) (Round-1)	AAI	23-Dec-2017
40.		Kolhapur (Unserved) (Round-1)	AAI	8-April-2018
41.		Nanded (Unserved) (Round-1)	Reliance	27-April-2017
42.		Ozar (Nasik) (Unserved) (Round-1)	HAL	23-Dec-2017
43.		Sindhudurg (Unserved) (Round-3)	IRB Infra	9-October -2021
44.	Meghalaya	Shillong (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	26-April-2018
45.	Nagaland	Dimapur (Underserved)(Round-3)	AAI	07-Dec-2019
46.	Odisha	Jharsuguda (Unserved) (Round-1)	AAI	22-Sep-2018
47.		Jeypore (Unserved) (Round-1)	State Govt.	03-Aug-2022
48.		Rourkela (Unserved) (Round-1)	SAIL	07-Jan-2023
49.		Utkela (Unserved) (Round-1)	State Govt.	31-Aug-2023
50.	Pondicherry (UT)	Pondicherry (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	16-Aug-2017
51.	Punjab	Adampur (Unserved) (Round-1)	IAF(CE-AAI)	1-May-2018
52.		Bhatinda (Unserved) (Round-1)	IAF(CE-AAI)	27-April-2017
53.		Ludhiana (Unserved) (Round-1)	AAI	2-Sep-2017
54.		Pathankot (Unserved) (Round-1)	IAF(CE-AAI)	5-April-2018
55.	Rajasthan	Bikaner (Unserved) (Round-1)	IAF(CE-AAI)	26-Sep-2017
56.		Jaisalmer (Unserved) (Round-1)	IAF(CE-AAI)	29-Oct-2017
57.		Kishangarh (Unserved) (Round-2)	AAI	8-Oct-2018
58.	Sikkim	Pakyong (Unserved) (Round-2)	AAI	4-Oct-2018
59.	Tamil Nadu	Salem(Unserved) (Round-1)	AAI	25-Mar-2018
60.	Uttar Pradesh	Agra (Underserved)(Round-1)	IAF(CE-AAI)	8-Dec-2017
61.		Allahabad (Underserved)(Round-2)	IAF(CE-AAI)	14-June-2018
62.		Kanpur(Chakeri) (Unserved) (Round-1)	IAF(CE-AAI)	3-July-2018
63.		Hindon (Unserved) (Round-2)	IAF(CE-AAI)	11-Oct-2019
64.		Bareilly (Unserved) (Round-2)	IAF(CE-AAI)	08-Mar-2021
65.		Kushinagar (Unserved) (Round-3)	AAI	26-Nov-2021
66.	Uttarakhand	Pantnagar (Underserved)(Round-1)	AAI	4-Jan-2019
67.		Pithoragarh (Unserved)(Round-2)	State Govt.	17-Jan-2019
68.		Sahastradhara - Heliport (Unserved) (Round-2)	State Govt.	08-Feb-2020
69.		Chinyalisaur – Heliport (Unserved) (Round-2)	State Govt.	08-Feb-2020
70.		Gaucher – Heliport (Unserved) (Round- 2)	State Govt.	08-Feb-2020
71.		New Tehri – Heliport (Unserved) (Round-2)	State Govt.	29-July-2020
72.		Srinagar – Heliport (Unserved) (Round- 2)	State Govt.	29-July-2020
73.		Haldwani – Heliport (Unserved) (Round-2)	State Govt.	8-Oct-2021

S No.	State	Airport	Owner	Date of
				Operationalisation
74.		Almora – Heliport (Unserved) (Round- 2)	Army	26-Aug-2022
75.	West Bengal	Cooch Behar (Unserved)(Round-1)		21-Feb-2023
76.		Durgapur(Underserved)(Round-1)	Private	25-June-2019