GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1288

TO BE ANSWERED ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 11, 2023 Agrahayana 20, 1945 (Saka)

Opium Farming Licence

1288. SHRI ARUN KUMAR SAGAR:

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) Whether the Government has taken or proposes to take any steps to restore the licences of all the farmers who were holders of Opium farming licence, transfer of the licence to the heirs of deceased farmers and granting new licence for opium farming to the willing new farmers in Shahjahanpur constituency of Uttar Pradesh in view of their economic condition and livelihood concern:
- (b) whether the Government has received requests from the public representatives in this regard;
- (c) If so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the action taken or being taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI PANKAJ CHAUDHARY)

- (a) In terms of Section 9 of the Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act, 1985 read with Rule 8 of NDPS Rules 1985, the Government of India notifies the general conditions for grant of license for cultivation of opium every year taking into account of domestic requirement and export obligations of opium and its alkaloids. A minimum qualifying yield / Minimum Qualifying Yield Morphine (MQY-M) is fixed every year for licencing of existing cultivators for the next crop year. The opium licences of deceased cultivators who are eligible as per provision of opium policy are transferred to the legal heirs / persons nominated by deceased cultivators, as the case may be. The general conditions for grant of license for cultivation of opium for the crop year 2023-24 have been notified on 13.09.2023. As per the opium policy, a total of 720 licences including 91 licences to legal heirs have been issued in District Shahjahanpur, Uttar Pradesh for the crop year 2023-24.
- (b),(c) & (d):- No such request received from the public representatives for issuing of license to legal heir in Shahjahanpur constituency for the current crop year 2023-24.
