# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

## LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 53 TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.12.2023

### **UPGRADATION OF RAILWAY STATIONS**

### †\*53. SHRI ARJUN LAL MEENA:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to upgrade some railway stations falling on Udaipur, Ahmedabad rail line via Himmat Nagar from Class B to Class A in Rajasthan;
- (b) if so, the class-wise details of the railway stations selected for the said upgradation; and
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor?

#### ANSWER

# MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 53 BY SHRI ARJUN LAL MEENA TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 06.12.2023 REGARDING UPGRADATION OF RAILWAY STATIONS

(a) to (c): On Indian Railways, presently stations are being categorized into 3 groups i.e. Non-suburban, Suburban and Halts. Further, these groups have been put in grades ranging from Non-Suburban Grade (NSG)1-6, Suburban Grade(SG)1-3 & Halt Grade(HG)1-3 respectively.

The details of category of stations falling on Udaipur –Ahmedabad rail line via Himmatnagar in Rajasthan are as under :-

Station	Present Station Category
Udaipur City	NSG-3
Umra	NSG-6
Kharwa Chanda	NSG-6
Zawar	NSG-6
Padla	HG-3
Jaisamand road	NSG-6
Sur Khand Ka Khera	HG-3
Semari	HG-3
Kundalgarh	HG-3
Rikhabdev Road	NSG-6
Kotana	HG-3
Dungarpur	NSG-6
Shalasha Ka Thana	HG-3
Shribhavnath	HG-3
Bechhiwara	NSG-6
Jagabore	HG-3

Augmentation/upgradation and improvement in passenger amenities at Railway Stations is a continuous and on-going process.

Modernisation/Upgradation of stations has also been undertaken under

various modernization schemes from time to time. At present, Ministry of Railways has launched the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme and under this scheme, 83 Railway stations have been identified for development in the State of Rajasthan including 02 Railway Stations viz. Udaipur city (NSG-3) and Dungarpur (NSG-6) falling on Udaipur - Ahmedabad rail line via Himmat Nagar.

\*\*\*\*\*