# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 151 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13.12.2023

#### FEASIBILITY OF HIGH SPEED PASSENGER TRAINS

## \*151. SHRI SUDHAKAR TUKARAM SHRANGARE: SHRI DILIP SAIKIA:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Railways is considering to introduce Vande Bharat trains in various railway divisions including North East States, Gujarat, Karnataka, South East Central Railway, Bilaspur zone and Maharashtra especially in Latur districts;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Railways has further decided to conduct a feasibility study for any railway station in the above States for upgradation of engineering and station infrastructure for high speed passenger trains; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (d) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 151 BY SHRI SUDHAKAR TUKARAM SHRANGARE AND SHRI DILIP SAIKIA TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 13.12.2023 REGARDING FEASIBILITY OF HIGH SPEED PASSENGER TRAINS

(a) to (d) As the Railway network straddles across State boundaries, trains services including Vande Bharat are introduced, as per network requirement, across such boundaries. As on 10th December, 2023, 68 Vande Bharat train services are running across the Indian Railways, connecting states having Broad Gauge (B.G.) electrified network. operational on the New Delhi - Prayagraj - Kanpur Central - Varanasi, New Delhi - Ambala Cantt. - Ludhiana - Jammu Tawi - Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Katra, Mumbai Central - Borivali - Vapi - Surat - Vadodara - Ahmedabad -Gandhinagar Capital , New Delhi- Ambala Cantt. - Chandigarh - Anandpur Sahib - Una Himachal - Amb Andaura, MGR Chennai Central- Katpadi - KSR Bengaluru - Mysuru, Bilaspur- Raipur - Durg - Rajnandgaon - Gondia -Nagpur, Howrah- Bolpur Shantiniketan - Malda Town - Barsoi - New Jalpaiguri, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus- Nasik Road - Kalyan -Thane - Dadar - Sainagar Shirdi, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus-Dadar - Thane - Kalyan - Pune - Kurduvadi - Solapur, Rani Kamalapati -Virangana Lakshmibai Jhansi - Gwalior -Agra Cantt. - Hazrat Nizamuddin, MGR Chennai Central- Salem - Erode - Tiruppur - Coimbatore, Secunderabad - Nalgonda - Guntur - Ongole - Nellore - Tirupati, Ajmer - Jaipur - Alwar -Rewari - Gurgaon - Delhi Cantt., Visakhapatnam- Samalkot - Rajamundry -Vijayawada - Khammam - Warangal - Secunderabad, Kasargod- Kannur -Kozhikkode -Tirur - Shoranur - Thrisur - Ernakulam -Alappuzha -Kollam -Thiruvananthapuram Central, Kasargod - Kannur - Kozhikkode - Shoranur -Thrisur - Ernakulam Town - Kottayam - Chengannur - Kollam -Thiruvananthapuram Central, Howrah- Kharagpur - Balasore - Bhadrak -Jajpur - Keonjhar Road - Cuttack - Bhubaneswar - Khurda Road - Puri, Anand Vihar Terminal- Meerut City - Muzaffarnagar - Deoband - Saharanpur - Roorkee - Haridwar - Dehradun, New Jalpaiguri - New Cooch Behar - New Alipurduar - Kokrajhar - New Bongaigaon - Kamakhya - Guwahati, Patna -Gaya - Koderma - Hazaribagh Town - Barkakana - Mesra - Ranchi, KSR Bengaluru - Yesvantpur - Davangere - Hubballi - Dharwad, Rani Kamalapati-Narmadapuram – Itarsi – Pipariya –Narsinghpur – Jabalpur – Katni – Maihar -Satna - Rewa, Indore – Ujjain – Bhopal – Itarsi – Betul -Nagpur, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus- Dadar - Thane - Panvel - Khed - Ratnagiri -Kankavli - Thivim - Madgaon, Gorakhpur – Basti - Ayodhya - Lucknow, Jodhpur- Pali - Marwar - Falna - Abu Road - Palanpur -Mahesana -Sabarmati, Ahmedabad - Sabarmati – Sanand - Viramgam - Surendranagar - Wankaner - Rajkot - Jamnagar , Udaipur City- Rana Pratap Nagar - Mavli -Chittaurgarh - Bhilwara - Bijainagar - Ajmer - Kishangarh - Jaipur, Kacheguda- Mahbubnagar - Kurnool City - Anantapur - Dharmavaram -Yesvantpur, Chennai Egmore- Tambaram - Villupuram - Tiruchchirappalli -Dindigul - Madurai - Virudunagar - Tirunelveli, MGR Chennai Central-Renigunta - Nellore - Ongole - Tenali - Vijayawada, Howrah - Durgapur -Asansol - Jamtara - Jasidih - Luckeesarai - Mokama - Patna Saheb - Patna, Rourkela - Jharsuguda - Sambalpur City - Raikakhol - Angul - Talcher Road - Dhenkanal - Cuttack - Bhubaneswar - Khurda Road - Puri, Howrah -Kharagpur - Tatanagar - Chandil - Purulia - Kotshila - Muri - Ranchi sectors.

Besides, introduction of new Vande Bharat services is an ongoing process over Indian Railways subject to traffic justification, operational feasibility, resource availability, etc.

Ministry of Railways has recently launched a Scheme of 'Amrit Bharat Station' for development of Stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long term approach. The scheme involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like

improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, cleanliness, free WiFi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product", better passenger information systems, executive lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping etc. keeping in view the necessity at each such station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for 'Divyangjans' sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballast less tracks, 'Roof Plazas' as per necessity phasing and feasibility and creation of city centers at the station in the long term. Total 1309 stations have been selected under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme. Of these, 01 station is in Arunachal Pradesh, 01 station is in Manipur, 01 station is in Meghalaya, 01 station is in Mizoram, 01 station is in Nagaland, 4 stations are in Tripura, 50 stations are in Assam, 32 stations are in Chhattisgarh, 56 stations are in Karnataka, 126 stations are in Maharashtra.

\*\*\*\*