GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY DEPARTMENT FOR PROMOTION OF INDUSTRY AND INTERNAL TRADE LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO. 144. TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, THE 13TH DECEMBER, 2023.

LAND CUSTOM STATIONS IN NER

*144. SHRI LORHO S. PFOZE:

Will the Minister of **COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY** be pleased to state: वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री

- (a) whether the distribution of Land Custom Stations (LCSs) in the North Eastern Region (NER) is skewed;
- (b) if so, whether there are 25 notified LCSs along the 1939 km-long Indo-Bangladesh Border whereas only 3 LCSs are notified along the 1643 km-long Indo-Myanmar International Border covering 4 States of India;
- (c) if so, the reasons therefor;
- (d) whether presently, only 2 LCSs namely Moreh ICP (Manipur) and Zokhawthar (Mizoram) are functional, but not in good health while Nampong (Arunachal Pradesh) is non-functional;
- (e) if so, the facts thereof;
- (f) whether the State of Manipur with a 398 km of shared Indo-Myanmar border has been demanding for opening of 4 new LCS at New Tusom (Ukhrul), Pilong/Ashang Khullen (Kamjong), New Somtal (Chandel) and Behiang (Churachandpur) since long to strengthen socio-economic ties with Myanmar and which will be a major step towards actualization of the Act East Policy;
- (g) if so, whether the Government has been considering to take action for materialization of these needs/demands: and
- (h) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री (श्री पीयूष गोयल) THE MINISTER OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (h): A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (h) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 144 FOR ANSWER ON 13.12.2023.

- (a): Sir, there are 44 Land Customs Stations notified in the North Eastern Region of India covering 7 States of NER, namely Assam (16), Meghalaya (12), Tripura (11), Mizoram (2), Manipur (1), Arunachal Pradesh (1), and Sikkim (1). These LCSs cover countries bordering NER, namely Bangladesh (36), Bhutan (4), Myanmar (3) and China (1). 5 LCSs have been upgraded as Integrated Check Posts (ICP). Details are enclosed at Annexure A.
- (b): In the North East Region, there are 36 LCSs notified along the India-Bangladesh Border covering 4 States namely Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura and 03 LCSs along the India Myanmar Border covering 3 States namely Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Mizoram.
- (c): Establishing a land customs station entails assessment of trade potential, infrastructure, exim connectivity, industry & market, availability of facilities such as banking and communication, topography and weather, bilateral relations and engagements with the neighbouring country. It also involves inter-Ministerial consultations and consent of the neighbouring country.
- (d) & (e): Moreh-Tamu was a major border trade point between India and Myanmar. It has been functional from 15.03.2018 and was subsequently closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic on 10.04.2020. It is still closed at Tamu side by the Myanmar authorities. Likewise, LCS Zokhawthar was also closed due to COVID-19. LCS Nampong is non-functional since 1962. There is no LCS infrastructure in Myanmar opposite Nampong. Also, connectivity infrastructure is very limited and there is lack of adequate industry and markets which would lead to demand of import/export.
- (f): No, sir.
- (g) & (h): Doesn't arise.

ANNEXURE - A
ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) OF THE LOK SABHA
UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 144 FOR ANSWER ON 13.12.2023.

S. No.	Name of the LCS	Bordering Country	State
1	Golakganj		Assam
2	Dhubri Steamerghat	1	Assam
3	Mankachar		Assam
4	Suterkandi		Assam
5	Karimganj Ferry Station		Assam
6	Karimganj Steamer Ghat		Assam
7	Mahisasan Raiway Station]	Assam
8	Guahati Steamerghat		Assam
9	Silchar R.M.S office]	Assam
10	Silghat]	Assam
11	Jogighopa		Assam
12	Badarpur]	Assam
13	Borsora	1	Meghalaya
14	Dawki		Meghalaya
15	Balat		Meghalaya
16	ShellaBazar	Bangladesh	Meghalaya
17	Bholaganj (Bolanganj)		Meghalaya
18	Mahendraganj		Meghalaya
19	Dalu		Meghalaya
20	Ghasuapara		Meghalaya
21	Baghmara		Meghalaya
22	Ryngku		Meghalaya
23	Kalaichar		Meghalaya
24	Nalikata]	Meghalaya
25	Demagir/Kawrpuichhuah		Mizoram
26	Agartala		Tripura
27	Srimantapur		Tripura
28	Muhurighat		Tripura
29	Khowaighat]	Tripura
30	Old Ragnabazar]	Tripura
31	Manu]	Tripura

32	Dhalaighat		Tripura
33	Sabroom		Tripura
34	Srinagar		Tripura
35	Kamalasagar		Tripura
36	Nischintapur Railway Station		Tripura
37	Darranga	Bhutan	Assam
38	Hatisar		Assam
39	Kamardwisa		Assam
40	Ultapani		Assam
41	Sherathang	China	Sikkim
42	Nampong	Myanmar	Arunachal Pradesh
43	Moreh		Manipur
44	Zokhawthar		Mizoram

Integrated Check Posts:

5 LCS, namely Agartala (s. no. 26), Srimantapur (s. no. 27), Dawki (s. no. 14), Suterkandi (s. no. 4) and Moreh (s. no. 43) have been upgraded into Integrated Check Post (ICP).
