GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 944 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26TH JULY, 2023

SPEED POST CENTRES

944. SHRI CHANDESHWAR PRASAD:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the number of speed post centres operating in various States including Bihar as on date, State/UT-wise;

(b) whether the Government proposes to set up more such centres across the States including Bihar;

(c) if so, the details thereof, State-wise as on date along with the steps taken by the Government in this regard; and

(d) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

(a) The facility of booking of a Speed Post article is available from all Post Offices across the country. Speed Post Centres have now been designated as National Sorting Hubs (NSHs) or Intra Circle Hubs (ICHs). Presently there are 94 NSHs and 152 ICHs in the country. The State/UT wise details including Bihar are at **Annexure**.

(b) There are 4 National Sorting Hubs and 5 Intra Circle Hubs in State of Bihar. As of now there is no proposal for setting up of more National Sorting Hubs and Intra Circle Hubs (ICHs) in the country including Bihar.

(c) Question does not arise in view of (b) above.

(d) The network of NSH & ICH has been set up across the country keeping in view the operational requirements. There are, at present, no such requirement to set up more NSH & ICH centres

Annexure referred to in reply of para (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 944 to be answered on 26th July, 2023 regarding Speed Post Centres.

| Number of National Sorting Hubs (N | NSHs) and Intra Circle Hubs (| (ICHs) (State-wise) |
|------------------------------------|-------------------------------|---------------------|
|------------------------------------|-------------------------------|---------------------|

| S. No. | | NSH | ICH |
|--------|--------------------------------------|-----|-----|
| Α | State | | |
| 1 | Andhra Pradesh | 4 | 9 |
| 2 | Arunachal Pradesh | 1 | - |
| 3 | Assam | 2 | 5 |
| 4 | Bihar | 4 | 5 |
| 5 | Chhattisgarh | 1 | 4 |
| 6 | Goa | 1 | - |
| 7 | Gujarat | 4 | 13 |
| 8 | Haryana | 4 | 3 |
| 9 | Himachal Pradesh | 2 | 3 |
| 10 | Jharkhand | 3 | 3 |
| 11 | Karnataka | 7 | 6 |
| 12 | Kerala | 5 | 3 |
| 13 | Madhya Pradesh | 4 | 9 |
| 14 | Maharashtra | 5 | 17 |
| 15 | Manipur | 1 | - |
| 16 | Meghalaya | 1 | - |
| 17 | Mizoram | 1 | - |
| 18 | Nagaland | 1 | - |
| 19 | Odisha | 4 | 8 |
| 20 | Punjab | 3 | 4 |
| 21 | Rajasthan | 3 | 10 |
| 22 | Tamil Nadu | 7 | 13 |
| 23 | Telangana | 2 | 4 |
| 24 | Tripura | 1 | - |
| 25 | Uttar Pradesh | 9 | 19 |
| 26 | Uttarakhand | 2 | 5 |
| 27 | West Bengal | 5* | 9 |
| 28 | Sikkim | - | - |
| В | Union Territories | | |
| 1 | Andaman & Nicobar Islands | 1 | - |
| 2 | Chandigarh | 1 | - |
| 3 | Delhi | 2* | - |
| | | | |
| 4 | Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu | - | - |
| 5 | Jammu & Kashmir | 2 | - |
| 6 | Lakshadweep | - | - |
| 7 | Ladakh | 1 | - |
| 8 | Puducherry | - | - |
| | Total | 94 | 152 |

* This includes one each National Sorting Hub established for Army Postal Service.