## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3603 ANSWERED ON 10.08.2023

### **Status of Implementation of Schemes for Minorities.**

#### 3603. SHRI CHANDESHWAR PRASAD:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the quantum of funds released to Jehanabad, Gaya and Arwal Districts of Bihar under various schemes for minority communities during the last three years and the current year;
- (b) whether the funds released under the said schemes have been utilised;
- (c) if so, the details of the schemes under which the work has been completed or is nearing completion; and
- (d) the reasons for non-completion of the said works?

# ANSWER THE MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRIMATI SMRITI ZUBIN IRANI)

(a) to (d) The Government implements various Schemes for the welfare and upliftment of every strata, including minorities, specially the economically weaker and lesser privileged sections of the society, through the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, Ministry of Textiles, Ministry of Culture, Ministry of Women and Child Development and Ministry of Rural Development.

Ministry of Minority Affairs specifically implements various Schemes across the country including in the State of Bihar for socio-economic and educational empowerment of the six (6) centrally notified minority communities. The schemes/programmes implemented by the Ministry are as under:

- (A) Educational Empowerment Schemes
  - (1) Pre-Matric Scholarship Scheme
  - (2) Post-Matric Scholarship Scheme
  - (3) Merit-cum-Means based Scholarship Scheme

- (B) Employment and Economic Empowerment Schemes
  - (4) Pradhan Mantri Virasat Ka Samvardhan (PMVIKAS)
  - (5) National Minorities Development and Finance Corporation (NMDFC) Scheme for providing concessional loans to minorities.

## (C) Special Schemes

- (6) Jiyo Parsi: A scheme for reversing the declining trend of Parsi population.
- (7) Qaumi Waqf Board Taraqqiati Scheme (QWBTS) and Shahari Waqf Sampatti Vikas Yojana (SWSVY).
- (D) Infrastructure Development Schemes
  - (8) Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK)

District-wise allocation of funds is not made under the schemes of the Ministry. However, the amount of scholarships sanctioned during 2019-20 to 2021-22 to the applicants from Jehanabad, Gaya and Arwal districts of Bihar under the 3 Scholarship Schemes is given in the table below. Scholarships for 2022-23 and 2023-24 have not been disbursed.

(Amount in ₹)

	Year	Jehanabad	Gaya	Arwal
Pre-Matric Scholarship Scheme	2019-20	14,05,428	2,54,33,748	80,95,847
	2020-21	14,22,217	27,07,792	2,15,310
	2021-22	16,46,260	42,79,357	1,44,237
Post-Matric Scholarship Scheme	2019-20	42,72,494	2,45,80,648	68,90,972
	2020-21	50,88,835	82,49,020	14,27,637
	2021-22	34,60,654	34,85,031	8,57,149
Merit-cum- Means based Scholarship Scheme	2019-20	19,30,781	1,03,92,609	7,98,085
	2020-21	17,94,646	93,76,031	9,14,290
	2021-22	17,26,830	87,75,612	6,53,725

The National Minorities Development & Finance Corporation (NMDFC) extends concessional credit for self employment activities to the backward sections amongst the notified minorities through the State Channelizing Agencies (SCAs). Bihar State Minorities Financial Corporation (BSMFC), the SCA in Bihar, has not been able to draw funds from NMDFC after FY 2011-12

due to accumulation of overdues. NMDFC has entered into MOU with Canara Bank in FY 2021-22 to implement its schemes across the country with focus on States where SCAs are non-operational and in Gaya district, Canara Bank has disbursed ₹ 0.45 lakh in the F.Y. 2021-22.

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK), a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS), is an area development programme under which community infrastructure and basic amenities are being created in the identified areas. Jehanabad, Gaya and Arwal Districts of Bihar were earlier not identified districts to be covered under PMJVK. The Scheme has been approved with effect from financial year 2022-23 with the revised guidelines, for implementation in all districts of the country including these 3 districts during the period of 15th Finance Commission Cycle.

\*\*\*\*