GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA LINSTARDED OVERTION NO. 3545

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3545

ANSWERED ON 10.08.2023

SOLAR LIGHTS IN HOME AND STREET

3545. SHRI MANOJ TIWARI DR. NISHIKANT DUBEY

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is implementing any scheme for providing solar lights in home and street and setting up of solar cities in the country, State/UT-wise including Jharkhand;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the number of beneficiaries, State/UT-wise including districts of Jharkhand; and
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER (SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) to (c) Presently, the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) is not implementing any scheme for providing solar lights in homes and streets in the country.

MNRE has requested all States/Union Territories, including the state of Jharkhand, to select at least one city to be developed as a solar city. A concept note on developing solar cities was circulated to the States/UTs with a request to finalise an action plan for the development of the cities identified to be solar cities and implement the plan in a time-bound manner. There is no separate fund allocation for the solar city programme and the funds available under the different existing schemes are to be converged for the development of solar cities. So far, 27 States/UTs have identified solar cities in their respective States/UTs and the list is placed as **Annexure.** The State of Jharkhand has identified Giridih city to be developed as a solar city.

Annexure referred in reply to Part (a) to (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred question no. 3545 to be answered on 10.08,2023.

Solar City identified by respective State/UT

S. No.	Identified Solar City	State/UT
1	Majuli	Assam
2	Bodh Gaya	Bihar
3	Rajgir	Bihar
4	Vaishali	Bihar
5	New Raipur	Chhattisgarh
6	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
7	NDMC	Delhi
8	Dwarka	Gujarat
9	Panchkula	Haryana
10	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh
11	Giridih	Jharkhand
12	Bidar	Karnataka
13	Hospet in Bellary	Karnataka
14	Thiruvananthapuram	Kerala
15	Sanchi	Madhya Pradesh
16	TURA Town of West Garo Hills	Meghalaya
17	Bhubaneswar	Odisha
18	Jaisalmer	Rajasthan
19	Pushkar	Rajasthan
20	Ayodhya	Uttar Pradesh
21	Prayagraj	Uttar Pradesh
22	Dehradoon	Uttarakhand
23	Prantik in Birbhum, Shantiniketan	West Bengal
24	Shaheed Dweep	Andaman and Nicobar
25	Amritsar	Punjab
26	Jorethang	Sikkim
27	Udaipur Town	Tripura
28	Saitual	Mizoram
29	Diu city	DNH and DD
30	Damanwada Panchayat	DNH and DD
31	Panjim	Goa
32	Dimapur	Nagaland
33	Kohima	Nagaland
34	Jammu	Jammu and Kashmir