GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3409 TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, 9TH AUGUST, 2023

INSTALLATION OF DOPPLER RADARS

†3409.	SHRI SUMEDHANAND SARASWATI: DR. MANOJ RAJORIA :	
	Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:	
(a)	whether the Government has established doppler radars to provide correct weather information to the common farmers in the country and to reduce or eliminate the loss of crops due to unseasonal weather conditions;	
(b)	if so, the number and details of such radars installed in the country so far, particularly in Rajasthan;	
(c)	whether the Government has been considering to install radars in several parts of the country during the last four-five years; and	
(d)	if so, the details thereof?	
	ANSWER THE MINISTER OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)	
(a)	Yes Sir. India Meteorological Department (IMD) has established Doppler radars across the country to monitor severe weather development and to support forecast and warning services related to that for all the sectors including Agriculture.	
(b)	At present IMD is operating 37 numbers of Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) across the country, including the State of Rajasthan. The State wise details of radar network are given in Annexure-I.	
(c)	Yes Sir.	

About 15 radars have been installed over several parts of the country during the last

four-five years and the details are already included in the Annexure-I.

(d)

Annexure-I

S. No.	State / U.T.	Existing DWRs (37 numbers)
1	Rajasthan	1 C-Band DWR in Jaipur
2	Madhya Pradesh	1 S-Band DWR in Bhopal
3	Maharashtra	2 S-Band DWRs in Mumbai and Nagpur
		1 C-Band DWR installed in Veravalli, Mumbai
4	Uttar Pradesh	1 S-Band DWR in Lucknow
5	Gujarat	1 S-Band DWR installed in Bhuj
6	Andhra Pradesh	3 S-Band DWRs in Machilipatnam, Visakhapatnam, and
		Sriharikota
7	Odisha	2 S-Band DWRs in Paradip and Gopalpur
8	Tamil Nadu	2 S-Band DWRs in Chennai and Karaikal and
		1 X-Band DWR in NIOT Chennai
9	Telangana	1 S-Band DWR in Hyderabad
10	Bihar	1 S-Band DWR in Patna
11	West Bengal	1 S-Band DWR in Kolkata
12	Assam	1 S-Band DWR in Mohanbari
13	Himachal Pradesh	3 X-Band DWRs in Kufri, Murari Devi and Jot
14	Uttarakhand	2 X-Band DWRs at Surkanda Devi and Mukteshwar and
		1 X-Band at Lansdowne (under installation)
15	Punjab	1 S-Band DWR in Patiala
16	Kerala	1 S-Band DWR at Kochi and
		1 C-Band DWR at Thiruvananthapuram (operated by ISRO)
17	Meghalaya	1 S-Band DWR in Cherrapunji
18	Tripura	1 S-Band DWR in Agartala
19	Goa	1 S-Band DWR in Goa
20	Ladakh	1 X-Band DWR in Leh
21	Jammu & Kashmir	2 X-Band DWRs in Jammu and Banihal Top
22	NCT of Delhi	1 S-Band DWR in Palam,
		1 C-Band DWR in Lodi road and
		1 X-Band DWR in Ayanagar

Observation ranges considered for Doppler products: X-Band: 100 kms, C-Band: 250 kms & S-Band: 250 kms.
