# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3050 ANSWERED ON 08/08/2023

#### **EXTREMELY BACKWARD AREAS**

#### **3050. SHRI ASHOK MAHADEORAO NETE:**

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has done any survey and analysis of the reasons and consequences of backwardness of the extremely backward areas;
- (b) if so, the details and outcomes thereof, district-wise; and
- (c) the steps being taken by the Government to address the backwardness of the districts?

#### **ANSWER**

### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI)

(a) to (c): Ministry of Rural Development has not done any specific survey and analysis of backwardness of the extremely backward areas. However, NITI Aayog has identified 112 Aspirational Districts remaining backward in the sectors like Health & Nutrition, School Education, Agriculture & Water Resources, Financial Inclusion and Skill Development and Basic Infrastructure. List of such 112 Aspirational Districts is placed at Annexure.

The broad strategy of the Aspirational District Programme rests on the 3 Cs – Convergence (between Central and State Schemes), Collaboration (between Centre, State/District Administration, Development Partners and Citizens) and Competition (between Districts). Every month, districts are ranked on the basis of progress made and this instills them with a

sense of competition which results in rapid improvement. Another programme is nomination of Joint strategy of the Secretary/Additional Secretary level officials from Government of India as Central Prabhari Officers for each of the districts. The role of these Prabhari Officers is to guide the district administration on the basis of their long experience. As the main strategy of the programme is based on convergence of existing schemes which have their own funding arrangement, infusion of additional funds is not envisaged. However, in order to foster competitive spirit and for addressing the critical gaps, selected Districts are given some additional allocation on the basis of their performance every month, districts are assessed on the basis of monthly progress and the best performing District in overall terms and in each of the five sectors identified.

In addition, the Ministry of Rural Development is implementing a number of schemes for rural areas of the country including the extremely backward areas viz., Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (MGNREGS), Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana – Gramin (PMAY-G), Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY), Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana – National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM), Deen Dayal Upadhayay – Gramin Kaushalya Yojana (DDU-GKY), Rural Self Employment and Training Institutes (RSETIs), National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP), Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) and Watershed Development Component (WDC) of Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (PMKSY) to bring about overall development of rural areas.

\*\*\*\*

Annexure

### Annexure referred to reply to in parts (a) to (c) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.3050 for 08.08.2023

State wise list of Aspirational Distrcts				
S.No.	State	District		
1	Madhya Pradesh	Chhatarpur		
2	Madhya Pradesh	Damoh		
3	Madhya Pradesh	Barwani		
4	Madhya Pradesh	Rajgarh		
5	Madhya Pradesh	Vidisha		
6	Madhya Pradesh	Guna		
7	Madhya Pradesh	Singrauli		
8	Madhya Pradesh	Khandwa		
9	Uttar Pradesh	Bahraich		
10	Uttar Pradesh	Shrawasti		
11	Uttar Pradesh	Balrampur		
12	Uttar Pradesh	Siddharthnagar		
13	<b>Uttar Pradesh</b>	Chandauli		
14	Uttar Pradesh	Sonebhadra		
15	Uttar Pradesh	Chitrakoot		
16	Uttar Pradesh	Fatehpur		
17	Odisha	Dhenkanal		
18	Odisha	Gajapati		
19	Odisha	Kandhamal		
20	Odisha	Balangir		
21	Odisha	Kalahandi		
22	Odisha	Rayagada		
23	Odisha	Koraput		
24	Odisha	Malkangiri		
25	Odisha	Nawarangpur		
26	Odisha	Nuapada		
27	Punjab	Moga		
28	Punjab	Firozpur		
29	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba		
30	Uttarakhand	Udham Singh Nagar		
31	Uttarakhand	Haridwar		

32	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram
33	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam
34	Andhra Pradesh	Y.S.R. Kadapa
35	Haryana	Mewat
36	Jharkhand	Garhwa
37	Jharkhand	Chatra
38	Jharkhand	Giridih
39	Jharkhand	Godda
40	Jharkhand	Sahibganj
41	Jharkhand	Pakur
42	Jharkhand	Bokaro
43	Jharkhand	Lohardaga
44	Jharkhand	Purbi Singhbhum
45	Jharkhand	Palamu
46	Jharkhand	Latehar
47	Jharkhand	Hazaribagh
48	Jharkhand	Ramgarh
49	Jharkhand	Dumka
50	Jharkhand	Ranchi
51	Jharkhand	Khunti
52	Jharkhand	Gumla
53	Jharkhand	Simdega
54	Jharkhand	Pashchimi Singhbhum
55	Gujarat	Dahod
56	Gujarat	Narmada
57	Bihar	Sitamarhi
58	Bihar	Araria
59	Bihar	Purnia
60	Bihar	Katihar
61	Bihar	Muzaffarpur
62	Bihar	Begusarai
63	Bihar	Khagaria
64	Bihar	Banka
65	Bihar	Sheikhpura
66	Bihar	Aurangabad
67	Bihar	Gaya
68	Bihar	Nawada
69	Bihar	Jamui

70	Jammu & Kashmir	Kupwara
71	Jammu & Kashmir	Baramula
72	Kerala	Wayanad
73	Tamil Nadu	Virudhunagar
74	Tamil Nadu	Ramanathapuram
75	Telangana	Asifabad
76	Telangana	Bhopapalli
77	Telangana	Bhadadri
78	Assam	Goalpara
79	Assam	Barpeta
80	Assam	Hailakandi
81	Assam	Baksa
82	Assam	Darrang
83	Assam	Udalguri
84	Assam	Dhubri
85	Nagaland	Kiphire
86	Mizoram	Mamit
87	Sikkim	West Sikkim
88	Manipur	Chandel
89	Meghalaya	Ribhoi
90	Tripura	Dhalai
91	Arunachal Pradesh	Namsai
92	Karnataka	Raichur
93	Karnataka	Yadgir
94	Maharashtra	Nandurbar
95	Maharashtra	Washim
96	Maharashtra	Gadchiroli
97	Maharashtra	Osmanabad
98	Chhattisgarh	Korba
99	Chhattisgarh	Rajnandgaon
100	Chhattisgarh	Mahasamund
101	Chhattisgarh	Kanker
102	Chhattisgarh	Narayanpur
103	Chhattisgarh	Dantewada
104	Chhattisgarh	Bijapur
105	Chhattisgarh	Bastar
106	Chhattisgarh	Kondagaon
107	Chhattisgarh	Sukma

108	Rajasthan	Dholpur
109	Rajasthan	Karauli
110	Rajasthan	Jaisalmer
111	Rajasthan	Sirohi
112	Rajasthan	Baran

\*\*\*\*