GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2072 TO BE ANSWERED ON 2ND AUGUST, 2023

POST OFFICE PASSPORT SEVA KENDRAS

2072. MS. DEBASREE CHAUDHURI:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is any proposal to start Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSKs) in all Tehsil headquarters or in all district Headquarters;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the number of POPSKs set up so far in the State of West Bengal;
- (c) the details of the number of POPSKs which have started functioning so far in Maharashtra along with the number of POPSKs proposed to be made operational in the near future; and
- (d) the extent to which getting passports is likely to become easier through POPSKs along with the details of its style of functioning?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

- (a) No, Madam.
- (b) The list of Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSKs) set up so far in the state of West Bengal is given in **Annexure I**.
- (c) The list of POPSKs which have started functioning so far in Maharashtra is given in **Annexure II**. The list of POPSKs identified to be opened in Maharashtra subject to feasibility and concurrence of Ministry of External Affairs is given in **Annexure III**.
- (d) The introduction of Post Office Passport Seva Kendras has made Passport making process convenient, speedy and cost effective for the citizens of India, who now are not required to travel long distances or face long waiting period to get a passport. POPSKs function in the following way:-

An Applicant visits the designated POPSK on date and time slot allotted as per online appointment on Passport Seva Portal to complete the process of verification of documents, capturing of photograph, finger prints, signatures etc. The file created in the system is verified online by the Verification Officer which is then submitted online to Granting Officer of the respective Passport Office for Police Verification and thereafter printing and despatch of the Passport.

Annexure I

garding Post Office Passport Sev S.No. Location		District	Parliamentary Constituency	
1.	Alipurduar	Alipurduar	Alipurduar	
2.	Amta	Howrah	Uluberia	
3.	Arambagh	Hooghly	Arambagh	
4.	Asansol	Paschim Bardhaman	Asansol	
5.	Ashoknagar	North 24 Parganas	Barsat	
6.	Balurghat	Dakshin Dinajpur	Balurghat	
7.	Bangaon	North 24 Parganas	Bangaon	
8.	Bankura	Bankura	Bankura	
9.	Bardhaman	Purba Bardhaman	Bardhaman	
10.	Barrackpore	North 24 Parganas	Barrackpore	
11.	Basirhat	North 24 Parganas	Basirhat	
12.	Beadon Street	Kolkata	Kolkata Uttar	
13.	Bishnupur	Bankura	Bishnupur	
14.	Bolpur	Birbhum	Bolpur	
15.	Canning Town Ferry Ghat	South 24 Parganas	Jaynagar	
16.	Chinsurah	Hooghly	Hoogly	
17.	Coochbehar	Cooch Behar	Coochbehar	
18.	Darjeeling	Darjeeling	Darjeeling	
19.	Diamond Harbour	South 24 Parganas	Diamond Harbour	
20.	Dum Dum	North 24 Parganas	Dum Dum	
21.	Ghatal	Paschim Medinipur	Ghatal	
22.	Howrah	Howrah	Howrah	
23.	Jadavpur	Kolkata	Jadavpur	
24.	Jalpaiguri	Jalpaiguri	Jalpaiguri	
25.	Jhargram	Jhargram	Jhargram	
26.	Jiyaganj	Murshidabad	Murshidabad	
27.	Kakdweep	South 24 Parganas	Mathurapur	
28.	Contai	Purba Medinipur	Contai	
29.	Katwa	Purba Bardhaman Bardhaman Purba		
30.	Kharagpur	Paschim Medinipur	Medinipur	
31.	Krishnanagar	Nadia	Krishnanagar	
32.	Makdumpur	Malda	Maldha Daskhin	
33.	Purulia	Purulia	Purulia	
34.	Raghunathganj	Murshidabad	Jangipur	
35.	Raiganj	Uttar Dinajpur	North Dinajpur	
36.	Rampurhat	Birbhum	Birbhum	
37. Ranaghat		Nadia	Ranaghat	
38.	Samsi	Malda	Maldaha Uttar	
39.	Serampore	Hooghly	Serampore	
40.	Tamluk	Purba Medinipur	Tamluk	

Annexure II

Annexure referred to in reply of para (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2072 for 02-08-2023 regarding Post Office Passport Seva Kendras in Maharashtra						
S.No	Location	District	Parliamentary Constituency			
1.	Aurangabad	Aurangabad	Aurangabad			
2.	Bhiwandi	Thane	Bhiwandi			
3.	Bhusawal	Jalgaon	Raver			
4.	Dhule	Dhule	Dhule			
5.	Jalgaon	Jalgaon	Jalgaon			
6.	Rajapur	Ratnagiri	Ratagiri Sindhudurg			
7.	Santacruz	Mumbai Suburban	Mumbai North Central			
8.	Sion	Mumbai City	Mumbai South Central			
9.	Vashi	Thane	Thane			
10.	Kannamwar Nagar (Vikroli)	Mumbai Suburban	Mumbai North East			
11.	Tajnapeth (Akola)	Akola	Akola			
12.	Amravati	Amravati	Amravati			
13.	Bhandara	Bhandara	Bhandara Gondiya			
14.	Buldhana	Buldana	Buldhana			
15.	Chandrapur	Chandrapur	Chanrapur			
16.	Gadchiroli	Gadchiroli	Gadchiroli			
17.	Hingoli	Hingoli	Hingoli			
18.	Katol	Nagpur	Ramtek			
19.	Wardha	Wardha	Wardha			
20.	Yavatmal	Yavatmal	Yavatmal			
21.	Ahmednagar	Ahmednagar	Ahmednagar			
22.	Baramati	Pune	Baramati			
23.	Beed	Beed	Beed			
24.	Ichalkaranji	Kolhapur	Hatkanangle			
25.	Jalna	Jalna	Jalna			
26.	Kolhapur	Kolhapur	Kolhapur			
27.	Latur	Latur	Latur			
28.	Madha	Solapur	Madha			
29.	Nanded	Nanded	Nanded			
30.	Osmanabad	Osmanabad	Osmanabad			
31.	Navipeth Pandharpur	Solapur	Solapur			
32.	Parbhani	Parbhani	Parbhani			
33.	Pimpri Chinchwad	Pune	Maval			
34.	Sangli	Sangli	Sangli			
35.	Satara	Satara	Satara			
36.	Shirur	Pune	Shirur			
37.	Shrirampur	Ahmednagar	Shirdi			
38.	Vasai	Palghar	Palghar			
39.	Dombivali	Thane	Kalyan			

Annexure III

Annexure referred to in reply of para (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2072 for 02-08-2023 regarding proposed Post Office Passport Seva Kendras in Maharashtra						
S.No	Location	District	Parliamentary Constituency			
1.	Dindori	Nashik	Dindori			
2.	Nandurbar	Nandurbar	Nandurbar			
3	Alihag(Raigad)	Raigad	Raigad			
