GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO-596 TO BE ANSWERED ON- 06/02/2023

Special Central Assistance to Tribal Sub-Scheme (SCA to TSS)

596. SHRI JAYADEV GALLA:

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the scheme under Special Central Assistance to Tribal Sub-Scheme (SCA to TSS), the disbursal of funds for the tribal regions in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana during the last five financial years;
- (b) the list of Non- Governmental Organisations operating in the backward districts of Bhupalapally, Asifabad and Khammam districts of Telangana and Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam and Kadapa districts of Andhra Pradesh along with the grants provided to each of them during the last five years, year-wise; and
- (c) the details regarding the steps taken to increase the funding in the backward districts of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana under the afore-mentioned scheme?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SMT. RENUKA SINGH SARUTA)

(a): Ministry of Tribal Affairs had provided financial assistance to Government of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana under the erstwhile scheme of Special Central Assistance to Tribal Sub-Scheme (SCA to TSS) till 2020-21 against the activities related to education, health, sanitation, water supply, livelihood, skill development etc.

During 2021-22, Government has revamped the earlier 'SCA to TSS' with nomenclature 'Pradhan Mantri Adi Adarsh Gram Yojna (PMAAGY)', for implementation during 2021-22 to 2025-26, which aims at integrated developement of 36,428 villages with significant tribal population having at least 50% tribal population and 500 STs across States / UTs with notified STs. This includes 517 tribal villages of Andhra Pradesh and 533 tribal villages of Telangana. The details of the funds released to the Government of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana during last five years under the scheme of 'SCA to TSS' / 'PMAAGY' is as under:

Rs. in lakh)

Name of State	Name of Scheme	Year	Fund Released
Andhra Pradesh	Scheme of Special Central Assistance to	2018-19	5617.39
	Tribal Sub-Scheme (SCA to TSS)	2019-20	12470.50
		2020-21	4954.96
	*Pradhan Mantri Adi Adarsh Gram Yojana	2021-22	0.00
	(PMAAGY)	2022-23	0.00
Telangana	Scheme of Special Central Assistance to	2018-19	2850.32
	Tribal Sub-Scheme (SCA to TSS)	2019-20	5361.29
		2020-21	4191.00
	Pradhan Mantri Adi Adarsh Gram Yojana	2021-22	2262.18
	(PMAAGY)	2022-23	593.06

^{*} Under PMAAGY funds could not be released to Andhra Pradesh for FY 2021-22 and 2022-23 because of pending Utilization Certificates and unspent balance available with states.

(b): During the last five years, none of the organization in district of Bhupalapally and Asifabad in Telangana and Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam and Kadapa districts of Andhra Pradesh have received grants from Ministry of Tribal Affairs under the scheme of 'Grant-in-Aid to Voluntary Organizations working for the welfare of Scheduled Tribes'. The details of Non- Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in backward districts of Khammam in Telangana received grants during the last five years as shown below:

NGO Name	District	Project	Amount released (In Rs.)	Financial Year	Remarks
Sarojini Devi Harijan MahilaMandali	Khammam	Residential School	13,57,190.00	2018-19	Ministry has not received recommendation from State Government for other years.

(c): Under the revamped scheme of 'Pradhan Mantri Adi Adarsh Gram Yojna (PMAAGY)', a sum of ₹20.38 lakh per village as 'Gap-filling' has been provisioned for approved activities including administrative expenses. Besides States / UTs are encouraged for convergence of resources as Central / State Scheduled Tribe Component (STC) funds and other financial resources available with them for saturation of gaps in the identified villages. The District-wise details of the villages selected under the scheme of PMAAGY in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana are as under:

Andhra Pradesh:

S.No	Name of District	No. of Villages selected under PMAAGY
	Anantpur District	04
	Chittoor District	01
	East Godavari District	69
	Guntur District	06
	Krishna District	07
	Kurnool District	02
	Prakasam District	06
	Srikakulam District	66
	Visakhapatnam District	225
	Vizianagaram District	104
	West Godavari District	26
	Y.S.R. District	01
	Total	517

Telangana:

S.No	Name of District	No. of Villages selected under PMAAGY
	Adilabad	204
	Karimnagar	01
	Khammam	163
	Mahbubnagar	31
	Medak	22
	Nalgonda	16
	Nizamabad	17
	Rangareddy	11
	Warangal	68
	Total	533
