GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5467 TO BE ANSWERED ON 05.04.2023

WORLD CLASS STATIONS UNDER SAMASTIPUR RAILWAY DIVISION †5467. SHRI PRINCE RAJ:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether 15 stations under Samastipur Railway Division are being developed under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme wherein Darbhanga, Bapudham, Motihari and Sitamarhi stations are being upgraded as world class stations and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to develop Samastipur railway station under the said scheme;
- (c) if so, whether the Government is considering to upgrade Samastipur railway station as world class, which is considered the land of the great socialist leader, Jannayak Karpoori Takhur ji and the 'entrance to Mithila' region; and
- (d) if not, the plan of the Government to popularize the said station globally in the memory of Jannayak?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5467 BYSHRI PRINCE RAJTO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 05.04.2023 REGARDING WORLD CLASS STATIONS UNDER SAMASTIPUR RAILWAY DIVISION

(a) to (d): The Amrit Bharat Station Scheme has recently been launched for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, executive lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, 'Roof Plazas' as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centres at the station in the long term.

So far, 1275 Railway stations have been identified for development under this scheme including 20 railway stations of Samastipur Division namely Samastipur, Darbhanga, Saharsa, Jaynagar, Madhubani, Bettiah, Raxaul, Narktiyaganj, Sugauli, Sakri, Banmankhi, Laheria sarai, Simri Bakhtiyarpur, Bapudham Motihari, Ghorasahan, Janakpur Road, Salauna, Dauram Madhepura, Supoul and Sitamarhi railway stations.
