#### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 5403 TO BE ANSWERED ON 05.04.2023

# GATI SHAKTI CARGO TERMINALS IN ODISHA AND ANDHRA PRADESH

# 5403. SHRI MAHESH SAHOO: SHRI BALASHOWRY VALLABHANENI:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Railways has proposed to establish Gati Shakti Cargo Terminals (GSCTs) in Odisha and Andhra Pradesh;

(b) if so, the details of locations where Railways is proposing to establish the above terminals in Odisha and Andhra Pradesh;

(c) whether any timeline has been fixed for this, if so, the details thereof;

(d) whether the Government has already established GSCTs in Odisha and Andhra Pradesh and if so, the details thereof;

(e) whether some GSCTs have already become functional, if so, the details thereof; and

(f) the number of people being benefitted by direct and indirect employment?

#### ANSWER

### MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

#### (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (f) : A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (f) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5403 BY SHRI MAHESH SAHOO AND SHRI BALASHOWRY VALLABHANENI TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 05.04.2023 REGARDING GATI SHAKTI CARGO TERMINALS IN ODISHA AND ANDHRA PRADESH

(a) & (b): In order to boost investment from industry in setting up of cargo terminals, 'Gati Shakti Multi-Modal Cargo Terminal (GCT)' policy has been launched, wherein GCTs are being developed by non-railway agencies. Under the GCT policy Fourteen (14) locations in Odisha and Sixteen (16) locations in Andhra Pradesh have been provisionally identified / proposed for setting up of GCTs. The details of locations are as under –

SN	Name of location / station	State
1	Daitari	Odisha
2	Byree	Odisha
3	Nuagan	Odisha
4	Badabandha	Odisha
5	Porjanpur	Odisha
6	Jarapada	Odisha
7	Brundamal	Odisha
8	Machhapur	Odisha
9	Darlipali / Lika	Odisha
10	Talcher	Odisha
11	Sukinda Road	Odisha
12	Jaipur Keonjhar Road	Odisha
13	Paradeep	Odisha
14	Sogra	Odisha
15	Vadalapudi	Andhra Pradesh
16	Krishnapatnam	Andhra Pradesh
17	Veeravasaram	Andhra Pradesh
18	Karapa	Andhra Pradesh
19	Bayyavaram	Andhra Pradesh
20	Tettu	Andhra Pradesh
21	Venkatachalam	Andhra Pradesh
22	Bikkavolu	Andhra Pradesh
23	Machilipatnam	Andhra Pradesh
24	Jaggayyapeta	Andhra Pradesh
25	Sanjamala	Andhra Pradesh

26	Banaganapalli	Andhra Pradesh
27	Krishnapuram	Andhra Pradesh
28	Nakkanadoddi	Andhra Pradesh
29	Pondugala	Andhra Pradesh
30	Tummalacheruvu	Andhra Pradesh

(c): As per the provisions of the GCT policy, the agencies are expected to complete the construction within twenty four (24) months of grant of 'In-Principle-Approval'.

(d) and (e): Upto 1<sup>st</sup> March 2023, a total 30 GCTS have been commissioned across the country, which include two GCTs (Paradeep and Darlipali/Lika) in Odisha and two GCTs (Nakkanadoddi and Tummalacheruvu) in Andhra Pradesh.

(f): Data regarding any estimate of employment after operationalisation of GCTs is not maintained.

\* \* \* \* \* \*