## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5336 TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, 5<sup>TH</sup> APRIL, 2023

## **INSTALLATION OF DOPPLER RADARS**

#### 5336. SHRI SUDHAKAR TUKARAM SHRANGARE:

Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has made efforts to install doppler radars that provide correct weather information to the common farmers in the country to reduce the loss of unseasonal or untimely rain or to eliminate losses;
- (b) if so, the detailed account of how many such doppler radars have been installed in the country so far;
- (c) whether the Government has installed such radars in any part of the country in the last four to five years;
- (d) if so, the details thereof, State-wise especially in the State of Maharashtra; and
- (e) whether the Government has been demanding X-BAND Doppler radar for Marathwada region of Maharashtra for a long time, if so, the action taken by the Government so far in this regard and the time by which it is likely to be established?

#### ANSWER

## THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND EARTH SCIENCES (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

- (a) Yes Sir. India Meteorological Department (IMD) is already maintaining a well established Doppler Weather Radar (DWR) network to support weather forecasting services.
- (b) IMD has installed and operating a network of 37 DWRs across the country.
- (c) & (d) Since 2017, 13 DWRs have been installed at different parts of the country and the details are given in Annexure.
- (e) A C-Band Radar is proposed to be installed in Aurangabad in the Marathwada region of Maharashtra. For this purpose, site selection for installation is in process.

## **ANNEXURE**

<i>S. No.</i>	Name of Station	DWR type	Commissioned on
1.	Kochi (Kerala)	S-Band	12.07.2017
2.	Sriharikota (ISRO), Andhra Pradesh	S-Band	April 2018
3.	Mukteshwar (Uttarakhand)	X-Band	30.09.2020
4.	Sonmarg (Ladakh) Shifted to Leh (Ladakh)	Transportable X- Band	26.10.2020 shifted to Leh with effect from 28.10.2021
5.	Kufri (Himachal Pradesh)	X-Band	07.12.2020
6.	Jammu (Jammu & Kashmir)	X-Band	24.08.2021
7.	Aya Nagar (Delhi)	X-Band	09.10.2021
8.	Chennai NIOT (Tamil Nadu)	X-Band	22.12.2021
9.	Mumbai Veravali (Maharashtra)	C-Band	31.12.2021
10.	Surkanda Devi (Uttarakhand)	X-Band	28.03.2022
11.	Banihal Top (Jammu & Kashmir)	X-Band	01.09.2022
12.	Jot (Himachal Pradesh)	X-Band	31.12.2022
13.	Murari Devi (Himachal Pradesh)	X-Band	21.01.2023

# List of Doppler Weather Radar installed in last Five years.

\*\*\*\*\*