GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4339 ANSWERED ON 27.03.2023

Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas

4339. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR MONDAL: SHRIMATI REKHA VERMA:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the number of Navodaya Vidyalayas established during the last five years and the current year, State-wise, year-wise especially in Purba Bardhaman district in West Bengal;
- (b) the number of Kendriya Vidyalayas and Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas, Statewise especially in Uttar Pradesh, district-wise;
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to set up Kendriya Vidyalayas and Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas in Lakhimpur and Sitapur districts; and
- (d) whether the Government is likely to make efforts to set up these schools in the next budget year?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SMT. ANNPURNA DEVI)

- (a) The State/UT-wise and year-wise number of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs) established during the last five years and the current year are at Annexure-I.
- (b) The State/UT-wise number of functional Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) and JNVs are at Annexure-II.

The district-wise number of functional KVs and JNVs in the State of Uttar Pradesh are at Annexure-III.

(c) & (d) The Navodaya Vidyalaya Scheme envisages opening of one Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya (JNV) in each rural district of the country. There is no provision for JNVs in districts with 100% population in urban area. Opening of new JNVs is a continuous process which depends on the willingness of the concerned State Government/UT administration to make available requisite suitable land, free of cost,

for construction of the permanent building and making available required temporary building, free of rent, to run the Vidyalaya, till the permanent building is constructed. Sanction and opening of new JNV depends on approval by the competent authority. One JNV in each of Lakhimpur and Sitapur districts of Uttar Pradesh have been established during the year 2001-02 and 1988-89, respectively and an additional second JNV has also been established in Sitapur district (SC Concentrated) during the year 2015-16.

Opening of new KVs is a continuous process. KVs are opened primarily to cater to the educational needs of the wards of transferable Central Government Employees including Defence& Para-military personnel, Central Autonomous Bodies, Central Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) and Central Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) by providing a common programme of education throughout the country. Proposals for opening of new KVs may be sponsored by Ministries or Departments of the Government of India / State Governments / Union Territories (UTs) Administrations, with commitment to provide requisite resources for setting up a new KV as per norms. The proposals are subject to approval of the competent authority. At present, 02 KVs in Lakhimpur and 01 KV in Sitapur districts of Uttar Pradesh are already functioning.

ANNEXURE-I

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4339 FOR 27.03.2023 ASKED BY SHRI SUNIL KUMAR MONDAL AND SHRIMATI REKHA VERMA, HON'BLE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING JAWAHAR NAVODAYA VIDYALAYAS

State/UT-wise, Year-wise details of JNVs established during the last five years and the current year

S. No.	State / UT	2017-18	2018-19	2019-20	2020-21	2021-22	2022-23
1	Andaman & Nicobar Island	1	0	0	0	0	0
2	Arunachal Pradesh	0	0	0	1	0	0
3	Chhattisgarh	11	0	0	0	0	0
4	Gujarat	5	1	3	0	0	0
5	Haryana	1	0	0	0	0	0
6	Jammu & Kashmir	0	2	1	1	0	0
7	Jharkhand	2	0	0	0	0	0
8	Karnataka	3	0	0	0	0	0
9	Madhya Pradesh	2	2	0	0	0	0
10	Maharashtra	1	0	0	0	0	0
11	Meghalaya	0	1	1	1	1	0
12	Punjab	0	1	1	0	0	0
13	Rajasthan	1	0	0	0	0	0
14	Tripura	2	0	2	0	0	0
15	Uttar Pradesh	3	1	1	0	1	0
16	West Bengal	1	0	0	0	0	0
Total		33	8	9	3	2	0

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4339 FOR 27.03.2023 ASKED BY SHRI SUNIL KUMAR MONDAL AND SHRIMATI REKHA VERMA, HON'BLE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING JAWAHAR NAVODAYA VIDYALAYAS

State/UT-wise details of functional JNVs and KVs as on date in the country

S.	State/ UT	No. of JNVs	No. of KVs	
No.	A 1 0 N: 1 1 1		00	
1	Andaman & Nicobar Island	3	02	
2	Andhra Pradesh	15	35	
3	Arunachal Pradesh	17	19	
4	Assam	27	58	
5	Bihar	39	49	
6	Chandigarh	1	05	
7	Chhattisgarh	28	36	
8	Dadra &Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu	3	02	
9	Delhi	2	46	
10	Goa	2	05	
11	Gujarat	34	45	
12	Haryana	21	35	
13	Himachal Pradesh	12	26	
14	Jammu & Kashmir	20	35	
15	Jharkhand	26	41	
16	Karnataka	31	52	
17	Kerala	14	38	
18	Lakshadweep	2	01	
19	Ladakh	1	03	
20	Madhya Pradesh	54	112	
21	Maharashtra	34	59	
22	Manipur	11	09	
23	Meghalaya	12	07	
24	Mizoram	8	04	
25	Nagaland	11	06	
26	Odisha	31	66	
27	Puducherry	4	04	
28	Punjab	23	51	
29	Rajasthan	35	77	
30	Sikkim	4	02	
31	Tamil Nadu	0	45	
32	Telangana	9	35	
33	Tripura	8	10	
34	Uttar Pradesh	76	122	
35	Uttarakhand	13	45	
36	West Bengal	18	62	
TOTAL 649 1249				

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4339 FOR 27.03.2023 ASKED BY SHRI SUNIL KUMAR MONDAL AND SHRIMATI REKHA VERMA, HON'BLE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING JAWAHAR NAVODAYA VIDYALAYAS

<u>District-wise number of functional KVs and JNVs as on date in the State of Uttar</u> <u>Pradesh</u>

SI. No.	Name of District	No. of KVs	No. of JNVs
1.	Agra	04	01
2.	Aligarh	01	01
3.	Amroha	0	01
4.	Ambedkar Nagar	0	01
5.	Amethi	02	01
6.	Auraiya	01	01
7.	Ayodhya	01	01
8.	Azamgarh	01	01
9.	Budaun	01	01
10.	Baghpat	02	01
11.	Bahraich	01	01
12.	Ballia	01	01
13.	Balrampur	01	01
14.	Banda	0*	01
15.	Barabanki	01	01
16.	Bareilly	06	01
17.	Basti	01	01
18.	Bhadohi	01	01
19.	Bijnor	0	01
20.	Bulandshahar	01	01
21.	Chandauli	01	01
22.	Chitrakoot	01	01
23.	Deoria	02	01
24.	Etah	01	01
25.	Etawah	01	01
26.	Farrukhabad	01	01
27.	Fatehpur	01	01
28.	Firozabad	01	01
29.	Gautam Buddha Nagar	04	01
30.	Ghaziabad	04	01
31.	Ghazipur	01	01
32.	Gonda	02	01
33.	Gorakhpur	02	01
34.	Hamirpur	01	01
35.	Hardoi	01	01
36.	Hathras	01	01
37.	Hapur	01	01
38.	Jalaun	0	01
39.	Jaunpur	0	01
40.	Jhansi	04	01
41.	Kannauj	0	01

42.	Kanpur Dehat	01	01
43.	Kanpur Nagar	09	01
44.	Kasganj	0	01
45.	Kaushambi	0	01
46.	Kushi Nagar	01	01
47.	Lakhimpur Kheri	02	01
48.	Lalitpur	02	01
49.	Lucknow	10	01
50.	Maharajganj	0	01
51.	Mahoba	01	01
52.	Mainpuri	0	01
53.	Mathura	03	01
54.	Mau	01	01
55.	Meerut	03	01
56.	Mirzapur	01	01
57.	Moradabad	01	01
58.	Muzaffar Nagar	01	01
59.	Pilibhit	01	01
60.	Prayagraj	09	01
61.	Pratapgarh	0	01
62.	Raebareli	03	01
63.	Rampur	01	01
64.	Saharanpur	01	01
65.	Sambhal	0	01
66.	Sant Kabir Nagar	0	01
67.	Shahjahanpur	02	01
68.	Shamli	0	01
69.	Shravasti	01	01
70.	Siddharth Nagar	01	01
71.	Sitapur	01	02**
72.	Sonbhadra	03	01
73.	Sultanpur	01	01
74.	Unnao	01	01
75.	Varanasi	05	01
	TOTAL	122	76

^{*} A KV was sanctioned in Banda district in August, 2018 but could not be made functional as the requisite land and suitable rent free temporary accommodation, as per Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS) norms, has not yet been transferred to KVS.

^{**} Additional second JNV in Sitapur district (SC Concentrated).