GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3528 TO BE ANSWERED ON 22ND MARCH, 2023

POST OFFICES BEING RUN BY ONLY ONE OFFICIAL

†3528. SHRI HANUMAN BENIWAL:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the number of post offices in Rajasthan which are being run by only one official at present, district-wise;
- (b) whether any proposal is under consideration of the Government to upgrade the post offices operational in Nagaur district as sub-post offices and if so, the details thereof including the names of the villages;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to formulate any scheme to upgrade such post offices being run from rented buildings of village Panchayat headquarters by constructing Government building for them;
- (d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (e) the details regarding sanctioned, filled-up and vacant posts in post-offices and the branches being run under them in Rajasthan and the plan of the Government regarding filling up the vacant posts at the earliest?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

- (a) 6967 post offices in Rajasthan are being run by one official at present. District-wise detail is given in **Annexure**.
- (b) No proposal to upgrade branch offices operational in Nagaur district into sub-post office is under consideration of the Government.
- (c) & (d) There is no scheme to construct Government building for post offices, being run from rented building of village Panchayat headquarters.
- (e) Out of 21617 sanctioned posts of Departmental employees and Gramin Dak Sewaks (GDS) in Rajasthan Postal Circle, 16576 posts are filled up and remaining 5041 posts are lying vacant. Recruitment to fill up vacant posts is a continuous process and is being done regularly through meetings of Departmental Promotion Committee, departmental examinations, direct recruitment through Staff Selection Commission, GDS online engagement portal and also by individual Postal Circles as per the provisions of relevant Recruitment Rules.

ANNEXURE

Annexure referred to in reply to Part (a) for Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3528 to be answered on 22nd March, 2023 regarding "Post Offices being Run by only One Official".

Sl. No.	Name of District	Number of Post Offices being run by one official
1	Ajmer	295
2	Alwar	362
3	Banswara	265
4	Baran	110
5	Barmer	203
6	Bharatpur	245
7	Bhilwara	297
8	Bikaner	152
9	Bundi	119
10	Chittorgarh	232
11	Churu	207
12	Dausa	187
13	Dholpur	92
14	Dungarpur	294
15	Hanumangarh	100
16	Jaipur	292
17	Jaisalmer	112
18	Jalore	192
19	Jhalawar	188
20	Jhunjhunu	351
21	Jodhpur	230
22	Karauli	110
23	Kota	111
24	Nagaur	429
25	Pali	237
26	Pratapgarh	151
27	Rajsamand	132
28	Sawaimadhopur	159
29	Sikar	368
30	Sirohi	95
31	Sri Ganganagar	193
32	Tonk	157
33	Udaipur	300
Total		6967
