# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3299

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 21ST MARCH, 2023

#### **INCREASE IN LANDLESS AGRICULTURAL WORKERS**

3299. SHRIMATI GODDETI MADHAVI:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that number of landless agricultural workers and farm labourers has steadily increased from 106.7 million in 2001 to 144.3 million in 2011;
- (b) if so, the estimated number of landless agricultural workers and farm labourers currently present in the country;
- (c) whether the Government has created any pension scheme specifically for agricultural workers and farm labourers other than PM Shram Yogi Maan Dhan Yojana; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the measures proposed for the welfare of the said category of people?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

- (a) & (b): No specific census/survey of landless agricultural workers and farm labourer has been conducted and as such the exact number of landless agricultural workers and farm labourer in the country is not available. However, details of wholly leased-in operational holdings in the country as per Agriculture Census 2015-16 is given in the **Annexure**.
- (c) & (d): Agriculture being a State subject, the State Governments undertake implementation of Agricultural schemes/programmes for the development of the sector.

Government of India also supplements these efforts through implementation of various central sector/centrally sponsored schemes/programmes.

In order to provide old age protection, the Government of India launched Pradhan Mantri Shram Yogi Maan-Dhan (PM-SYM) pension scheme in 2019 for the unorganised workers including agricultural workers and farm labourers. It provides monthly pension of Rs. 3000/- after attaining the age of 60 years. The workers in the age group of 18-40 years, whose monthly income is Rs. 15000/- or less and not a member of EPFO/ ESIC/NPS (Govt. funded) can join the PM-SYM Scheme. Under this scheme 50% monthly contribution is payable by the beneficiary and equal matching contribution is paid by the Central Government. Under the scheme, the funds towards Government's contribution is provided to LIC being the fund manager.

Department of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare is implementing various schemes for the benefit of farmers including landless farmers in the country. Through Kisan Credit Card(KCC) scheme, the Government is providing short term agri credit upto Rs. 3 lakh at subsidized rate of interest (4% per annum on timely repayment of loan) to all farmers including sharecroppers and tenant farmers. Such farmers are also entitled for coverage under crop insurance schemes with benefit of subsidy in premium. States have to prescribe the modalities for enabling such farmers to avail credit and crop insurance. Further, farmers can avail of loan upto Rs. 1.6 lakh without any collateral. Landless and tenant farmers/artisans can also avail collateral-free institutional credit by forming Joint Liability Groups (JLGs), which is a medium for financing landless farmers, tenant farmers, sharecroppers and oral lessees.

Apart from above, other schemes such as Public Distribution System through One Nation One Ration Card scheme under National Food Security Act, Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gramin Kaushal Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana, Gareeb Kalyan Rojgar Abhiyan, Mahatma Gandhi Bunkar Bima Yojana, Deen Dayal Antyodaya Yojana, PMSVANidhi, Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana, etc. are also available for agricultural workers and farm labourers depending upon their eligibility criteria.

## Annexure referred in reply to part (a) to (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Q.No.3299 due for 21.03.2023

S.No.	States	No. Of Wholly Leased-in holdings (in absolute number)
1	A&N Island	12
2	Andhra Pradesh	30445
3	Arunachal Pradesh	0
4	Assam	3012
5	Bihar	4090
6	Chandigarh	0
7	Chhattisgarh	377
8	D&N Haveli	2
9	Daman & Diu	0
10	Delhi	0
11	Goa	4121
12	Gujarat	0
13	Haryana	0
14	Himachal Pradesh	200
15	Jammu & Kashmir	960
16	Jharkhand	2392
17	Karnataka	98
18	Kerala	21853
19	Lakshdweep	0
20	Madhya Pradesh	8340
21	Maharashtra	776
22	Manipur	6627
23	Meghalaya	0
24	Mizoram	0
25	Nagaland	317
26	Odisha	283071
27	Puducherry	223
28	Punjab	6576
29	Rajasthan	5486
30	Sikkim	1037
31	Tamil Nadu	9899
32	Telangana	763
33	Tripura	1575
34	Uttar Pradesh	21220
35	Uttarakhand	148
36	West Bengal	117665
	All India	531285

Source: Agricultural census 2015-16

\*\*\*\*