GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No - 3094 ANSWERED ON - 20/03/2023

SELF DEFENCE UNDER RANI LAXMI BAI ATMA RAKSHA PRASHIKSHAN KARYAKRAM IN M.P.

†3094. DR. DHAL SINGH BISEN:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any scheme is underway to impart training for self defence under Rani Laxmi Bai Atma Raksha Prashikshan Karyakram;
- (b) if so, the time since this scheme is under implementation along with the details thereof;
- (c) the names of the districts and the schools in Madhya Pradesh where these schemes are currently going on; and
- (d) the amount of money spent under these schemes and the details of the money spent so far under this programme?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SMT. ANNPURNA DEVI)

(a) & (b): Department of School Education and Literacy (DoSEL), Ministry of Education is implementing the centrally sponsored scheme of Samagra Shiksha, effective from 2018-19. Under Samagra Shiksha, self defence training is imparted to girls studying in classes VI to XII in Government Schools. Self defence training is also given in Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalayas (KGBVs) which are residential schools for girls of Class VI to XII belonging to disadvantaged groups such as SC, ST, OBC, Minority and Below Poverty Line.

Under Samagra Shiksha scheme 2.0, effective from 2022-23, the self defence training has been renamed as 'Rani Laxmi Bai Atma Raksha Prashikshan' and the fund for this component has been increased from Rs. 3000/- to Rs. 5000/- per month per school for three months. Based on the number of schools proposed by the respective State/UT Government in the Annual Work Plan & Budget for the financial year, funds at the rate of Rs. 5000/- per month per school for three months are approved by the Project Approval Board.

- (c): Education is a subject in the concurrent list of the Constitution and majority of the schools come under the purview of concerned State/UT Government. Implementation of all activities approved under Samagra Shiksha including self defence training for girls in Government schools, come under the jurisdiction of concerned State/UT Government. As per the information received from the State Government of Madhya Pradesh, for the year 2022-23 self defence training has been imparted in 4702 elementary schools and 1224 secondary schools as on 16.03.2023, covering all districts of the State . District-wise details is at Annexure.
- (d): Details of funds allocated for self defence training of girls in schools under Samagra Shiksha and the number of Government schools approved for the same are as under:

(Rs. in Lakhs)

Sl.	Year	Elementary		Secondary	
No.		Approvals		Approvals	
		No. of	Financial	No. of	Financial
		Schools		School	
1	2018-19	134835	10221.87	76581	6227.23
2	2019-20	180160	15346.25	81800	6656.36
3	2020-21	118244	10641.96	78639	7077.51
4	2021-22*	163045	8320.49	56869	3337.27
5	2022-23	188005	23106.85	83031	9082.63

(Source: Prabandh)

^{*}In the year 2021-22, funds approved only for one month due to COVID-19 pandemic.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3094 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20.03.2023 ASKED BY DR. DHAL SINGH BISEN HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING "SELF DEFENCE UNDER RANI LAXMI BAI ATMA RAKSHA PRASHIKSHAN KARYAKRAM IN M.P.".

District-wise details of schools in Madhya Pradesh State where self Defence training has been imparted

S. No.	Name of district	Elementary Schools	Secondary /Sr. Sec. Schools	
		Number of Schools Self defence Training Completed	Number of Schools Self defence Training Completed	
1	Agar Malwa	88	2	
2	Alirajpur	14	6	
3	Anuppur	13	24	
4	Ashok Nagar	14	19	
5	Balaghat	72	50	
6	Barwani	32	6	
7	Betul	188	70	
8	Bhind	22	7	
9	Bhopal	135	45	
10	Burhanpur	52	12	
11	Chhatarpur	15	8	
12	Chhindwara	438	80	
13	Damoh	75	24	
14	Datia	3	0	
15	Dewas	217	30	
16	DHAR	42	78	
17	Dindori	174	7	
18	Guna	164	2	
19	Gwalior	108	13	
20	Harda	135	1	
21	Indore	130	42	
22	Jabulpur	167	48	
23	Jhabua	46	6	
24	Katni	15	43	
25	Khandwa	23	12	
26	Khargone	22	2	
27	Mandla	88	36	
28	Mandsaur	10	22	
29	Morena	145	5	
30	Nardapurm	14	25	
31	Narsinghpur	2	11	
32	Neemuch	127	14	
33	Niwari	102	2	
34	Panna	82	23	
35	Raisen	198	4	
36	Rajgarh	108	4	
37	Ratlam	9	12	
38	Rewa	140	73	
39	Sagar	18	39	
40	Satna	137	46	
41	Sehore	163	25	
42	Seoni	71	50	
43	Shahdol	283	19	
44	Shajapur	81	9	
45	Sheopur	10	10	
46	Shivpuri	78	8	
47	Sidhi	12	40	
48	Singrauli	98	3	
49	Tikamgarh	122	20	
50	Ujjain	60	36	
51	Umaria	47	12	
52	Vidisha	93	39	
	TOTAL	4702	1224	

(Source: State Govt.)