GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. $\dagger 2925$ TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 17^{TH} MARCH, 2023

SETTING UP OF MEDICAL COLLEGES

†2925. SHRI SANJAY JADHAV: DR. CHANDRA SEN JADON:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Medical Colleges established during the last five years in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, district-wise;
- (b) the present functional status of the Government Medical Colleges in the country particularly in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh:
- (c) whether the academic session in all such Medical Colleges have commenced and if so, the details thereof and if not, the time by which it is likely to be commenced;
- (d) the number of sanctioned seats for said Medical Colleges particularly in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh;
- (e) the number of Medical Colleges closed during the last five years in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, district-wise;
- (f) whether the Government proposes to re-start the closed Medical Colleges in the country and if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (g) whether the Government has any proposal to relax the criteria for minimum marks for admission in MBBS, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) to (g): The Government has increased number of medical colleges and subsequently increased MBBS seats. There is an increase of 71% in Medical Colleges from 387 before 2014 to 660 as of now. Further, there is an increase of 97% in MBBS seats from 51,348 before 2014 to 101,043 as of now, there is also an increase of 110% in PG seats from 31,185 before 2014 to

65,335 as of now, which includes, 13,246 Diplomate of National Board (DNB) / Fellowship of National Board (FNB) PG seats and 1621 PG seats in College of Physicians and Surgeons (CPS).

As per the National Medical Commission, a total of 35 Medial Colleges, including AIIMS have been established in Maharashtra (13 medical colleges) and Uttar Pradesh (22 Medical Colleges) during the last five years. The district wise details of Medical colleges established in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh during the last five years are at Annexure.

Further, there are a total of 360 functional Government Medical Colleges with 52,778 MBBS seats in the country as of now, including 30 Government Medical Colleges with 4925 seats in Maharashtra and 35 Government Medical Colleges with 4303 seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Further, as per the National Medical Commission, 02 Medical Colleges at Lucknow and Saharanpur have been closed in Uttar Pradesh during the last five years. A medical college can apply for permission for start/ re-start of MBBS course after compliance of the provisions contained in the Minimum Requirements for Annual MBBS Admissions Regulations, 2020 and Establishment of Medical College Regulations, 1999 & amendments thereto of the National Medical Commission (erstwhile Medical Council of India).

Graduate Medical Education Regulations of National Medical Commission (erstwhile Medical Council of India) provides for a single eligibility cum entrance examination namely 'National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test (NEET) for admission to MBBS course' and minimum passing marks for this exam. The said regulation also has the provision for lowering the minimum marks by the Government when sufficient number of candidates belonging to respective categories fail to secure prescribed minimum marks for any academic year.

<u>Details of Medical Colleges established in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh during the last</u> <u>five (05) years</u>

S.No.	State	District	No. of Colleges
1.	Uttar Pradesh	Gorakhpur	01
2.		Bareli	01
3.		Hardoi	01
4.		Jaunpur	01
5.		Pratapgarh	01
6.		Mirzapur	01
7.		Deoria	01
8.		Ghazipur	01
9.		Etah	01
10.		Siddharthnagar	01
11.		Fatehpur	01
12.		Kanpur	01
13.		Gautam Buddha Nagar	02
14.			
15.		Prayagraj	01
16.		Basti	01
17.		Badaun	01
18.		Ayodhya	01
19.		Shahjahanpur	01
20.		Bahraich	01
21.		Firozabad	01
22.		Meerut	01
23. 24.	Maharashtra	Nagpur	02
25.		Osmanabad	01
26.		Pune	02
27.			
28.		Sindhudurg	
29.			02
30.		Raigad	01
31.		Satara	01
32.		Alibag	01
33.		Nandurbar	01
34.		Baramati	01
35.		Jalgaon	01