GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2773 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17th MARCH, 2023

TRAUMA CENTERS

2773: DR. AMOL RAMSING KOLHE: DR. DNV SENTHIL KUMAR S :

Will the Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Trauma centres setup/proposed to be set up for treatment of the patients injured in accidents in the country, State/UT-wise including Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra;
- (b) the number of proposals pending with the Union Government for setting up of Trauma Centers in the country particularly in Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra;
- (c) the present status of such pending proposals and the time by which these are likely to be approved;
- (d) the average distance at which trauma centres are setup for providing treatment to the patients injured in accidents at present; and
- (e) the amount of funds being spent every year for providing treatment to the patients injured in accidents in the country, State/UT- wise including Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

- (a) to (d) During 11th Five Year Plan (2007-2012) and 12th Five Year Plan (2012-2017) under "National Programme for Prevention and Management of Trauma and Burn Injuries" 196 Trauma Care facilities (TCFs) were sanctioned at an average distance of 100 Km across the country. Approvals were granted on the basis of the proposals received from the States as per the norms of the scheme. There is no provision of the identification of new trauma care facilities under the aforementioned Programme beyond 12th Five Year Plan. Details of sanctioned TCFs are at Annexure –I.
- (e) No such data is maintained centrally.

Annexure- I Details of sanctioned TCFs in State/UTs under "National Programme for Prevention and Management of Trauma and Burn Injuries"		
S. No.	State	TCFs
1	Andhra Pradesh	14
2	Andaman & Nicobar	1
3	Arunachal Pradesh	4
4	Assam	7
5	Bihar	9
6	Chhattisgarh	6
7	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	1
8	Jharkhand	4
9	Jammu & Kashmir	4
10	Ladakh	1
11	Gujarat	15
12	Goa	1
13	Haryana	3
14	Himachal Pradesh	6
15	Karnataka	8
16	Kerala	6
17	Madhya Pradesh	5
18	Maharashtra	6
19	Manipur	6
20	Meghalaya	3
21	Mizoram	7
22	Nagaland	5
23	Odisha	6
24	Punjab	5
25	Rajasthan	10
26	Sikkim	4
27	Tamil Nadu	13
28	Telangana	4
29	Tripura	5
30	Uttar Pradesh	13
31	Uttarakhand	4
32	West Bengal	10