GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2694 ANSWERED ON 16.03.2023

SOLAR POWERED CITY PROGRAMME

2694. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

(a) the objectives and salient features of the development of Solar Powered City Programme (SPCP);

(b) the cities identified under SPCP across the country, State/UT-wise;

(c) the ratio by which power produced by solar energy sources in the solar powered cities has reduced the consumption of power generated by fossil fuels; and

(d) the quantum of funds sanctioned, released and utilised for the said cities from the time of declaration of these cities as solar powered cities, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a)to(d) The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has requested each State /Union Territory to select at-least one city to be developed as solar city. A concept note on developing solar city was circulated to the States/UTs with a request to finalise an action plan for development of the cities as identified as solar cities and implement the plan in a time bound manner. There is no separate fund allocation for solar city programme and the funds available under the different existing schemes can be utilized for development of solar cities. So far, 27 States/UTs have identified solar cities in their respective States/UTs. The State/UT wise list of their cities is placed as **Annexure.** At 19 % CUF, a solar power project of 1 MW capacity produces 1.66 MU of electricity.

Annexure referred in reply to part-b of Lok Sabha unstarred question no. 2694 to be answered on 16.03.2023.

S.No.	Identified Solar City	State/UT
1	Majuli	Assam
2	Bodh Gaya	Bihar
3	Rajgir	Bihar
4	Vaishali	Bihar
5	New Raipur	Chhattisgarh
6	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
7	NDMC	Delhi
8	Dwarka	Gujarat
9	Panchkula	Haryana
10	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh
11	Giridih	Jharkhand
12	Bidar	Karnataka
13	Hospet in Bellary	Karnataka
14	Thiruvananthapuram	Kerala
15	Sanchi	Madhya Pradesh
16	TURA Town of West Garo Hills	Meghalaya
17	Bhubaneswar	Odisha
18	Jaisalmer	Rajasthan
19	Pushkar	Rajasthan
20	Ayodhya	Uttar Pradesh
21	Prayagraj	Uttar Pradesh
22	Dehradoon	Uttarakhand
23	Prantik in Birbhum, Shantiniketan	West Bengal
24	Shaheed Dweep	Andaman and Nicobar
25	Amritsar	Punjab
26	Jorethang	Sikkim
27	Udaipur Town	Tripura
28	Saitual	Mizoram
29	Diu city	DNH and DD
30	Damanwada Panchayat	DNH and DD
31	Panjim	Goa
32	Dimapur	Nagaland
33	Kohima	Nagaland
34	Jammu	Jammu and Kashmir

Solar City identified by respective State/UT

_