GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Lok Sabha

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.: 2668 (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 16th March 2023)

AIRPORTS UNDER RCS

2668. SHRI MANOJ KOTAK Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION

be pleased to state:-

- (a) whether the Government proposes to develop the under developed airports under the Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS);
- (b) if so, the details of the airports developed under RCS, State/UT and yearwise during the last three years, especially in Maharashtra;
- (c) whether it is a fact that Amaravati in Maharashtra has already designated as one of the airport under RCS operations and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the details of the funds provided and pending for release along with the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

Minister of CIVIL AVIATION (Shri Jyotiraditya M. Scindia)

(a) to (d): Ministry of Civil Aviation has launched Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) - UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik) on 21-10-2016 to stimulate regional air connectivity and making air travel affordable to the masses.

Under the UDAN scheme, the unserved & underserved airports / airstrips namely Jalgaon, Kolhapur, Sholapur, Ozar (Nasik), Nanded, Amravati, Sindhudurg, Ratnagiri and Gondia have been identified / awarded in the State of Maharashtra to operate the flights. An airport which is included in the awarded routes of Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) - UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik) and requires upgradation/development for commencement of RCS operations, is developed under "Revival of unserved and underserved airports" scheme. Six airports namely Kolhapur, Jalgaon, Nanded, Nasik, Gondia and Sindhudurg have been operationalised so far, for UDAN flights in the State of Maharashtra.

The year-wise details of 74 airports operationalised under Regional Connectivity Scheme is at Annexure-A.

Amravati airport is owned by the Government of Maharashtra and identified under the UDAN scheme to operate flights. An amount of Rs. 75 crore has been sanctioned for revival/development of Amravati Airport out of which Rs. 54.84 crore has been released upto January, 2023.

Annexure-A

List of RCS Airports operationalized

S No.	State	Airport	Year
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kadapa (Underserved)(Round-1)	2017
2.		Kurnool Airport	2021
3.	Assam	Jorhat (Underserved)(Round-2)	2018
4.		Lilabari (Underserved)(Round-2)	2019
5.		Tezpur (Underserved)(Round-2)	2018
6.		Rupsi	2021
7.	Arunachal Pradesh	Tezu	2021
8.		Passighat	2021
9.		Hollongi (Round-4.3)	2023
10.	Bihar	Darbhanga(Round-1)	2020
11.	Chhattisgarh	Jagdalpur(Round-1)	2018
12.		Bilaspur (Round-1)	2021
13.	Daman & Diu	Diu (Underserved)(Round-1)	2018
14.	Gujarat	Bhavnagar (Underserved)(Round-1)	2018
15.		Jamnagar (Underserved)(Round-1)	2018
16.		Kandla(Round-1)	2017
17.		Keshod (Round-2)	2022
18.		Mundra(Round-1)	2018
19.		Porbandar (Underserved)(Round-1)	2017
20.		Statue of Unity (W) (Round-3)	2020
21.		Sabarmati River Front (W) (Round-3)	2020
22.	Haryana	Hissar (Round-2)	2021

S No.	State	Airport	Year
23.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla(Round-1)	2017
24.		Kullu (Underserved)(Round-3)	2019
25.		Mandi – Heliport (Unserved)	2021
26.		Rampur – Heliport (Unserved)	2021
27.	Jharkhand	Deoghar (Round-4.1)	2022
28.		Jamshedpur (Round-1)	2023
29.	Karnataka	Belgaum (Underserved)(Round-3)	2019
30.		Hubli (Underserved)(Round-2)	2018
31.		Mysore(Round-1)	2017
32.		Vidyanagar(Round-1)	2017
33.		Kalaburgi (Gulbarga)(Round-3)	2019
34.		Bidar(Round-1)	2020
35.	Kerala	Kannur(Round-2)	2019
36.	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior (Underserved)(Round-1)	2017
37.	Maharashtra	Gondia	2022
38.		Jalgaon(Round-1)	2017
39.		Kolhapur(Round-1)	2018
40.		Nanded(Round-1)	2017
41.		Ozar (Nasik)(Round-1)	2017
42.		Sindhudurg	2021
43.	Meghalaya	Shillong (Underserved)(Round-1)	2018
44.	Nagaland	Dimapur (Underserved)(Round-3)	2019
45.	Odisha	Jharsuguda(Round-1)	2018
46.		Jeypore (Round-1)	2022
47.		Rourkela (Round-1)	2023
48.	Pondicherry (UT)	Pondicherry (Underserved)(Round-1)	2017
49.	Punjab	Adampur(Round-1)	2018
50.		Bhatinda(Round-1)	2017
51.		Ludhiana(Round-1)	2017
52.		Pathankot(Round-1)	2018
53.	Rajasthan	Bikaner(Round-1)	2017
54.		Jaisalmer(Round-1)	2017
55.		Kishangarh(Round-2)	2018
56.	Sikkim	Pakyong(Round-2)	2018
57.	Tamil Nadu	Salem(Round-1)	2018
58.	Uttar Pradesh	Agra (Underserved)(Round-1)	2017
59.		Allahabad (Underserved)(Round-2)	2018
60.		Kanpur(Chakeri)(Round-1)	2018
61.		Hindon(Round-2)	2019
62.		Bareilly	2021
63.		Kushinagar	2021

S No.	State	Airport	Year
64.	Uttarakhand	Pantnagar (Underserved)(Round-1)	2019
65.		Pithoragarh(Round-2)	2019
66.		Sahastradhara - Heliport (Round-2)	2020
67.		Chinyalisaur – Heliport (Round-2)	2020
68.		Gaucher – Heliport (Round-2)	2020
69.		New Tehri – Heliport (Round-2)	2020
70.		Srinagar - Heliport (Round-2)	2020
71.		Haldwani – Heliport (Round-2)	2021
72.		Almora – Heliport (Round-2)	2022
73.	West Bengal	Durgapur(Underserved)(Round-1)	2019
74.		CoochBehar (Unserved) (Round-1)	2023