GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2505

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 15.03.2023

IT HUBS

2505. SHRI SAUMITRA KHAN: SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL:

Will the Minister of ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to develop Information Technology (IT) Hubs in small cities in the country particularly in West Bengal and Bihar, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to give an impetus to Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in this regard and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government in this direction so far?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAJEEV CHANDRASEKHAR)

- (a): Yes, Sir. Government of India (GoI) has taken various initiatives to promote Information Technology (IT)/ IT enabled Services (ITeS) industry across the country including small cities. Software Technology Parks of India (STPI), an autonomous society under Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY), is instrumental in taking digital technologies across the country to drive the Government's initiatives to the smaller towns. Till date, 63 STPI centres have been set-up across the country including5 centres in West Bengal at Durgapur, Haldia, Kharagpur, Kolkata and Siliguri; and 1 in Bihar at Patna. Additionally, Government of India has also approved 22 new STPI centres across the country including 2 centres in Bihar at Bhagalpur and Darbhanga. State/UT-wise list of existing and approved STPI Centres are at **Annexure-I and II.**
- (b): Yes, Sir. It has been endeavour of the GoI to put in place a liberal and transparent policy for attracting Foreign Direct Investment (FDI), wherein most of the sectors are open to FDI under the automatic route. As per extant Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) policy, 100% FDI is allowed in IT sector under automatic route (except the land border sharing country with India) subject to applicable laws/ regulations; security and other conditions. A total of Rs. 3,56,303/- Crore FDI has been committed in Computer Software and Hardware during FY 2019-2022and Rs. 63,819 Crores in the current FY 2022-2023 (till Dec, 2022).
- (c): GoI is implementing Software Technology parks of India (STP) Scheme through STPI, which is a 100% export-oriented Scheme for the development and export of computer software, including export of professional services using communication links or physical media. The export by STPI registered IT/ ITeS Units is increasing on Y-o-Y basis and is stands at \$80.3 Billion in the FY 2021-22.

Further, National Policy on Software Products (NPSP) - 2019 has been notified by the Government to promote software product ecosystem in the country. In accordance with NPSP, Government has approved the Next Generation Incubation Scheme (NGIS) with a budgetary outlay of Rs. 95.03 crore to extend incubation facilities to tech start-ups in 12 STPI centres located in small cities including one incubation facility in Bihar at Patna.

GoI had also launched India BPO Promotion Scheme (IBPS) & North East BPO Promotion Scheme (NEBPS) under Digital India Program with the aim to create employment opportunities and dispersal of IT/ITeS industry in small cities/towns by incentivize setting up of BPO/ITeS operations. The duration of IBPS and NEBPS was up to 31.03.2019 & 31.03.2020 respectively to invite new bids, however disbursements may continue beyond this period. Under these schemes 246 units have set up BPO/ITeS operations across 27 States/UTs of the country providing direct employment to 52065 persons.

Further, GoI has announced GENESIS (Gen-Next Support for Innovative Startups) to discover, support, grow and make successful startups in small cities with emphasis on collaborative engagement among startups, government and corporates for promoting digitization based on the principals of inclusivity, accessibility, affordability, leading to growth in employment and economic outputs.

Sate-wise list of existing STPI Centres

S. No	State	Centre Name
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kakinada
2.		Tirupati
3.		Vijayawada
4.		Vizag
5.	Assam	Guwahati
6.	Bihar	Patna
7.	Chhattisgarh	Bhilai
8.	Gujarat	Gandhinagar
9.		Surat
10.	Haryana	Gurgaon
11.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
12.	Jammu and Kashmir	Jammu
13.		Srinagar
14.	Jharkhand	Ranchi
15.		Deoghar
16.	Karnataka	Bengaluru
17.		Hubli
18.		Mangalore
19.		Manipal
20.		Mysore
21.		Davangere
22.	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
23.	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior
24.		Bhopal
25.		Indore
26.	Maharashtra	Aurangabad
27.		Kolhapur
28.		Nagpur
29.		Nasik
30.		Mumbai
31.		Pune
32.	Manipur	Imphal
33.	Meghalaya	Shillong
34.	Mizoram	Aizawl
35.	Odisha	Berhampur
36.		Bhubaneswar
37.		Rourkela
38.	Pondicherry	Pondicherry
39.	Punjab	Mohali
40.	Rajasthan	Jaipur
41.		Jodhpur
42.	Sikkim	Gangtok
43.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai
44.		Coimbatore
45.		Madurai
46.		Tirunelveli
47.		Trichy
48.	Telangana	Hyderabad
49.		Warangal
50.	Uttar Pradesh	Allahabad
51.		Kanpur
52.		Lucknow
53.		Noida
		110100

S. No	State	Centre Name	
54.		Meerut	
55.	Uttarakhand	Dehradun	
56.	West Bengal	Durgapur	
57.		Haldia	
58.		Kharagpur	
59.		Kolkata	
60.		Siliguri	
61.	Tripura	Agartala	
62.	Goa	Goa	
63.	Nagaland	Kohima	

Annexure-II

State-wise list of approved new STPI Centres

S.N	State	Location
1.	Madhya Pradesh	Chhindwada
2.		Jabalpur
3.	Punjab	Amritsar
4.	Jharkhand	Dhanbad
5.		Jamshedpur
6.		Bokaro
7.	Uttar Pradesh	Agra
8.		Varanasi
9.		Gorakhpur
10.		Bareilly
11.	Kerala	Kochi
12.	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar
13.	Odisha	Balasore
14.		Sambalpur
15.		Jajpur
16.		Angul
17.		Koraput (Jeypore)
18.	Bihar	Darbhanga
19.		Bhagalpur
20.	Haryana	Panchkula
21.	Gujarat	Bhavnagar
22.	Himachal Pradesh	Kangra