GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2460 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15^{TH} MARCH, 2023

5G SERVICES

2460. SHRI RAVNEET SINGH BITTU:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the total number of cities where the 5G services have been rolled out since its launch in October, 2022, State/UT-wise and especially in the State of Punjab;
- (b) whether the indigenous 4G/5G technology stack is now ready and is going to help the country to be a major tech exporter in the near future;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether population scale solutions are being tested on Indian stack, across platforms such as payments, healthcare and identity; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof in providing comprehensive and complete solutions?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

- (a) 5G services have been rolled out in 329 cities distributed across all Licensed Service Areas (LSAs) (**Annexure-I**). In the State of Punjab, 5G services have been rolled out in 8 cities.
- (b) & (c) Yes Sir. Center for Development of Telematics (C-DoT) and Reliance Jio Infocomm Ltd (RJIL) have developed indigenous 4G/5G technology stack. The Proof of Concept of C-DoT's 4G technology stack has been successfully carried out in BSNL network. RJIL's stack is being extensively deployed in rolling out of its 5G network. These indigenous technology stacks may be exported to other countries in future.
- (d) & (e) Population scale solutions are being tested on Indian 4G/5G indigenous stacks across the platforms such as healthcare, agriculture, smart manufacturing, education, gaming, drones etc.

Annexure-I

Annexure referred to in part (a) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2460 to be answered on 15.03.2023

List of cities where 5G services have been started as on 28.02.2023:

Sl no	State/UT	No of Cities
1	Andhra Pradesh	27
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1
3	Assam	10
4	Bihar	16
5	Chandigarh	1
6	Chhattisgarh	10
7	Daman & Diu Dadar Nagar & Haveli	1
8	Delhi	1
9	Goa	2
10	Gujarat	37
11	Haryana	12
12	Himachal Pradesh	6
13	Jammu & Kashmir	9
14	Jharkhand	8
15	Karnataka	24
16	Kerala	12
17	Madhya Pradesh	11
18	Maharashtra	23
19	Manipur	2
20	Meghalaya	1
21	Mizoram	1
22	Nagaland	2
23	Odisha	20
24	Puducherry	1
25	Punjab	8
26	Rajasthan	10
27	Sikkim	1
28	Tamil Nadu	20
29	Telangana	13
30	Tripura	1
31	Uttar Pradesh	20
32	Uttarakhand	9
33	West Bengal	9
