GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2082

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 14TH MARCH, 2023/ PHALGUNA 23, 1944 (SAKA)

INCLUSION OF LANGUAGES IN EIGHTH SCHEDULE OF THE CONSTITUTION

†2082. SHRI NABA KUMAR SARANIA: SHRI TIRATH SINGH RAWAT:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the languages included in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India;
- (b) whether the Government has any proposal to include more languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India;
- (c) if so, the details and the number of languages are likely to be included in Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India including Garhwali and Kumaoni;
- (d) the details of the proposals received from various States for inclusion of their languages along with the dates since when they are sending these proposals, State and language-wise; and
- (e) the time by which all the pending languages are likely to be included including Garhwali and Kumaoni?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) to (e): A total of 22 languages of India are included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India. The details of date on which recognition has been granted to each of the languages included in the Eighth Schedule are as under:-

- (i) 14 languages viz. Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu were initially included in the Constitution i.e. on 26.01.1950.
- (ii) Sindhi language was included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution on 10.04.1967.
- (iii) Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali languages were included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution on 31.08.1992.
- (iv) Bodo, Dogri, Maithili & Santhali languages were included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution on 07.01.2004.

There have been demands from time to time for inclusion of several languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution including Garhwali and Kumaoni. These are as under:-

(1) Angika, (2) Banjara, (3) Bazika, (4) Bhojpuri, (5) Bhoti, (6) Bhotia, (7) Bundelkhandi (8) Chhattisgarhi, (9) Dhatki, (10) English, (11) Garhwali (Pahari), (12) Gondi, (13) Gujjar/Gujjari (14) Ho, (15) Kachachhi, (16) Kamtapuri, (17) Karbi, (18) Khasi, (19) Kodava (Coorg), (20) Kok Barak, (21) Kumaoni (Pahari), (22) Kurak, (23) Kurmali, (24) Lepcha, (25) Limbu, (26) Mizo (Lushai), (27) Magahi, (28) Mundari, (29) Nagpuri, (30) Nicobarese, (31) Pahari (Himachali), (32) Pali, (33) Rajasthani, (34) Sambalpuri/Kosali, (35) Shaurseni (Prakrit), (36) Siraiki, (37) Tenyidi and (38) Tulu.

Many of these languages are spoken in several States and therefore, their use is not restricted by State boundaries. As the evolution of dialects and languages is a dynamic process, influenced by socio-cultural, economic and political developments, it is difficult to fix any criterion for languages for inclusion in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. The Government is conscious of the sentiments and requirements for inclusion of other languages in the Eighth Schedule. Such requests have to be considered keeping in mind these sentiments, and the other relevant considerations.

At present, there are no fixed criteria for any language to be considered for inclusion in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution and therefore, no time-frame can be fixed for consideration of the demands for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.
