# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1296 ANSWERED ON 09.02.2023

# **GENERATION OF CLEAN ELECTRICITY**

## **†1296. SHRI DULAL CHANDRA GOSWAMI:**

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Union Government is contemplating/has contemplated the possibility of generation of clean electricity from methane and Carbon-dioxide gas as a step towards green electricity;

(b) if so, the names of the places where such plants have been set up or likely to be set up; and

(c) whether such plants are working properly and if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

# THE MINISTER OF POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) & (b): The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy has notified the National Bioenergy Programme for a period 01.04.2021 to 31.03.2026 with an outlay of Rs.858 crore under Phase-I. The National Bioenergy Programme comprises the following subschemes:

- i. Waste to Energy Programme
- ii. Biomass Programme
- iii. Biogas Programme

Waste to Energy Programme and Biogas Programme, inter-alia, supports setting up of plants for generation of electricity based on biogas. Biogas is a mixture of gases, primarily methane and carbon-dioxide.

State-wise list of places where such plants have been set up are given at Annexure.

(c): The technologies for the generation of electricity from Biogas are well established and with sustained supply of requisite quality feedstock and proper operation & maintenance on regular basis, these plants can run properly and efficiently.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1296 ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 09.02.2023

\*\*\*\*\*

# State-wise details of installed capacity of Bio-gas to Power Projects set up in the country, as on 31.12.2022:

| SI. No.    | States         | No. of projects | Districts where in the projects are located |
|------------|----------------|-----------------|---|
|            |                |                 | in the State                                |
| 1.         | Andhra Pradesh | 12              | East Godavari, Krishna                      |
|            |                |                 | West Godavari                               |
|            |                |                 | Vizianagaram, isakhapatnam                  |
| 2.         | Chhattisgarh   | 1               | Rajnandgaon                                 |
| 3.         | Gujarat        | 10              | Sabarkantha                                 |
|            |                |                 | Rajkot                                      |
|            |                |                 | Navangapura                                 |
|            |                |                 | Bharuch                                     |
|            |                |                 | Surat                                       |
|            |                |                 | Ahmedabad                                   |
|            |                |                 | Kutch                                       |
| 4.         | Haryana        | 3               | Palwal                                      |
|            |                |                 | Panipat<br>Jind                             |
| 5.         | <b>K</b>       |                 | Jind<br>Haveri                              |
| 5.         | Karnataka      | 5               |   |
|            |                |                 | Belgaum<br>Mandya                           |
| 6.         |                |                 | Mandya                                      |
|            | Madhya Pradesh | 4               | Raisen                                      |
|            | maunya Pradesh | -               | Jabalpur                                    |
| 7.         | Maharashtra    | 16              | Nanded                                      |
| <i>'</i> . | manarasitta    | 10              | Aurangabad                                  |
|            |                |                 | Sangli                                      |
|            |                |                 | Jalgaon                                     |
|            |                |                 | Solapur                                     |
|            |                |                 | Dhule                                       |
|            |                |                 | Solapur                                     |
|            |                |                 | Sangli                                      |
|            |                |                 | Ahmednagar                                  |
|            |                |                 | Raigad                                      |
| 8.         | Punjab         | 7               | Patiala                                     |
|            |                |                 | Muktsar                                     |
|            |                |                 | Pathankot                                   |
|            |                |                 | Ludhiana                                    |
|            |                |                 | Fazilka                                     |
| 9.         | Rajasthan      | 1               | Alwar                                       |
| 10.        | Tamil Nadu     | 6               | Salem                                       |
|            |                |                 | Namakkal                                    |
|            |                |                 | Chennai                                     |
|            |                |                 | Tiruchirapalli                              |
|            |                |                 | Cuddalore                                   |
| 11.        | Telangana      | 4               | Khammam                                     |
|            |                |                 | Nalgonda                                    |
|            |                |                 | Nizamabad                                   |
|            |                |                 | Warangal                                    |
| 12.        | Uttar Pradesh  | 26              | Basti                                       |
|            |                |                 | Ghaziabad                                   |
|            |                |                 | Rampur                                      |
|            |                |                 | Lakhimpur Kheri                             |
|            |                |                 | Moradabad                                   |
|            |                |                 | Muzaffarnagar                               |
|            |                |                 | Faizabad<br>Gorakhpur                       |
|            |                |                 | Goraknpur<br>Saharanpur                     |
|            |                |                 | -   |
|            |                |                 | Bijnor<br>Bulandshahar                      |
|            |                |                 | Sitapur                                     |
|            |                | 1               | Sitapur                                     |
|            |                |                 | Lucknow                                     |
| 13.        | Uttarakhand    | 2               | Lucknow<br>Udhamsingh Nagar                 |