GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 121 ANSWERED ON 02.02.2023

SETTING UP OF SOLAR CITIES

121. SHRI VIJAY BAGHEL SHRI ARUN SAO SHRI PARTHIBAN S.R.

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the works done for setting up of solar cities during the last five years and the current year, State-wise including Chhattisgarh and Tamil Nadu;

(b) the quantum of funds allocated, sanctioned and utilised for setting up of solar cities during the said period, State-wise;

(c) whether the Government proposes to increase the allocation of funds to set up solar city in Chhattisgarh and Tamil Nadu and if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and

(d) whether the Government has any plans or proposals to set up more solar cities across the country and if so, the details thereof, State-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) to (d) Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has requested all States/UTs to identify at least one city to be developed as Solar city. So far, 26 States/UTs have identified cities to be developed as solar cities. The details are given at **Annexure**. The State of Chhattisgarh has identified New Raipur city to be developed as solar city and the State of Tamil Nadu is yet to communicate about the city to be developed as solar city.

There is no separate scheme being implemented for development of solar cities and states/UTs have been advised to implement existing schemes of Government such as Rooftop Solar Programme Phase-II, etc., for development of solar cities.

Annexure referred to part (a) to (d) of the Lok Sabha unstarred question No. 121 to be answered on 02.02.2023

S.No.	State	Solar City
1	Assam	Majuli
2	Bihar	Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, Vaishali
3	Chhattisgarh	New Raipur
4	Delhi	NDMC
5	Gujarat	Dwarka
6	Haryana	Panchkula
7	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
8	Jharkhand	Giridih
9	Karnataka	Hospet in Bellary and Bidar
10	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
11	Madhya Pradesh	Sanchi
12	Meghalaya	TURA Town of West Garo Hills
13	Odisha	Bhubaneswar
14	Rajasthan	Pushkar and Jaisalmer
15	Uttar Pradesh	Ayodhya and Prayag Raj
16	Uttarakhand	Dehradoon
17	West Bengal	Prantik in Birbhum, Shantiniketan
18	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	Shaheed Dweep
19	Punjab	Amritsar
20	Sikkim	Jorethang
21	Tripura	Udaipur Town
22	Mizoram	Saitual
23	Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli	Diu city, Diu and Damanwada Panchayat, Daman
24	Goa	Panjim
25	Nagaland	Kohima & Dimapur
26	Jammu and Kashmir	Jammu

Cities identified by States/UTs to be developed as solar cities