# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1175 ANSWERED ON 09.02.2023

#### **DUES OF DISCOMS**

1175. SHRI MOHAN MANDAVI: SHRI DILIP SAIKIA: SHRI SUDHAKAR TUKARAM SHRANGARE: SHRI ARUN SAO: SHRI RANJEETSINGH HINDURAO NAIK NIMBALKAR: SHRI DEVJI M. PATEL: SHRI VIJAY BAGHEL: SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the total dues of power distribution companies (DISCOMs) towards generation companies (GENCOS) at present, State/UT-wise including Jharkhand, Rajasthan and North-Eastern Region;

(b) whether the Government proposes to invoke the relevant provisions of tripartite agreement among the Centre, RBI and States to recover the dues by deducting the outstanding amount from the concerned State's share of taxes;

(c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and

(d) the remedial steps taken/proposed to be taken by the Government in this regard?

## ANSWER

# THE MINISTER OF POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a): As per the information available on PRAAPTI portal, the total dues of power distribution companies (DISCOMs) towards supplier (i.e. Independent Power Producer (IPP), Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSE) & Renewable Energy (RE) Generators) as on 30.01.2023 are:-

SI. No.	Particular	Amount in Rs. Crore
1	Balance Legacy Dues (after payment of 6 EMIs)	1,01,158.66
2	Current Dues ( Excluding Disputed and before default trigger date)	34,359.18
3	Overdues excluding Disputed after default trigger date	25.20

The State/UT-wise details of total dues furnished by DISCOMs and PRAAPTI Portal as on 30.01.2023 are given at Annexure.

(b) & (c) : In cases of persistent and continuing default in payment of dues, Central Government invokes the Tri-Partite Agreement (TPA) among Centre, RBI and State Government to recover the dues.

(d): Recognizing the cash flow problems arising out of outstanding receivables of Generating Companies from DISCOMs and in order to enforce payment discipline in the power sector value chain, Government of India promulgated Electricity (Late Payment Surcharge and Related Matters) Rules, 2022 on 3<sup>rd</sup> June, 2022. These rules entail obligations upon the DISOCMs to clear their legacy dues as existing on 03.06.2022 in a time bound phased manner in equated monthly installments with benefits of non applicability of late payment surcharge after 03.06.2022. These rules also provide framework for time bound clearance of current dues through establishment of a Payment Security Mechanism and disincentives of progressive withdrawal of open access as well as power regulations if the provisions of the Rules are not followed. DISCOMs can avail loans from PFC Ltd. and REC Ltd. to clear their legacy dues to Generating Companies.

Under the Revamped Distribution Sector Scheme (RDSS) launched by Government of India, compliance to LPS Rules by Discoms been prescribed under the Result Evaluation Framework for evaluating the DISCOMs for availing financial assistance under the scheme.

Further, Ministry of Power, has introduced additional prudential guidelines for sanctioning of working capital loans to State DISCOMs/ TRANSCOs/ GENCOs. These essentially entail that loans to DISCOMs and other State owned utilities would be contingent to their performance against prescribed conditions. The prudential norms, among other conditions, include compliance to LPS Rules by Discoms. The Ministry of Power has also requested all other FIs/ Banks to adopted and implement the Revised Additional Prudential Norms for working capital loan to DISCOMS/ TRANSCOs/ GENCOs.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1175 ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 09.02.2023

#### \*\*\*\*\*\*

SI. No.	State	DISCOMs	Amount in Rs. Crores		
			Legacy Dues	Current Dues (Excluding Disputed and before default trigger date)	Overdues Excluding Disputed After Trigger Date
1	Andhra Pradesh	Andhra Pradesh Central Power Distribution Company Limited	- 8,568.37	28.48	-
		Andhra Pradesh Eastern Power Distribution Company Limited		53.86	-
		Andhra Pradesh Power Purchase Coordination Committee		945.03	0.13
		Andhra Pradesh Southern Power Distribution Company Limited		251.45	0.09
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Arunachal Power Distribution Department	-	52.37	-
3	Assam	Assam Power Distribution Company Limited	-	507.77	-
	Bihar	North Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd.	214.76	885.14	-
4		South Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd.	273.58	1,056.67	-
5	Chandigarh	Chandigarh Electricity Department	-	7.17	0.02
6	Chhattisgarh	Chhattisgarh State Power Distribution Company Limited	3,537.70	844.74	0.00
	Delhi	BSES Rajdhani Power Limited	-	283.70	-
7		BSES Yamuna Power Limited	-	62.62	-
		Delhi Tata Power Distribution Limited	-	436.13	-
		The New Delhi Municipal Council	-	0.84	-
8	DNH & DD	Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Power Distribution Corporation Limited	-	265.53	-
9	Goa	Goa Power Department	-	56.27	-
10	Gujarat	Gujarat Urja Vikas Nigam Limited	-	2,709.84	0.00
11	Haryana	Haryana Power Purchase Centre	-	1,099.14	0.00
12	Himachal Pradesh	Himachal Pradesh State Electricity Board Limited	-	199.65	-
13	Jammu and Kashmir	Jammu And Kashmir State Power Trading Company Limited	10,081.44	376.76	0.06
14	Jharkhand	Jharkhand Bijli Vitran Nigam Limited	4,420.20	450.53	-

## State/UT-wise details of total dues available from DISCOMs and PRAAPTI Portal as on 30.01.2023

			T		1
		Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.	6,274.50	1,162.09	0.22
	Karnataka	Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation Limited	1,091.80	245.24	-
15		Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company Ltd.	1,761.68	329.56	-
		Hubli Electricity Supply Company Ltd.	2,077.96	530.25	0.24
		Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.	109.62	23.18	-
16	Kerala	Kerala State Electricity Board Limited	-	872.15	12.13*
17	Madhya Pradesh	Madhya Pradesh Power Management Co Ltd	7,224.67	2,330.93	0.01
		Best Undertaking	-	2.14	-
18	Maharashtra	Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Co. Ltd	14,963.44	3,738.74	0.00
19	Manipur	Manipur State Power Distribution Company Limited	80.63	64.11	0.03
20	Meghalaya	Meghalaya Power Distribution Corporation Limited	-	75.81	-
21	Mizoram	Mizoram Power Department	-	54.60	12.49**
22	Nagaland	Nagaland Power Department	-	56.50	-
23	Odisha	Grid Corporation of Odisha	-	627.18	-
24	Puducherry	Puducherry Power Department	-	189.78	-
25	Punjab	Punjab State Power Corporation Limited	-	1,699.22	-
	Rajasthan	Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.	2,343.60	699.38	-
26		Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.	5,523.18	1,038.92	-
		Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.	5,177.77	890.19	-
27	Sikkim	Sikkim Power Department	-	7.49	-
28	Tamil Nadu	Tamil Nadu Generation & Distribution Corporation Limited	14,752.71	4,132.46	-
	Telangana	Telangana State Northern Power Distribution Company	2,035.51	344.67	-
29		Telangana State Southern Power Distribution Company	4,897.53	1,179.02	-
30	Tripura	Tripura State Electricity Corporation Limited	-	135.11	-
31	Uttar Pradesh	Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Ltd	5,748.00	3,962.55	-
32	Uttarakhand	Uttarakhand Power Corporation Limited	-	47.96	-
		Damodar Valley Corporation	-	65.28	-
33	West Bengal	West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd.	-	559.79	-

\*State of Kerala paid the overdue amount and is presently not under regulation as per the rules

\*\*State of Mizoram is under regulation as per the rules