### Government of India Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution Department of Consumer Affairs

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1094 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.02.2023

### **INCREASE IN PRODUCTION OF PULSES**

#### 1094. SHRI PARVESH SAHIB SINGH VERMA:

# Will the Minister of CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION उपभोक्ता मामले, खाद्य और सार्वजनिक वितरण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware of pre and the post-harvest losses in the case of various pulses ranging from 4.3% to 6.1%, if so, the steps being taken by the Government for the modernization of pulses processing plants to reduce post-harvest losses;
- (b) the steps taken by the Government to increase the pulses production as the average yield of all pulses is less when compared to the world average; and
- (c) whether the Government has put any efforts to expand the area of pulses in rice fallows available in eastern and southern States, if so, the details thereof?

### ANSWER

# उपभोक्ता मामले, खाद्य और सार्वजनिक वितरण राज्य मंत्री (साध्वी निरंजन ज्योति)

## THE MINISTER OF STATE CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION (SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI)

(a) : The Ministry of Food Processing Industries (MoFPI) is mandated to create post-harvest infrastructure and processing facilities, *inter-alia*, to boost the overall development of the food processing sector including reduction in post-harvest losses; create off farm employment, and enhance value addition and exports of processed food. MoFPI has commissioned studies on post-harvest losses in various agriculture commodities through (i) Indian Council of Agricultural Research-Central Institute of Post-Harvest Engineering and Technology (ICAR-CIPHET) in 2015, and (ii) NABARD Consultancy Service Pvt. Ltd (NABCONS) in 2022.

The Ministry of Food Processing Industries (MoFPI) implements the Pradhan Mantri Kisan SAMPADA Yojana (PMKSY) as a comprehensive package for creation of modern infrastructure with efficient supply chain management from farm gate to retail outlet. The PMKSY had seven component schemes viz; (i) Mega Food Parks, (ii) Integrated Cold Chain and Value Addition Infrastructure, (iii) Infrastructure for Agro-Processing Clusters, (iv) Creation of Backward and Forward Linkages, (v) Creation/Expansion of Food Processing & Preservation Capacities, (vi) Food Safety and Quality Assurance Infrastructure and (vii) Human Resources and Institutions.

(b) : To increase pulses production, the Department of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare (DAFW) implements the National Food Security Mission Programme (NFSM) in identified districts across the country. The NFSM-Pulses is being implemented in 644 districts of 28 States and 2 Union Territories of the country (J&K and Ladakh). Under NFSM-Pulses assistance is given to farmers for interventions like cluster demonstrations on improved package of practices, demonstrations on cropping system, distribution of seeds of High Yielding Varieties (HYVs)/ hybrids, improved farm machineries/ resource conservation machineries/ tools, efficient water application tools, plant protection measures, nutrient management/ soil ameliorants, processing and post-harvest equipments, cropping system based trainings to the farmers etc. through State Governments. In addition, the certified seeds of High Yielding Varieties (HYVs)/ hybrids of pulses are provided in the form the seed minikits free of cost to the farmers.

(c) : Under National Food Security Mission (NFSM) Programme, the Targeting Rice Fallow Area (TRFA)-Pulses is being implemented in 11 States of the country which gives emphasis on land that remains underutilized after harvesting of Kharif paddy crops and aims to bring a change in the cropping pattern during Rabi season by introducing appropriate varieties of pulses that can be cultivated using available moisture. It is being implemented through a combination of innovative technological interventions and provision of essential agri-inputs including extension services in 11 TRFA implementing States. TRFA Programme was initiated in the year 2016-17 in 6 States namely, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha and West Bengal. The coverage was expanded to 5 new States namely, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu during 2019-20.

\*\*\*\*\*