# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

## LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION No. 158 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13.02.2023

#### **Air Pollution in Rural Areas**

#### \*158. SHRI RAMDAS C. TADAS:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether air pollution in the rural areas has increased due to industrial expansion in the country;
- (b) if so, whether any study about the impact of air pollution has been conducted in rural areas; and
- (c) if so, the details of the measures taken or proposed to be taken by the Government to raise awareness about air pollution among the common people in the rural areas?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI BHUPENDER YADAV)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

# STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARAS (a) TO (c) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 158 DUE FOR REPLY ON 13.02.2023 REGARDING 'AIR POLLUTION IN RURAL AREAS' RAISED BY SHRI RAMDAS C. TADAS, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT

(a)to (c)

Air Pollution is primarily an urban phenomenon as most of anthropogenic activities in the urban areas, arising from various sectors viz. vehicular pollution, industrial pollution, dust from construction and demolition project activities, road and open areas dust, biomass burning, municipal solid waste burning, fires in sanitary landfills and air pollution from dispersed sources, bursting of fire crackers etc.

Source apportionment (SA) and Emission Inventory (EI) studies are carried out to identify various factors contributing to air pollution and to estimate their contribution to pollutant emissions and concentrations.

Government has launched National Clean Air Programme (NCAP) in 2019 as a national level strategy to reduce air pollution levels across the country. Under NCAP, it has been proposed to set up 100 manual monitoring stations in rural areas by Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) and State Pollution Control Boards (SPCBs) by 2024.

Ambient air quality monitoring network of country presently has 1326 stations (Manual + CAAQM Stations) covering 478 cities in 28 States and 7 Union Territories. Wherein Ambient air quality is being monitored by manual monitoring in 26 locations covering 26 villages in 1 state (Punjab) and 1 UT (Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli). The ambient air quality status of the villages during 2019 to 2021 reveals that SO2 and NO2 in all the villages were within the national standard in all the three years, however, nearly all the villages exceed the standard for PM10. The same is given as Annexure. In the current Financial Year - 2022-23, each SPCB/PCC has been requested to plan 10 rural stations in each state for funding under NAMP. Further, Under NCAP, workshops and seminars are conducted on regular basis for awareness about air pollution.

\*\*\*\*

## Annexure

# Ambient air quality in rural area during 2020 (Manual monitoring)

	Village	Annual average (μg/m <sup>3</sup> )											
State / Union Territory		2019				2020				2021			
		SO <sub>2</sub>	NO <sub>2</sub>	PM <sub>10</sub>	PM <sub>2.5</sub>	SO <sub>2</sub>	NO <sub>2</sub>	<b>PM</b> <sub>10</sub>	PM <sub>2.5</sub>	SO <sub>2</sub>	NO <sub>2</sub>	<b>PM</b> <sub>10</sub>	PM <sub>2.5</sub>
Dadara& Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu (UT)	Baldevi (Dadra & Nagar Haveli)	16	17	65	25	11	15	68	23	13	17	71	26
	Patlara (Daman)	15	17	63	23	10	14	64	22	13	19	72	26
Punjab	Aligarh (Jagraon)	6	17	73		5	15	34		8	16	76	
	AspalKhurd (Tapa)	5	12	107		7	15	116		7	19	106	
	Bara Pind (Goraya)	7	20	150		6	17	94		7	17	87	
	Binjon (Garshankar)	7	14	102		6	19	118		6	15	81	
	Bishanpura (Payal)	10	21	137		9	22	142		8	20	137	
	Changal (Sangrur)	5	13	105		6	15	115		6	16	99	
	Chowkimann (Jagraon)	7	19	68		8	20	94		7	16	182	
	Fatehpur (Samana)	5	11	95		6	18	98		6	17	91	
	Guru Ki Dhab (Kotkapura)	5	13	124		5	13	125		4	11	91	
	JaitoSarja (Batala)	6	14	60		5	13	78		6	14	70	
	Kharaori (Sirhind)	6	13	100		7	17	99		6	19	92	
	Kotladoom (Ajnala)	7	13	128		7	15	89		8	15	111	
	LakhokeBehram (Ferozpur)	4	8	114		5	10	122		4	15	91	
	MrarKalan (Muktsar)	5	14	111		4	9	88					
	Mukandpur (Nawashahar)	8	17	134		9	20	119		7	18	104	
	Mureedke (Batala)	7	12	87		7	25	83		6	16	85	
	Naudhrani (Malerkotla)	5	13	108		6	16	111		5	17	95	
	Peer Mohammad (Jalalabad)	5	12	102		5	13	135		4	11	85	
	Poohli (Bhatinda)	5	15	114		4	9	89					
	QilaBharian (Sangrur)	5	13	104		6	15	105		5	16	94	
	Rakhra (Patiala)	5	12	98		7	17	102		6	18	90	
	Rohila (Samrala)	10	20	159		8	22	151		8	17	119	
	Subanpur (Dhilwan)												
	Tirathpur (Amritsar I)	7	13	93		7	14	98		8	18	128	