GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 849 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12.12.2022

NATIONAL MISSION ON CULTURAL MAPPING

849. Shri Nalin Kumar Kateel:

Will the Minister of **Culture** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has undertaken a National Mission on Cultural Mapping (NMCM) of the country;
- (b) whether it is a fact that 80 villages have been identified for this purpose on pilot basis;
- (c) if so, the details of villages identified, State-wise, with a particular reference to Karnataka;
- (d) the details of database that Government is planning to build under the above mission; and
- (e) the progress of mapping villages and details of plans to achieve mapping of 5000 villages?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF CULTURE, TOURISM AND DEVELOPMENT OF NORTH EASTERN REGION (SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

- (a) Yes, Sir.
- (b)&(c) 80 villages were identified initially for the pilot study. The State-wise details of villages including the four villages from the State of Karnataka identified for the pilot study are at **Annexure**.
- (d) The database of the mission is based on the following constituents:
 - i. National register and interactive database of artists and art practices from the villages of India.
 - ii. National directories of artists and art practices.
 - iii. Unique identification code for the artists.
 - iv. E-commerce platform.
 - v. Single cultural service provider platform for all the welfare schemes of Government of India for artists and artisans of the country..
 - vi. Virtual museum of villages showing their arts, crafts and culture.
- (e) The mapping of more than 12000 villages has already been done so far.

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (b) & (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 849 for 12.12.2022

State-wise details of villages identified for the Pilot Study

S. No.	Name of State	Villages
1.	Jammu & Kashmir	Pandrenthan
2.	Leh Ladakh	Alchi
3.		Choglamasar
4.	Himachal Pradesh	Suketi
5.	Punjab	Khatkar Kalan
6.		Ramnagar Bakshiwala
7.	Haryana	Bhaini Marajpur
8.	Uttarakhand	Lohana
9.		Raini
10.		Rauteli Mara
11.		Jageshwar
12.		Chitai Tiwari
13.		Khunt
14.	Delhi	Hiranki
15.	Uttar Pradesh	Barsana

16.		
10.		Bateshwar (not received)
17.		Bhojla
18.		Shringverpur
19.		Badlapur/ Sarokhanpur
20.		Lamhi
21.		Nagwa
22.		Mohammadpur
23.		Paina
24.	Madhya Pradesh	Jhiri
25.		Laxmani
26.	Chhattisgarh	Kusma
27.		Kandel
28.	Jharkhand	Ulihatu
29.		Chingri Nawatoli
30.		Narayanpur
31.		Kumardubi
32.		Molela
33.		Samrau
34.	Rajasthan	Tiloniya
35.		Deo Khera
36.		Shri Kolayat

37.	Gujarat	Sander
38.		Unai
39.		Khavda
40.		Karshanpura
41.	Maharashtra	Chikalgaon/Chikali
42.		Shani Shingapur
43.		Achalpur
44.		Pavnar
45.	Goa	Cuncolim
46.	Andhra Pradesh	Mogallu
47.		Budnathpalli
48.		Cheriyal
49.	Telangana	Polampally
50.		Vidurashwatha
51.	Karnataka	Mattur
52.		Deshanur
53.		Akkigund
54.	Kerala	Kanjirapally
55.	Tamil Nadu	Ettayapuram
56.		Thiruchigadi
57.	Bihar	Kathautiya

58.	Odisha	Raghurajpur
59.		Khinda
60.		Kanmari
61.	West Bengal	Mohabani
62.		Kalagachhia
63.	Arunachal Pradesh	Daring
64.		Asharikandi
65.		Gormur
66.	Assam	Balijan
67.		Ramraikuti
68.		Junbeel
69.	Manipur	Puiluan
70.		Rakmanpara
71.	Meghalaya	Naratiang
72.		Nongiri
73.	Nagaland	Khonoma
74.		Kisma
75.	Sikkim	U Mangshila
76.		Tareythang
77.	Tripura	Gandacherra
78.		Lankamura

79.	Lakshadweep	Minicoy Island
80.	Puducherry	Kakkyanthope