GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 45 TO BE ANSWERED ON: 07.12.2022

NATIONAL SUPERCOMPUTING MISSION

45. SHRI VISHNU DATT SHARMA SHRI VINOD L. CHAVDA

Will the Minister of ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) the current status of outcomes achieved in "National Supercomputing Mission", launched in 2015, in relation to its mandate of connecting national academic and R&D institutions with a grid of more than 70 high-performance computing facilities and skilling of 20000 manpower in the field by 2022;
- (b): whether it is a fact that in the top 500 supercomputers of the world, China has listed 173 supercomputers and India has just 3 supercomputers in the list; and
- (c): if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAJEEV CHANDRASEKHAR)

(a): Under the National Supercomputing Mission (NSM), Supercomputers have been deployed at 20 institutions with total capacity of 24 Petaflops (10^{15}) till date (List attached). 100 institutions are connected to these systems over National Knowledge Network (NKN). 17500 manpower have been skilled till date.

(b): India has 3 Supercomputers in Top500 list of Supercomputers of the world.

- (c): Following 3 supercomputers are listed in the November 2020 top 500 list:
 - 1. PARAM Siddhi-AI at C-DAC Pune built under NSM Rank 122
 - 2. Pratyush at Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM), Pune-Rank 143
 - 3. Mihir at National Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasting (NCMRWF) Rank 277

Annexure

Sr. No.	Institute Name	HPC System Name	Computing Power	Year of Commissioning
1.	IIT(BHU), Varanasi	PARAM Shivay	838TF	2019
2.	IISER, Pune	PARAM Brahma	1.7PF	2020
3.	IIT, Kharagpur	PARAM Shakti	1.66PF	2020
4.	JNCASR, Bangalore	PARAM Yukti	1.8PF	2020
5.	IIT, Kanpur	PARAM Sanganak	1.66PF	2020
6.	C-DAC, Pune	PARAM Siddhi	5.2PF/210PF	2020
			(AI)	
7.	IIT, Hyderabad	PARAM Seva	838TF	2021
8.	NABI, Mohali	PARAM Smriti	838TF	2021
9.	C-DAC, Bangalore	PARAM Utkarsh	838TF	2021
10.	IISc, Bangalore	PARAM Pravega	3.3PF	2022
11.	IIT, Roorkee	PARAM Ganga	1.66PF	2022
12.	IIT, Gandhinagar	PARAM Ananta	838TF	2022
13.	NIT, Trichy	PARAM Porul	838TF	2022
14.	IIT, Guwahati	PARAM Kamrupa	838TF	2022
15.	IIT, Mandi	PARAM Himalaya	838TF	2022

NSM SYSTEMS

Phase-1 and Phase-2 (15 Nos):

Param Vidya Systems under NSM HRD (5 Nos):

Sr. No.	Institute Name	HPC System Name	Computing Power	Year of Commissioning
16.	C-DAC, Pune	Param Vidya	52.3 TF	2022
17.	IIT, Kharagpur	Param Vidya	52.3 TF	2022
18.	IIT, Palakkad	Param Vidya	52.3 TF	2022
19.	IIT, Chennai	Param Vidya	52.3 TF	2022
20.	IIT, Goa	Param Vidya	52.3 TF	2022
