GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2501 TO BE ANSWERED ON 21st DECEMBER, 2022

NEW POST OFFICES

†2501. SHRI SUKHBIR SINGH JAUNAPURIA:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government proposes to open new post offices across the Country, if so, the details thereof;

(b) the number of post offices opened during the last five years, State-wise;

(c) the details of number of post offices opened in Rajasthan during the last five years;

(d) whether the Government proposes to open a new post office in Mitrapura Panchayat of Bauli Panchayat Samiti in district Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan; and

(e) if so, the time by which it is likely to open?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

(a) Opening of new post offices is an ongoing process. New post offices are opened through redeployment of posts and relocation of post offices to increase access to postal network in needy and justified areas based on norms. In addition, new post offices have been opened in Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected areas by creation of new posts.

(b) During last 5 (five) years, 5639 post offices have been opened in the country. Postal Circlewise details (including States and Union Territories) are given in **Annexure**.

(c) The number of post offices opened in Rajasthan during last five years is given in **Annexure**.

(d) & (e) There is no proposal for opening of new post office in Mitrapura Panchayat of Bauli Panchayat Samiti, district Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, as a Branch Post Office is already functioning there.

Annexure referred to in reply to Part (b) & Part (c) for Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.
2501 to be answered on 21st December, 2022 regarding "New Post Offices".

Sl No.	Name of the Postal Circle	Number of post offices opened in last 5 years
1	Andhra Pradesh	354
2	Assam	7
3	Bihar	268
4	Chhattisgarh	1142
5	Delhi	11
6	Gujarat (including Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu)	73
7	Haryana	16
8	Himachal Pradesh	12
9	Jammu and Kashmir (including Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir and Union Territory of Ladakh)	5
10	Jharkhand	909
11	Karnataka	46
12	Kerala (including Union Territory of Lakshadweep)	13
13	Madhya Pradesh	530
14	Maharashtra (including Goa)	860
15	North-East (including Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram and Nagaland)	9
16	Odisha	338
17	Punjab (including Union Territory of Chandigarh)	38
18	Rajasthan	60
19	Tamil Nadu (including Union Territory of Puducherry)	40
20	Telangana	517
21	Uttar Pradesh	365
22	Uttarakhand	13
23	West Bengal (including Sikkim and Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands)	13
	Grand Total	5639
