# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

#### **LOK SABHA**

## **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 2172**

ANSWERED ON 20<sup>TH</sup> DECEMBER, 2022

#### RESTRICTION ON GLYPHOSATE

#### 2172. SHRI DUSHYANT SINGH

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state :-

- (a) whether the studies/reports on the basis of which Glyphosate and its derivatives have been restricted for use in the country and the rationale behind it;
- (b) the reason why Glyphosate was restricted and not banned;
- (c) the estimates of the increase in the cost of cultivation of farmers due to restriction of fertilizers;
- (d) the number of Pest Control Operators situated in rural agricultural areas, district wise details, thereof:
- (e) whether any proposals have been received for label extensions for the use of Glyphosate for certain crops and if so, the basis on which such proposals would be evaluated; and
- (f) the estimate of the number of companies to return the certificate of registration granted for Glyphosate and its derivatives to the Registration Committee?

#### **ANSWER**

### THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

# कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

- (a) & (b): During February 2019, Government of Kerala prohibited the sale, distribution and use of Glyphosate and its derivatives for 60 days throughout the State of Kerala. Government of Kerala further requested to the Central Government and recommended to prohibit the sale, distribution and use of Glyphosate and its derivatives throughout the State of Kerala. The matter was examined by the subcommittee constituted by the Registration Committee. The Report of the Government of Kerala was uploaded on the website of the Directorate of Plant Protection Quarantine and Storage (DPPQ&S), Faridabad and as per the recommendations of the subcommittee and after consultation with Registration Committee and Central Insecticide Board, Central Government has published a gazette notification vide GSR 5010(E) dated 25.10.2022 for restriction on use of Glyphosate and its use to be allowed through Pest Control Operators (PCOs) only.
- (c): It is the endeavour of the Government of India to provide adequate and good quality of fertilizers to farmers. Further, Government of India promote the balanced and judicious use of fertilizers and as such has not imposed any restriction on use of any fertilizer which may lead to increase in cost of cultivation.
- (d): The State wise details of the accredited Pest Control Operators (PCOs) is attached at Annexure-I.
- (e): Proposal received for label extensions for the use of Glyphosate for cotton and grape crops and their evaluation is done as per the guidelines of Registration Committee.
- (f): Companies are not to return their Certificate of Registration granted for Glyphosate and its derivatives. Only a condition "THE USE OF GLYPHOSATE FORMULATION TO BE

Annexure-I
State wise details of the accredited Pest Control Operators

Sl. No.	Name of the state	Name of the District	Number of PCO's			
			MBR	ALP	Total	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	East Godavari	16	22	38	
		Visakhapatnam	12	11	23	
		Guntur	08	13	21	
		Nellore	13	07	20	
		SPSR Nellore	05	11	16	
		Secundrabad	00	01	1	
		Patencheru	00	01	1	
		Rajmundry	00	01	1	
		Kurnool	01	01	2	
		Vijaywada	00	02	2	
		Bhimavaram	01	00	1	
2.	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	Port Blair	01	00	1	
3.	Assam	Guwahati	03	02	5	
4.	Bihar	Patna	00	04	4	
		Purnia	00	03	3	
		Rohtas	00	01	1	
		Begusarai	00	01	1	
		Bhagalpur	00	01	1	
		Baxsar	00	01	1	
		Samastipur	00	01	1	
5.	Chhattisgarh	Raipur	01	02	3	
6.	Delhi	New Delhi	32	16	48	
		North West Delhi	02	00	2	
		North Delhi	05	00	5	
		North East Delhi	01	00	1	
		Delhi	06	15	21	
7.	Goa	Panjim	01	01	2	
		Vasco de gama	01	01	2	
8.	Gujarat	Gandhinagar	03	02	5	
		Kutch	71	64	135	
		Ahmedabad	15	16	31	
		Jamnagar	02	01	3	
		Valsad	05	02	7	
		Bhavnagar	01	01	2	
		Amreli	04	04	8	
		Rajkot	08	10	18	
		Bharuach	04	02	6	
		Morbi	18	01	19	
		Vapi	00	02	2	
		Veraval	00	01	1	

		Surat	02	01	3
		Mehsana	02	02	4
		Junagarh	01	01	2
		Banaskantha	00	01	1
		Una	01	00	1
		Vadodara	07	00	7
9.	Haryana	Sonepat	10	16	26
		Yamuna Nagar	01	01	2
		Gurgaon	04	04	8
		Faridabad	05	01	6
		Ambala	01	01	2
		Karnal	09	11	20
		Rewari	04	02	6
		Palwal	01	00	1
		Hisar	01	02	3
		Sirsa	00	02	2
		Panchkula	00	01	1
		Jind	00	04	4
		Panipat	01	02	3
10.	Himachal Pradesh	Baddi	01	00	1
		Solan	00	02	2
11.	Jharkhand	Jamshepur	02	00	2
		Ranchi	04	01	5
12.	Jammu & Kashmir	Samba	02	02	4
		Jammu	01	01	2
13.	Karnataka	Mangaluru	05	04	9
		Bangaluru	12	11	23
		Devenagre	01	01	2
		Belgaum	01	00	1
14.	Kerala	Cochin	16	14	30
		Ernakulam	01	01	2
15.	Maharashtra	Mumbai	56	54	110
		Thane	04	04	8
		Raigad	12	05	17
		Nashik	13	05	18
		Pune	26	13	39
		Kohlapur	03	00	3
		Nagpur	10	12	22
		Jalgaon	01	02	3
		Boisar	01	00	1
		Palghar	02	01	3
		Ahmed Nagar	01	01	2
		Sholapur	01	00	1
		Auragabad	03	04	7
		Dule	01	01	2
		Ratnagiri	02	00	2
		Sangli	01	02	3
		Satara	01	01	2

16.	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal	08	05	13
		Indore	16	25	41
		Dhar	01	02	3
		Ratlam	01	01	2
		Narsinghpur	01	00	1
		Raisen	01	01	2
		Devas	01	02	3
		Ujjain	00	01	1
		Sagar	00	01	1
		Chattarpur	01	01	2
17.	Orrisa	Cuttack	01	01	2
		Jajpur	01	00	1
		Sambhalpur	01	00	1
		Bhubaneshwar	01	03	4
18.	Punjab	Ludhiana	13	10	23
<i>→</i> -		Amritsar	06	07	13
		Jalandhar	05	03	8
		Tarn Taran	01	01	2
		Mohali	01	00	1
		Zirakpur	01	01	2
		Kapoorthala	01	02	3
		Monga	01	02	3
		Abuhar	00	01	1
		Muktasar	00	01	1
		Mansa	00	01	1
		Sangrur	01	01	2
		Bhatinda	00	03	3
19.	Pondicherry	Pondicherry	01	02	3
20.	Rajasthan	Jaipur	18	19	37
		Jodhpur	12	05	17
		Udaipur	02	00	2
		Alwar	05	02	7
		Kota	03	08	11
		Bikaner	00	03	3
		Chittorgarh	02	00	2
		Sikar	00	01	1
		Hanumangarh	00	01	1
		Sriganganagar	00	03	3
		Bhilwara	02	02	4
21.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai	39	28	67
		Tuticorin	33	21	54
		Coimbatore	12	09	21
		Erode	00	05	5
		Dindigul	00	01	1
		Thiruvallur	01	01	2
22.	Telangana	Medak	02	01	3
		Hyderabad	05	06	11
23.	Tripura	West Tripura	01	01	2

		Agartala	00	01	1
24.	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	03	06	9
		Gautam Budh Nagar	12	09	21
		Moradabad	03	02	5
		Mathura	02	03	5
		Bareilly	00	01	1
		Amethi	00	01	1
		Ghaziabad	05	02	7
		Kanpur	03	01	4
		Agra	03	01	4
		Hapur	01	00	1
		Shahjahanpur	00	01	1
		Mau	00	01	1
		Saharanpur	01	01	2
		Sonebhadra	01	01	2
		Meerut	01	00	1
		Amroha	01	00	1
25.	Uttarkhand	Rudrapur	02	05	7
		Haridwar	01	00	1
		Nainital	00	01	1
		Dehradun	01	00	1
		Udham Singh Nagar	02	02	4
26.	West Bengal	Howrah	02	03	5
		Midnapur	05	03	8
		Kolkata	20	17	37
		Hooghly	02	02	4
		North Dinajpur	01	01	2
Total			748	679	1427

\*\*\*\*\*