GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS (DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL & TRAINING)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 164 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.12.2022)

CBI CASES AGAINST MLAs/MPs

164. SHRIMATI MALA ROY:

Will the **PRIME MINISTER** be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of cases registered by CBI against Members of Legislative Assemblies and Members of Parliament during the last five years, party-wise and State-wise;
- (b) the number of cases on which final chargesheet have been submitted; and
- (c) the details of conviction rate in CBI cases during the last five years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

(a): The number of cases registered by CBI from 2017 to 2022 (upto 31.10.2022) against Members of Legislative Assemblies (MLAs) and Members of Parliament (MPs) is 56. Details are at **Annexure-A** and **Annexure-B**.

(b): Out of 56 cases registered, charge-sheets have been filed in 22 cases.

(c): The Conviction rate in CBI cases during the last five years i.e. from 2017 to 2021, is as under:-

Years	Conviction percentage
2017	66.90 %
2018	68.00 %
2019	69.19%
2020	69.83%
2021	67.56%

<u>Annexure – A</u>

Sl. No.	Name of State	No. of cases state wise
1	Haryana	1
2	Andhra Pradesh	10
3	Karnataka	2
4	Tamil Nadu	4
5	Chhattisgarh	1
6	West Bengal	5
7	Delhi	3
8	Bihar	3
9	Uttar Pradesh	6
10	Meghalaya	1
11	Manipur	3
12	Uttarakhand	1
13	Arunachal Pradesh	5
14	Kerala	6
15	Jammu & Kashmir	2
16	Madhya Pradesh	1
17	Maharashtra	1
18	Lakshadweep	1
	Total	56

State-wise number of cases registered by CBI against MLAs/MPs

Names of Political Parties against whose Members of Legislative Assemblies and Members of Parliament cases have been registered by CBI

Sl. No.	Name of Political Party
1	Indian National Congress (INC)
2	All India Trinamool Congress (TMC)
3	YuvajanaSramikaRythu Congress (YSRC)
4	AamAdmi Party (AAP)
5	RashtriyaJanta Dal (RJD)
6	Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP)
7	Samajwadi Party (SP)
8	All India Anna DravidaMunnetraKazhagam (ADMK)
9	Telugu Desam Party (TDP)
10	Jana Sena Party (JSP)
11	Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
