GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1351 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14TH DECEMBER, 2022

5G SERVICE

†1351. SHRI DEVENDRA SINGH BHOLE:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the States in which recently launched 5G service has been rolled out;
- (b) the States in which the said services are proposed to be rolled out during the next financial year; and
- (c) the district-wise details of the States where 5G service has been rolled out so far?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

(a) to (c) Telecom Service Providers (TSPs) have started providing 5G services in the country from 01.10.2022 onwards and as of 26.11.2022, 5G services have started in 50 towns distributed over 14 States/UTs. (Annexure).

As per the Notice Inviting Application (NIA) dated 15-06-2022 for auction of spectrum and the license conditions, the rollout obligations are required to be met over a period of five years, in a phased manner, from the date of allocation of spectrum. Further expansion of mobile networks beyond the mandatory rollout obligations, depends on the techno-commercial consideration of the Telecom Service Providers (TSPs).

Annexure referred to in part (a) to (c) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1351 to be answered on 14th December 2022

State/UT-wise list of towns where 5G services have started as on 26.11.2022:

S. No.	State/UT	Town
1	Delhi	Delhi
2	Maharashtra	Mumbai
		Nagpur
		Pune
3	West Bengal	Kolkata
		Siliguri
4	Uttar Pradesh	Varanasi
		Lucknow
5	Tamilnadu	Chennai
6	Karnataka	Bangalore
7	Telengana	Hyderabad
8	Rajasthan	Jaipur
9	Haryana	Panipat
10	Assam	Guwahati
11	Kerala	Kochi
12	Bihar	Patna
13	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam
13	Gujarat	Ahmedabad
		Gandhinagar
14		Bhavnagar
		Mehsana
		Rajkot
		Surat
		Vadodara
		Amreli
		Botad
		Junagadh
		Porbandar
		Veraval
		Himatnagar
		Modasa
		Palanpur
		Patan
14		Bhuj
		Jamnagar
		Khambhalia
		Morvi
		Wadhwan
		AHWA
		Bharuch
		Navsari
		Rajpipla
		Valsad
		Vyara
		Anand
		Chota Udaipur
		Dohad
		Godhra
		Lunawada
		Nadiad
