GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 96 ANSWERED ON 13/12/2022

CONSTRUCTION OF ANGANWADI CENTRES UNDER MGNREGA

*96. SHRI DHARMENDRA KASHYAP:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Anganwadi Centers (AWCs) constructed under Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA) in Uttar Pradesh during the last five years, district-wise;
- (b) the number of AWCs that the Government is planning to construct in Uttar Pradesh during 2022-23, district-wise;
- (c) whether the AWCs have been successful in providing basic health care needs in the most backward districts of Uttar Pradesh during the pandemic; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER MINISTER OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI GIRIRAJ SINGH)

(a) to (d): A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

Statement in reply to Parts (a) to (d) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 96 for 13.12.2022

(a): As per Schedule–I of the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (Mahatma Gandhi NREGA), construction of buildings for Anganwadi Centres at the village level or block level is permissible under Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (Mahatma Gandhi NREGS).

The district-wise number of Anganwadi Centers (AWCs) completed in the State of Uttar Pradesh under Mahatma Gandhi NREGS during the last five financial years is given at Annexure-I.

(b): Mahatma Gandhi NREGS is a demand driven wage employment scheme with bottom up planning. The works are identified, approved and prioritized out of shelf of work by the Gram Panchayat, recommended by Gram Sabha in each State/UT as per the provision of the Act. Accordingly, the works are approved and taken up by Panchayat as per the demand. The planning of works is done as per the estimated person days to be generated for the work in a financial year at the time of assessment of labour budget. The Ministry does not provide any target or plan for any kind of work to be taken up at the Gram Panchayat level.

The district-wise number of Anganwadi Centers (AWCs) approved (yet to start) and ongoing as on 07.12.2022 in the State of Uttar Pradesh under Mahatma Gandhi NREGS is given at **Annexure-II**.

(c) & (d): As per the information shared by the Ministry of Women and Child Development, "During the pandemic, all Anganwadi Centres across the country were closed to limit the impact of Covid-19".

Annexure-I referred in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No.96 dated 13.12.2022.

SI. No.	District	Completed Anganwadi Centers
1	Agra	105
2	Aligarh	5(
3	Ambedkar Nagar	14'
4	Amethi	242
5	Amroha	92
6	Auraiya	6
7	Ayodhya	17.
8	Azamgarh	31
9	Baghpat	24
10	Bahraich	20
11	Ballia	18
12	Balrampur	11
13	Banda	19
14	Barabanki	25
15	Bareilly	19
16	Basti	40
17	Bijnor	25
18	Budaun	5
19	Bulandshahr	
20	Chandauli	20
21	Chitrakoot	21
22	Deoria	21
23	Etah	2
24	Etawah	10
25	Farrukhabad	6
26	Fatehpur	45
27	Firozabad	11
28	Gautam Buddha Nagar	
29	Ghazipur	22
30	Gonda	32
31	Gorakhpur	18
32	Hamirpur	12
33	Hapur	1
34	Hardoi	29
35	Hathras	6

36	Jalaun	324
37	Jaunpur	323
38	Jhansi	177
39	Kannauj	52
40	Kanpur Dehat	128
41	Kanpur Nagar	146
42	Kashganj	123
43	Kaushambi	201
44	Kheri	239
45	Kushi Nagar	373
46	Lalitpur	175
47	Lucknow	125
48	Maharajganj	229
49	Mahoba	102
50	Mainpuri	147
51	Mathura	54
52	Mau	324
53	Meerut	57
54	Mirzapur	332
55	Moradabad	132
56	Muzaffarnagar	52
57	Pilibhit	275
58	Pratapgarh	145
59	Prayagraj	338
60	Rae Bareli	417
61	Rampur	240
62	Saharanpur	42
63	Sambhal	174
64	Sant Kabeer Nagar	209
65	Sant Ravidas Nagar	80
66	Shahjahanpur	136
67	Shamli	38
68	Shravasti	131
69	Siddharth Nagar	190
70	Sitapur	297
71	Sonbhadra	340
72	Sultanpur	245
73	Unnao	255
74	Varanasi	171
	Total	13,271

(As per NREGASoft)

Annexure-II referred in reply to part (b) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No.96 dated 13.12.2022

		Approved	
Sl. No.	District	(yet to start)	Ongoing
1	AGRA	23	8
2	ALIGARH	74	11
3	AMBEDKAR NAGAR	121	12
4	AMETHI	23	6
5	AMROHA	19	21
6	AURAIYA	17	16
7	AYODHYA	25	6
8	AZAMGARH	38	14
9	BAGHPAT	2	
10	BAHRAICH	56	31
11	BALLIA	62	16
12	BALRAMPUR	50	22
13	BANDA	8	6
14	BARABANKI	39	24
15	BAREILLY	106	13
16	BASTI	56	11
17	BIJNOR	52	10
18	BUDAUN	22	6
19	BULANDSHAHR	9	1
20	CHANDAULI	129	20
21	CHITRAKOOT	18	4
22	DEORIA	97	25
23	ЕТАН	52	23
24	ETAWAH	13	5
25	FARRUKHABAD	116	8
26	FATEHPUR	31	11
27	FIROZABAD	17	16
28	GAUTAM BUDDHA NAGAR	0	
29	GHAZIPUR	56	11
30	GONDA	69	21
31	GORAKHPUR	94	32
32	HAMIRPUR	32	5
33	HAPUR		
34	HARDOI	24	24
35	HATHRAS	27	

70	SITAPUR	83	37
69	SIDDHARTH NAGAR	55	15
68	SHRAVASTI	38	10
67	SHAMLI	10	3
66	SHAHJAHANPUR	13	10
65	SANT RAVIDAS NAGAR	18	5
64	SANT KABEER NAGAR	61	12
63	SAMBHAL	33	12
62	SAHARANPUR	17	5
61	RAMPUR	66	
<u> </u>	RAE BARELI	274	14
58 59	PRATAPGARH	37	1:
57 58	PILIBHIT PRATAPGARH	23	<u> </u>
56	MUZAFFARNAGAR	4	
55	MORADABAD	21	-
54	MIRZAPUR	24	,
53	MEERUT	11	
52	MAU	46	2
51	MATHURA	97	
50	MAINPURI	83	1
49	МАНОВА	7	
48	MAHARAJGANJ	55	2
47	LUCKNOW	13	
46	LALITPUR	8	1
45	KUSHI NAGAR	130	3
44	KHERI	18	1
43	KAUSHAMBI	48	
42	KASHGANJ	23	
41	KANPUR NAGAR	36	
40	KANPUR DEHAT	27	1
39	KANNAUJ	24	1
38	JHANSI	84	1
37	JAUNPUR	26 113	1

(As per NREGASoft)