### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 2 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.12.2022

#### **Auction of Coal Blocks**

# \*2 SHRI VENKATESH NETHA BORLAKUNTA: DR. G. RANJITH REDDY:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to auction 38 coal blocks in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) whether the States concerned requested for allocating coal blocks to the coal PSU situated in that State for exploration at a cheaper rate in view of availability of technology, machinery, cheap labour, etc., available with that coal PSUs; and
- (d) if so, the constraints faced by the Government for allotting coal blocks to such coal PSUs?

# ANSWER MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS, COAL AND MINES (SHRI PRALHAD JOSHI)

(a) to (d): A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

## STATEMENT IN REPLY TO THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.2 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.12.2022 REGARDING AUCTION OF COAL BLOCKS

- (a) & (b) The Ministry of Coal had completed the auction process for 38 coal mines in first round of auction for commercial mining which was launched on June 18, 2020 under Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 [CMSP Act] and Mines and Minerals (Development & Regulation) Act, 1957 [MMDR Act]. The auction process received a good response from the bidders. Out of 38 mines put on auction, 20 mines were successfully auctioned with a success rate of 53%. List of said 38 coal mines is given at **Annexure** enclosed.
- (c) & (d) No request from States has been received for allocating coal blocks to the coal PSUs for exploration. However, several requests have been received from various State Governments for allotment of coal blocks to their PSUs for extraction of coal. Some requests which were received from State Governments for allotment of coal blocks to their public sector entities but could not be acceded to are as under:-
- (i) Requests from Hon'ble Chief Minister, Chhattisgarh, Secretary, Mineral Resource Department, Chhattisgarh and Chhattisgarh Mineral Development Corporation were received from time to time for identification of 4 coal blocks namely Tara, Morga-I, Morga-II & Durgapur-II/Sarya for allotment for sale of coal and to give directions to Nominated Authority for inviting NIA for the blocks so identified. Current Status of the above 4 coal blocks is as under:
  - Tara & Morga-I As per MoEF & CC, these mines are falling under area which needs
    to be conserved and should not be considered for mining. Matter in respect of Tara coal
    mine is sub-judice in Hon'ble Supreme Court and order of status –quo has been passed.
  - Morga-II Directions of the Central Government were issued to Nominated Authority for conducting auction of coal mines under CM (SP) Act, 2015 for sale of coal including Morga-II coal mine. However, as requested by Government of Chhattisgarh, the same was withdrawn from the auction process.
  - Durgapur-II/Sarya Allotted to Karnataka Power Corporation Limited for end use Power.
- (ii) Requests also have been received from time to time from Hon'ble Chief Minister, Arunachal Pradesh for allotment of Namchik Namphuk Coal mine to Arunachal Pradesh Mineral Development & Trading Corporation Limited [APMDTCL]. In this regard, as per the provisions of Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015, there is a prescribed process for allocation of coal mines under which coal blocks can be allotted to State Govt. Companies through the Notice Inviting Applications (NIA) route only, unlike provisions for Central Government companies. Accordingly, APMDTCL may apply for allocation of coal blocks as and when applications are invited for allocation of coal blocks/mines through NIA by Ministry of Coal/Nominated Authority. APMDTCL may also participate in auction of coal mines as and when NIT is floated by Ministry of Coal.
- (iii) 04 coal blocks viz. Kalyan Khani Block-6, Koyagudem Block-III, Sathupalli Block-III and Shravanapalli located in the State of Telangana were offered for allocation by way of Auction for Sale of coal under the provisions of Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 and the rules made thereunder. Thereafter, the State Government of Telangana requested to cancel the auction of these 04 coal blocks and to allocate them to SCCL. However, as per the extant policy followed by Ministry of Coal, all the coal blocks are

now being offered for allocation by way of auction for sale of coal. Further, the State Govt. entities including SCCL may participate in auction and take the block(s) as per prescribed norms.

(iv) Directions have also been issued to Nominated Authority for allocation of 02 coal blocks, viz., Garampani and Koilajan located in the State of Assam by way of auction for sale of coal which were also requested by the Govt. of Assam for allocation to its State PSU. The State Government was informed that their PSUs may participate and bid for auction of coal blocks. Both of these coal mines, now stand allocated under commercial auction scheme to Assam Mineral Development Corporation Limited.

It may be stated that the High Level Committee in their report dated 07.01.2020 has also recommended that Ministry of Coal shall gradually shift towards allocation of coal blocks through auctions only. After one year, direct allotment route shall be closed except under exceptional circumstances to be determined by Ministry of Coal and PSUs may participate in the auction of coal blocks. Thereafter, since the year 2020, coal blocks have been offered for auction only.

\*\*\*\*

## **ANNEXURE**

### List of 38 coal mines put up in first round of commercial auction

S. No.	Coal Mine	Act	State
1	Brahmadiha	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
2	Chakla	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
3-4	Chendipada & Chendipada II	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Odisha
5	Chitarpur	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
6	Choritand Tiliaya	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
7	Gare-Palma-IV/1	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Chhattisgarh
8	Gare-Palma-IV/7	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Chhattisgarh
9	Gondulpara	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
10-11	Gotitoria(East) & Gotitoria(West)	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Madhya Pradesh
12-13	Machhakata & Mahanadi	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Odisha
14	Marki Barka	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Madhya Pradesh
15	Marki Mangli II	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Maharashtra
16	North Dhadu	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
	Radhikapur (East)	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Odisha
18	Radhikapur (West)	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Odisha
19	Rajhara North (Central & Eastern)	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
20	Seregarha	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
21	Sahapur East	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Madhya Pradesh
22	Sahapur West	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Madhya Pradesh
23	Shankarpur Bhatgaon II Extn.	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Chhattisgarh
24	Sondhia	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Chhattisgarh
25	Takli-Jena-Bellora(North) & Takli- Jena-Bellora (South)	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Maharashtra
26	Thesgora-B/ Rudrapuri	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Madhya Pradesh
27	Urtan North	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Madhya Pradesh
28	Urma Paharitola	CM (SP) Act, 2015	Jharkhand
29	Bandha	MMDR Act, 1957	Madhya Pradesh
30	Brahmanbil & Kardabahal	MMDR Act, 1957	Odisha
31	Dhirauli	MMDR Act, 1957	Madhya Pradesh
32	Dolesara	MMDR Act, 1957	Chhattisgarh
33	Jarekela	MMDR Act, 1957	Chhattisgarh
34	Jharpalam Tangarghat	MMDR Act, 1957	Chhattisgarh
35	Kuraloi (A) North	MMDR Act, 1957	Odisha
36	Marwatola Sector-VI & Sector-VII	MMDR Act, 1957	Madhya Pradesh
37	Phuljhari (East & West)	MMDR Act, 1957	Odisha
38	Urtan	MMDR Act, 1957	Madhya Pradesh