GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.990 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.06.2019

POWER PURCHASE AGREEMENTS

990. SHRI D.K. SURESH:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the private power generation companies which have been allotted captive coal blocks, State-wise;

(b) the details of such companies which have signed Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) and those which have still not signed the same, Company and State-wise; and

(c) the action taken/being taken by the Government against such companies which have not signed the PPAs till date?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR SKILL DEVELOPMENT & ENTREPRENEURSHIP

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) & (b) : Eight (8) coal blocks have been allocated to private power generating companies so far. The details of private power generating companies to which coal blocks have been allotted along with the status of Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) is Annexed.

(c): After enactment of Electricity Act 2003, tariff is determined by the Appropriate Commission under Section-62 of the Act or adopted by Commission as discovered after an open bid under Section-63 of the Act. Further, Tariff policy, 2016 mandates that all future requirement of power should be procured competitively by distribution licensees except in cases of expansion of existing projects or where there is a company owned or controlled by the State. Therefore, signing of PPA is contingent upon a bidder/private generating company emerging successful in a competitive bidding process of power procurement called by DISCOMS.

* * * * * * * * * *

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 990 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 27.06.2019.

| SI. No. | Private Power Plant | Capacity | State | Coal Block | Name of the Allottee | PPA Signed/Not Signed |
|------------|--|----------------------------|-------------------|------------------|--|--|
| 1 | Raikheda (Unit-1,2) | 2 x 685 MW | Chhattisgarh | Talabira I | GMR, Chhattisgarh | No PPA |
| | | | | Ganeshpur | | |
| 2 | Budge Budge (Unit- 1,2) | 2 x 250 MW | West Bengal | Sarisatolli | CESC Ltd. | 100 % of total capacity is tied up with embedded Distribution Licensee |
| 3 | Jaypee Nigrie (Unit- 1,2) | 2 x 660 MW | Madhya Pradesh | Amelia North | Jaiprakash Power Venture Ltd. | PPA for Capacity – 495 MW |
| 4 | Mahan TPP (Unit 1,2) | 2 x 600 MW | Madhya Pradesh | Tokisud North | Essar Power Ltd. | PPA for Capacity – 60 MW |
| 5 | Mundra TPP Kutch(Unit1, 2,3,4,5,6) | 4 x 330 + 2 x 660 MW | Gujarat | Jitpur | Adani Power Limited | PPA for Capacity – 2434 MW |
| 6 | JITPL Derang (Unit 1,2) | 2 x 600 MW | Odisha | Mandakini | Mandakini Exploration and Mining Ltd. (JV of Jindal India and Monnet Power Company Ltd) | Coal block surrendered and PPAs expired |
| 7 | Malibrahmani TPP (Unit 1,2) | 2 x 525 MW | Odisha | Mandakini | Mandakini Exploration and Mining Ltd. (JV of Jindal India and Monnet Power Company Ltd) | Coal block surrendered and PPAs expired |
| | | | | Utkal – C | Monnet Power Company Limited | |
