GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 979 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27-06-2019

Minority Status

979. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH: SHRI CHUNNI LAL SAHU:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the communities, to which the status of Minorities has been accorded by the Government so far;
- (b) whether the Government has received any requests to provide minority status from any community and if so, the details of requests received in this regard so far;
- (c) the details of the provision made by the Government to provide minority status:
- (d) whether there is an existing provision or it is under consideration to abolish the status of minority of some minority communities in our country including Chhattisgarh and if so, the details thereof;
- (e) whether a review has been done with regard to the increasing population of minorities: and
- (f) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor along with the time by which it is likely to be done?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

- (a) There are six communities namely Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Parsis and Jains, which have been notified as Minority Communities by the Central Government under Section 2(c) of National Commission for Minorities (NCM) Act, 1992.
- (b) Yes, Sir. Demands from Brahmo Samaj, Hualngo tribes, Seng Khasi and Niamtre, Sanamahi Aggarwal, Tingkao Ragwang Chapriak, Lingayat and Hindu(states were Hindus are in minority)Communities for grant of minority status have been received in the Ministry and National Commission for Minorities during last two years.
- (c) The Central Government notifies minority community under Section 2(c) of NCM Act, 1992.
- (d) & (e) No, Sir.
- (f) Does not arise.
