# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5152 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.07.2019

## **INSTALLATION OF ESCALATORS AT STATIONS**

# †5152. SHRI MAHABALI SINGH:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Ministry of Railways has decided to install escalators at all 'A' category stations in the country;
- (b) if so, the number of 'A' category stations where escalators have been installed along with the details thereof; and
- (c) the reasons for not installing escalators at Dehri-on-Sone 'A' category station in Bihar?

#### **ANSWER**

### MINISTER OF RAILWAYS AND COMMERCE & INDUSTRY

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5152 BY SHRI MAHABALI SINGH TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 24.07.2019 REGARDING INSTALLATION OF ESCALATORS AT STATIONS

- (a) and (b) As per the policy guidelines of Indian Railways, Escalators are to be provided in the order of decreasing priority as follows:
  - i) Public announcements by Hon'ble Prime Minister or Minister of Railways.
  - ii) State Capital.
  - iii) Cities with population of more than 10 Lakh.
  - iv) Other Stations starting from highest footfall to lowest footfall, subject to minimum footfall of 25,000 per day.
  - v) Places of tourist importance, requests from Hon'ble Public representative/Parliamentary Committees (on approval of Hon'ble Minister of Railway).

At present, 184 escalators have been provided at 87 'A' category Railway Stations, as per the earlier classification of stations, details of which are appended.

(c) Dehri-On-Sone railway station does not qualify for provision of escalators as per the policy guidelines of escalator. 18 escalators at 7 stations of Bihar State has been provided with Escalators.

\*\*\*\*

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) AND (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5152 BY SHRI MAHABALI SINGH TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 24.07.2019 REGARDING INSTALLATION OF ESCALATORS AT STATIONS

(a) & (b) Details of Escalators Provided at 'A' Category Stations over Indian Railways

SN	Zonal	Category	Revised Category	Station	State	No. of Escalators
	Railway	Cate	Rev Cate			Installed
1	Central	A	NSG3	Gulbarga	Karnataka	2
2		A	NSG3	Bhusawal	Maharashtra	4
3		A	NSG3	Lonavala		2
4		A	NSG3	Manmad		2
5		A	NSG3	Kolhapur		1
6		A	NSG1	Panvel		2
7		A	NSG3	Buxer	Bihar	2
8		A	NSG3	Samastipur Jn		4
9	East	A	NSG3	Cuttuck	Odisha	2
10	Coast	A	NSG3	Sambhalpur	Juisila	2
11		A	NSG2	Asansol		2
12		A	NSG4	Madhupur		1
13	Eastern	A	NSG2	Bardhman		2
14		A NSG3	Rampurhat	West Bengal	2	
15		A	NSG3	Malda Town	- ITOOL Bongan	2
16		A	NSG2	Naihati		1
17		A	NSG2	Kolkata Terminal		4
18		A	NSG3	Durgapur		2

19		A	SG2	Esplanade		7
20	Metro	A	SG2	Dum Dum	West Bengal	5
21	North	A	NSG3	Mirzapur	Uttar	4
22	Central	A	NSG3	Agra Fort	Pradesh	2
23	North Western	A	NSG3	Udaipur City		2
24		A	NSG3	Gandhi nagar	Rajasthan	2
25		A	NSG3	Bhilwara	-	2
26	Northeast Frontier	A	NSG3	New Cooch Behar	West Bengal	2
27		A	NSG3	Shahdara	Delhi	2
28		A	NSG2	Sarai Rohilla	_ Deini	2
29		A	NSG2	Ghaziabad	Uttar	4
30	Northern	A	NSG3	Meerut City	Pradesh	2
31		A	NSG3	Sultanpur	Uttar	2
32		A	NSG3	Faizabad	Pradesh	2
33		A	NSG3	Faridabad	Haryana	2
34		A	NSG3	Nellore		3
35		A	NSG4	Anakapalle	1	2
36		A	NSG3	Gudur	Andhra	1
37		A	NSG3	Tenali	Pradesh	2
38		A	NSG3	Rajahmundry		2
39	South	A	NSG3	Ongole		1
40	Central	A	NSG3	Aurangabad	Maharashtra	2
41		A	NSG4	Kurnool (KRNT)	Andhra Pradesh	2
42		A	NSG3	Warangal	Telangana	2
43		A	NSG3	Kazipet	- i Gialiyalia	1
44		A	NSG3	Parbhani	Maharashtra	1
45		A	NSG2	Nanded	. manarasiitia	3

		A	NSG3	Raurkela		2	
47	South	A	NSG3	Jharsuguda	Odisha	2	
48		A	NSG3	Bokaro Steel City		2	
49	Eastern .	A	NSG3	Hatia	Jharkhand	2	
50		A	NSG3	Ranchi		2	
51	South	A	NSG2	Mysore	V a mantale a	2	
52	Western	A	NSG3	Hubli	Karnataka	2	
53	South	A	NSG2	Durg	Chhattianarh	2	
54	East	A	NSG3	Rajnandgaon	Chhattisgarh	2	
55	Central	A	NSG3	Gondia	Maharashtra	2	
56		A	NSG3	Aluva	Kerala	1	
57		A	NSG1	Tambaram	Tamil Nadu	2	
58		A	NSG3	Chenganur		3	
59		A	NSG3	Kottayam		2	
60		A	NSG3	Ernakulam North	Kerala	3	
61		A	NSG3	Alappuzha	Neiaia	1	
62		A	NSG3	Kayankulam jn		1	
63		A	NSG3	Palakkad Jn.		1	
64		A	NSG3	Mangalore Central	Karnataka	2	
65	Southern	A	NSG3	Tirunelveli		2	
66		A	NSG3	Thanjavur jn		2	
67		A	NSG2	Katpadi	Tamil Nadu	1	
68		A	NSG3	Erode	I GIIII IAAAA	1	
69			A	NSG3	Salem		2
70			A	NSG3	Nagercoil		2
71		A	NSG3	Kannur		2	
72		A	NSG3	Thalaserry	Kerala	1	
73		A	NSG3	Vadagara	1101010	1	
74		A	NSG2	Thrissur		2	

75	Southern	A	NSG3	Tiruchchirappalli	Tamil Nadu	1
76	West Central	A	NSG3	Itarsi	Madhya Pradesh	2
77	Western	A	NSG2	Kota	Rajasthan	4
78		A	NSG2	Indore	Madhya Pradesh	6
79		A	NSG3	New Bhuj		1
80		A	NSG4	Mahesana	Gujarat	2
81		A	NSG3	Gandhidham		2
82		A	NSG2	Ujjain	Madhya Pradesh	2
83	North Eastern	A	NSG3	Ratlam	Madhya Pradesh	2
84		A	NSG3	Basti	Uttar Pradesh	2
85		A	NSG3	Siwan	Bihar	2
86		A	NSG3	Gonda	Uttar	2
87		A	NSG3	Mau	Pradesh	2
	<u> </u>	Gı		184		