GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS (DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL & TRAINING)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5104 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.07.2019)

FUNCTIONING OF LOKPAL OFFICE

5104. SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL:

Will the **PRIME MINISTER** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Lokpal office established by the Government has started to function in a full fledged manner;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) if not, the time by which it is likely to be start functioning; and
- (d) the manner in which this would prove to be a milestone to curb corruption in the country?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

(a) to (c): Upon the recommendation of the Selection Committee under section 4(1) of the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act, 2013, Hon'ble President of India appointed the Chairperson and eight Members (including four judicial Members) by warrant under his hand and seal on 19th March, 2019. Chairperson and Members have assumed charge of their respective positions respectively on 23rd March, 2019 and 27th March, 2019. Institution of Lokpal is thus now functional. Details of Chairperson and Members of Lokpal are enclosed at Annexure.

(d): Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act, 2013 provides for the establishment of a body of Lokpal for the Union and Lokayukta for States to inquire into allegations of corruption against certain public functionaries and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. The body of Lokpal has been statutory envisaged to bring in place a more effective mechanism to receive complaints against public servants including high functionaries and to inquire into them and take follow up action to effectively curb corruption.

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a) to (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 5104 for answer on 24.07.2019

S.No.	Name	Position
1.	Shri Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose	Chairperson
2.	Shri Justice Dilip Babasaheb Bhosale	Member (Judicial)
3.	Shri Justice Pardip Kumar Mohanty	Member (Judicial)
4.	Smt. Justice Abhilasha Kumari	Member (Judicial)
5.	Shri Justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi	Member (Judicial)
6.	Shri Dinesh Kumar Jain	Member
7.	Smt. Archana Ramasundaram	Member
8.	Shri Mahender Singh	Member
9.	Dr. Indrajeet Prasad Gautam	Member

Details of Chairperson and Members of Lokpal